We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Abandoned in a village during medical emergency”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anchorage Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Grimsby, ON
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Abandoned in a village during medical emergency”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

We booked a 13 day trip to Anchorage during Christmas and New Year. My younger son got a terrible infection on both ears , runs high fever and we were seeking immediate medical assistance. After 1 hr of waiting and repetitive calls to the reception, they sent us a taxi to take us to the closest medical facility in the local village. There is no doctor available at this clinic and we're told to go to Latoka hospital. The hotel taxi ( The actual hotel transportation, not a separate hire) abandons us in the village to find our way to the hospital. They ask us to wait for another taxi( another 1/2 hour in the middle of the road waiting). My son is barely sitting on his feet so we ask locals to help us get to the hospital. At the hospital we were told that there is private medical care available so we hop on yet another taxi and make it to a clinic to see a doctor. On the way back we talk to the "owners representative" Aaron -----. We ask him how it is possible to abondon his guests when dealing with a medical emergency. Not only that he is not apologizing for this but he is very rude and accuses us that we were not clear what type of medical emergency it was! When we mentioned that is his responsibility to provide its guests with proper information and access to medical services in cases of emergency he was quite apathetic and rude. Considering that the hotels mission is to provide best customer service , I advise my fellow travellers to think twice before booking with this hotel. Aside from this incident, we found the facility expensive for the type of services provided. The food at the resort is below standards, therefore most of the guests go to the nearby Marina and First Landing restaurant. The location is very remote and you need to pay for a lot of taxi fares to get around.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Carmen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    157
    111
    57
    73
See reviews for
132
210
23
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lautoka, Fiji
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We checked in on 26th December and till that moment we all were having a blast. Awesome customer service. Villas are well maintained with new 32' Flat Screen TV. The pool I think is cleaned every morning. A wide variety of delicious food available for full 3 course meals. Has a billiard table as well. Daily transfers to beachcomber island and port denarau. Free use of kayaks. NOT an ideal place for backpackers. Has a boutique with various types of souvenirs. A perfect place for relaxation.

Some of things that I didnt find well were
1. The room which I was in, Room 205, had no reception inside the room so I couldn't use my cellular device inside the room. I had to go outside to the balcony to receive signals. This was kinda disappointing for me personally as I need my phone working at all times. But with great service this guys have to offer, you dont need to use your cell phone so not a big issue.

2. Local beer I think was too overpriced. Might as well drink some Heineken with the same price but if your the money man than FIJI BITTER and FIJI GOLD is a must try when you're in Fiji. This is not a big issue as well.


Tip.
Evening activities are quite fun. Ask the staff when is the JOJO show. Also for any issues it's best to see the hotel manager Sam. Very nice guy.

I would give it a 5/5 but number 1 came in the way of that.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank zeefiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort M, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Bula Zeefiji,
Thanks for your great review.
Vinaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed at Anchorage in June 2013. The resort felt a little run down, my partner is a plumber and kept noticing things that needed to be touched up or refurbished as it had a very tired feel. For example the wooden stairs leading down a steep hill below our room were rotten and failing apart, this did not make me feel safe when climbing them in the rain. Our room was very basic and it never really felt clean. We knew the cleaners had been but even then it still didn't feel like it'd been cleaned properly. It felt a little bit like a backpackers as the furnishing was very sparse.
The first morning it was overcast and not overly warm, i wanted a nice warm shower when i got up, but all the water is heated by sloar power and the last couple of days had apparently been raining and overcast - so i had a very "refreshing" shower which was rather on the cold side. Not a nice start to my first morning.
The thing that was a terrible let down for me was the food. You expect to come to an island such as Fiji and be able to eat fish. Our first dinner we sat for about 20mins deciding what to eat, we then all ordered fish and were told that fish wasn't available (nice of them to tell us this before we ordered). Not only was there no fish available that night, there was no fish available for the next 3 nights of our stay! The food in general was not to a high standard and quite frankly i could have whipped up something better in my own kitchen (and i'm no Gordon Ramsey). We ordered the satay chicken skewers and it came with no satay sauce!! I remember having a chicken dish that was so dry and overcooked that i couldnt' eat it. In the end on other guests recommendations we decided to only eat at the Marina which is a short taxi ride away.
It wasn't all bad though - on the plus side we found the staff to be friendly, we liked the pool and also the little shack by the beach for massages. That was the best massage i'd ever had listening to the sound of the waves breaking on the shore.
There wasn't much of a beach but the day trip we were offered to beachcomber more than made up for it. We really enojoyed it.
It's not a terrible place to stay as on a whole we didn't hate the place, it's just the food and run down feel of the place really let it down. If those were improved i'd go back.

Room Tip: Don't choose the upper garden rooms - they are far away from the pool and dining area and it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort M, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Bula Natalie,
Thank you for your review. Whilst it has bee six months since you stayed with us, it is always good to receive guest feedback. Based upon guest feedback in the first half of 2013, we did take steps to ensure that there was a wider selection of seafood on the menu and whilst there are occasional supply issues due to weather we do now have lobster, crab, whole fish and other seafood available for guests.
Thank you for the praise that you have shown towards the staff and that you enjoyed the swimming pool, massage and Beachcomber day trip.
Vinaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

My friend and I wanted a much deserved break. We heard from a group of work colleagues about the Anchorage Beach Resort at Vuda Point Fiji , that it is a great place to stay . We were extremely happy we had an absolutely fantastic time. We were greeted at the airport where there was a shop front office. We were transferred to the resort. The resort style was boutique , the weather balmy, staff friendly and accommodating . The pace was Fijian ...relaxed , slow and steady with a cool ,groovy vibe. The resort was very reasonably priced,and great value . The location spot on . Close to Lautoka , Nadi and Denauru for shopping. The Anchorage provided complimentary bus trips to Nadi and Lautoka daily , which we frequently used. We visited the local village went shopping local style ,the movies ,it was like going back in time. We kayaked, swam , had cocktails in the pool(bar) just absolutely relaxed and embraced Fiji,we loved it . The restaurant had a great ambiance on the water. Entertainment, every night something different, eg fire dancers, polynesian / fijian dancing show , crab racing serenaders and a live resident band that got everyone moving and groovying and in the party mood . Towards the end of the night it was a slow groove. We went to Denauru shopping and did a day trip to the Beachcomber Island ,which was paradise . We loved our stay at the Anchorage . Next time we will stay for longer and definately book a couple of nights extra at the Beachcomber Island a place for family by day and friends partying hard by night. Overall we had an absolutely Fantasic Holiday . We had a little bit of everything and we chose what we wanted to do and when . The staff were friendly and helpful . Anyone who doesn't have a great time needs to look at themselves ... its Fiji .... embrace the people , lifestyle, culture and history ... Relax ..let your hair down and enjoy . I know where I'm definitely going back to,Fiji ... Paradise . Thank you Anchorage Resort and staff , we had an absolutely fantastic holiday... it was everything ... relaxed , fun, party, made friends, adventure my perfect holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kathryn255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort M, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Bula Kathryn,
Thank you for your detailed review on everything at the Anchorage. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Vinaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

I had a great accommodation package with the Anchorage Beach Resort with lots of extras included. I like the location and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Yes a train went through the resort but I was there at the end of the sugar cane season. But this is quite clear on their website. I had an ocean view room, it was basic, clean and tidy. Diwali festival was on so it was a nice touch to watch the fireworks and the staff entertainment. My meals at the restaurant were delicious. The free wifi in the restaurant was an unexpected surprise. The pool was clean and awesome to swim in. This is a very laid back and friendly resort. Very very relaxing.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwishells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort M, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Bula Kiwishells
Thank you for a great review and we are very pleased to receive such positive feedback from a Senior Reviewer.
Vinaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We booked 5 nights at Anchorage from 15- 20 November and loved our stay. There was a mix up with our booking and as the resort was fully booked we had to spend one night at a partner resort in Lautoka. Anchorage staff more than made up for any inconvenience by providing us with along a free three course dinner, not one but two room upgrades and of course free transport to and from the other resort. We were upgraded to a gorgeous beachside villa with its own spa on the front deck. The villa was impeccably clean and tidy and the small touches of fresh frangipani flowers placed in our room each day and the complimentary bottle of bubbly we're much appreciated. The pool was gorgeous and clean and we spent many pleasant hours lying on sun loungers sipping heavenly piña coladas looking out over the Nadia Bay. The highlight for us though was the incredibly warm, funny and accommodating staff who made our trip truly special. We were particularly touched when on hearing it was our last night Sam, the manager, and Sai the barman, prepared an impromptu singalong and kava ceremony for us with some other staff. Another highlight was having a trip to a nearby village organised for us, complete with escort from staff member and villager Lula. I would say, in response to some of the more critical reviews on this site, that this is not a five star resort, so if that's what you want, go to Denarau. Anchorage is a beautiful, but not overly manicured, friendly, laid back resort. We loved the time we spent here and will definitely be back, not least to visit the wonderful staff who made our stay.

Thanks so much Sam, Sai, Buna, Lu, Clive and the rest of your team.

All the best for the rest of the year

Charlotte and Peter from NZ

Room Tip: Beachside villa very tidy and full of character
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort M, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Bula Charlotte and Peter,
Thank you for taking time to post your wonderful review. The feedback that you have given on the rooms is positive and the warm appreciation you have shown to our staff is wonderful.
Thank you for staying at the Anchorage and we look forward to seeing you again.
Vinaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Upon arriving to Fiji we had taken a taxi to the Anchorage beach resort. While checking in we "upgraded" to an ocean view room. We also got a coupon for a
Complimentary welcome drink. Impressed to begin with and didn't do a whole lot of exploring our first night as the sun was already down. You do get a complimentary breakfast with this resort which is very simple, either some fruit, some toast or some cereal. However anything else for breakfast is an extra charge. Also on more than one occasion we witnessed little cockraches skurrying across the table where the food was layed out. Hot, humid climates, they are expected to be around, however not on the table. Was unimpressed. In the week that we stayed we were lucky to be noticed within 20-30 minutes of sitting down at the restaurant, and almost every time we ordered something wasn't right. A burger requested without egg came out with egg, drinks requested never came, and portion sizes were very small, especially for the price of the food. As for maid services, the maid did come every day, however the only thing that seemed to be done was our bed being made. Sheets were not changed once in our stay and our room always felt gritty. Along with linens getting dirty as our feet were always dirty from our I cleaned floor. Our room also had, what looks like little ants all over the walls, in the sink, on our bed and bedside tables. Again not impressed. But even looking at the resort grounds you could tell not a whole lot was well kept. The pictures of the resort online are Nothing near what the resort actually looks like. The "beach" disappears by the afternoon while the tide comes in and they do not even have an access point for you to get down to the beach, you make it down yourself. The staff never seems to smile, always seems to be grumpy, and are way more concerned about having conversations among themselves rather than helping you, or even noticing your existence. Pool is very dirty, even leaves shooting out of the filters and the resort does not have more than one restaurant. It has one restaurant. And one pool side bar. Also on such an occasion as lets say the internet going down, after hours of the staff lying to you and telling you it is getting fixed, they finally tell you in the late afternoon that since it's Sunday nothing is able to get done and rudely tell you that it might be fixed the next day.
I do not wish this kind of stay upon anyone. I have heard such amazing things about Fiji, and this being my first vacation here I am leaving with a very sad heart to feel this disappointed. I am not high maintenance, I often take vacations trying out different resorts, but this is by far the worst experience I have. If you are reading this and considering a stay at the Anchorage, I have heard any place around here is much more worth your time and money. Especially since there are no activities here unless you want to spend a ton of extra money going on their tours to other islands since they do not provide anything here on their own.

Thanks for reading.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HNMatwie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort M, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Bula,
Thank you for posting your first ever and subjective review on Trip Advisor. Whilst it appears that the Anchorage may not have met your specific needs, the majority of our feedback is overwhelmingly positive.
Vinaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lautoka
6.1 mi away
Bounty Island Resort
Bounty Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bounty Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
35.6 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
6.4 mi away
Tanoa Waterfront Hotel
Tanoa Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lautoka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Fiji Orchid
The Fiji Orchid
#2 of 7 in Lautoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
1.0 mi away
First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
6.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Beach Resort

Property: Anchorage Beach Resort
Address: Vuda Point, Lautoka, Viti Levu 0000, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Lautoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Experience the best of Fiji by staying at the Anchorage Beach Resort on mainland Fiji, perfect for couples or the whole family. The Anchorage beach resort will provide the perfect launching pad to experience the wonders of the Mamanuca islands. We are often the choice for many travelers first or last night on the mainland when proximity to the international airport is an absolute must. From here you are in reach of some of the best surf and crystal clear snorkeling Fiji has on offer and various mainland excursions and activities.We are an intimate hillside boutique resort with its own secluded palm fringe beach, set amidst lush tropical gardens with breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean, nearby mountains and uninhabited islands in the distance. Join us for a truly relaxing tropical getaway.Do as much, or as little, as you please. Relax and unwind on the beach and by the pool. Wander through our tropical gardens. Take an afternoon nap on a hammock. Learn the local culture from our friendly Fijian staff. Indulge in delicious meals. Or embark on a variety of excursions available from the resort jetty. Our comfortable rooms are set in a tranquil environment - just meters from the beach or in the gardens providing the magical backdrop for the most amazing sunrises and the majestic sunsets.Our resort's super convenient location provides one of our most important benefits. We are located only 20 minutes from the Nadi International Airport , 10 minutes from the Sugar City of Lautoka and 2 minutes from the historical Visesei Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anchorage Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Beach Hotel Lautoka
Anchorage Beach Lautoka
Anchorage Beach Resort Fiji/Lautoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing