We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relax at the achorage”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anchorage Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Buderim, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“relax at the achorage”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

the resort was in need of a bit of TLC, the room was comfortable and well air conditioned. Unfortunately we had no hot water for showers and there was an electric switch hanging off the wall. But saying that we didn't pay top prices. The view from the room was great. The staff were wonderful, after only one day they knew our names, room number and our favourite drink. It is a great place to chill out, and catch up on the reading. We found the meals OK but it would have been nice to have just a sandwich on offer at lunch time. We were probably unlucky in a way that the place was practically empty. we were in our room by 8 o'clock most nights as there was nothing to keep us in the bar area. Maybe in busy times there is some entertainment on offer. The day trip to Beachcomber was worth doing but the trip to Denerau was a bit too long though not bad value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gilld969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort M, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Bula Gill,
Thanks for posting your review. We are glad that you found relaxation at the Anchorage and that you enjoyed the Beachcomber Day Trip. We have taken on board some of your feedback about entertainment and lunch menu items. The kitchen will always be happy to make non menu items for guests on request even if it is a simple thing like a sandwich.
Vinaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    159
    116
    58
    76
See reviews for
136
216
25
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

From the moment we arrived until the time we left (five days) the entire experience was first class. Staff were incredibly friendly, helpful, and so easy to communicate with. The Ocean View room was clean and comfortable and well located near the bar and swimming pool. Food was to a high standard, great variety, and very reasonably priced....definitely value-for-money. Day-trip to Beachcomber was the highlight and we highly recommend taking the journey. A great place if you're looking to spend a relaxing "bula-time" in Fiji: we'll definitely be back and are recommending this establishment to our friends. Thanks to the team at Anchorage !.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort M, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Bula Dave
Thanks for a great review. We are happy to hear that the Anchorage has met your expectations and we look forward to seeing you and some of your friends back.
Rgds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

Absolutely amazing place. Only let down the beach is poor. The staff are super friendly the food is amazing and they do everything to make your stay the best possible. Would I go back. In a heartbeat. The room was amazing. I loved my stay here.

Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort M, Manager at Anchorage Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Greetings Mr Lewis Payne
Thank you for posting a wonderful review and we look forward to seeing you again if you return to this special part of the world.
Vinaka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We got a Scoopon deal and stayed for eight nights in one of the upper level Ocean View Spa rooms. The view from our balcony was fantastic, looking out over the trees to the ocean and I loved having a pre-dinner drink out there and just taking in the view. We also overlooked the pool but the rooms are well insulated and noise wasn't a problem. The staff at the restaurant and pool area were great, very friendly and helpful, particularly Clive. The meals were not at the standard we are used to however, and we made a point to go down to First Landing Resort twice to enjoy some fantastic meals down there. One night the Anchorage staff organised a crab race and auctioned off 20 crabs to guests for the race. The prize money was split between the first three placements and it got all the guests talking to each other. The resort has a very friendly atmosphere which I think encourages guests to talk and interact with each other.
The main part of our room was nice and clean and the king size bed was very comfy. The bathroom was not clean with mould around the shower base and bathroom basins. The aircon was great, though the filters were filthy so we gave them a good rinse out in the spa bath (which is the only time we used the spa).
The resort pool was nice and clean and the deck chairs next to the pool, overlooking the ocean are great. The free WiFi in the restaurant reaches these chairs so it was nice to dabble on the internet while lying in the shade. They don't provide beach towels though so you would be best to bring your own. The trip to Beachcombers was fun and the snorkelling out there was pretty good. Lunch on the island was good too but if you didn't go snorkelling there wasn't much to do but sit in the shade and wait for the return trip. We did hire a car for a couple of days which allowed us to go out and explore a bit more as the hotel is along way from the road. Taxis are cheap though with $5 getting a couple down to First Landing for dinner. We rang a local car company and they delivered and picked up from the resort. The shuttle the hotel runs to Nadi and Lautoka were great too.
So it is a mixed review I give this resort. I think it does really well in being comfortable, friendly and providing great service. It does need management to ensure the rooms are more thoroughly cleaned and if they could improve the meals it could be great.

Room Tip: The ocean view spa rooms are great but there is a steep set of stairs to get to the upper level. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KittyKatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tara
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

With 30 other wedding crashers we arrived for our daughters elopment....extra staff where on board...for a week we where all very well looked after...yes the resort is a little run down & could be addressed with some investment by the owners...
The wedding its self was wonderful.......definety not for the "princess" bride...but as a super inexpensive "destination wedding" with lots of fun the anchorage has alot to offer..simple menu choice, venue hire (tastefully decorated as ws the wedding buru) hairdressers & makeup in your room...a band that didnt let up all night.. & staff that joined in with celebrations, laughing and singing made it a wonderful occassion..
Special mention to 'Carole' who relaxed the bride & groom ( & many others) with her great
massages during our stay...Buma,Mere& all the staff at the restarant & bar. Nothing was a prolbem to them. Wished they all worn name tags so i could mention them all. The cleaning staff where lovely polite people..(these ladies work so hard.management should consider upgrading the equipment they use to improve the standards around the resort...
Thank you to everyone at anchorage resort...your service..advise....taxi driving.reception was all wonderful .for anyone without theirs noses to higb in tbe sky...its a great place
Thank you
Baz n Toni Rolles

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BaznTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolzano, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Only stayed one night at the Anchorage Beach resort. We were upgraded from a mountain few room to our own private villa, which was lovely. Staff were friendly, and very helpful with picking up suitcases. It was raining heavily the entire time we were there, so one staff member offered to drive me from reception to the restaurant, which I appreciated as I would have gotten saturated otherwise. The internet was free and worked really well!

I found the main things that let the resort down a bit were the food and the beach (or complete lack thereof). Overall it was a perfect stay for one night before returning to Australia but I probably would not spend significantly longer at the hotel.

Room Tip: Could not fault the villa with own spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saritatravels_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We (myself and two children - ages 7 and 11) arrived at Anchorage after three nights on Bounty Island.

Our room was nice and spacious. We sat and rested and had a bit of a snack in our room. A small piece of food was left on a bedside cabinet and was swarming with ants soon after. The air conditioning in our room did not work. I contacted reception to advise them of the problem and they promised someone would come and have a look. Half an hour later I had to call again. We were given another room which, thankfully, had functioning air conditioning.

The rooms are nice and clean although a check under the bed (for things kids leave behind) when we left indicated that perhaps they weren't moved too often for a clean!

There is a large pool although don't take any notice of the signs indicating depth. At one end of the pool the sign said 1.2m so I jumped in (I am 1.75m) and went straight to the bottom with water over my head. The signs are incorrect and there is only one part of the pool that is of a depth that makes it suitable for smaller children (there is a small paddling pool though). Please note however that the pool quickly becomes deep and in some parts must be around 2.5m deep.

The restaurant is nice enough but the food seems a bit overpriced. The kids' menu provides some good options. The kids' meals were large and would have been sufficient for me however the menu quite clearly states that the kids' menu is for up to 12 years only. It wasn't until our last day there that we discovered that the restaurant at Vuda Point Marina is far better priced and has a much better menu.

While we were there, Fiji was struck by heavy rain and there was flooding in some parts. Unfortunately, Anchorage does not have enough to do and we ended up watching some rubbish television and swimming in the pool while the rain tumbled down. We were scheduled to go on a trip to Beachcomber Island however this had to be postponed one day and then cancelled the next.

Breakfast was a simple affair - cereal, toast, juice, tea and coffee. It was possible to order from a breakfast menu but the continental breakfast was certainly enough for us.

We ordered a room service meal one night. The person taking the order seemed annoyed that I would do such a thing and hung up before even acknowledging that she had heard my order correctly.

Wifi is only available in the restaurant.

Overall I can't complain about Anchorage but after two weeks of extremely friendly Fijian welcomes, the staff at Anchorage came across as though they were just doing a job.

Anchorage was good value - it was part of a flight and accommodation package - but I am not sure that I would recommend it over other hotels. It's location is somewhat of an issue and, even the kids felt the difference in atmosphere.

We didn't dislike it but, unfortunately, that's probably the best thing I can say about it.

Room Tip: Our room was a long walk (down a steep hill) from the restaurant which was quite hazardous, given th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lautoka
6.4 mi away
Tanoa Waterfront Hotel
Tanoa Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lautoka
243 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,169 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Fiji Orchid
The Fiji Orchid
#2 of 7 in Lautoka
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
1.0 mi away
First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
10.6 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hote...
#1 of 1 in Sonaisali Island
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Beach Resort

Property: Anchorage Beach Resort
Address: Vuda Point, Lautoka, Viti Levu 0000, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Lautoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Experience the best of Fiji by staying at the Anchorage Beach Resort on mainland Fiji, perfect for couples or the whole family. The Anchorage beach resort will provide the perfect launching pad to experience the wonders of the Mamanuca islands. We are often the choice for many travelers first or last night on the mainland when proximity to the international airport is an absolute must. From here you are in reach of some of the best surf and crystal clear snorkeling Fiji has on offer and various mainland excursions and activities.We are an intimate hillside boutique resort with its own secluded palm fringe beach, set amidst lush tropical gardens with breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean, nearby mountains and uninhabited islands in the distance. Join us for a truly relaxing tropical getaway.Do as much, or as little, as you please. Relax and unwind on the beach and by the pool. Wander through our tropical gardens. Take an afternoon nap on a hammock. Learn the local culture from our friendly Fijian staff. Indulge in delicious meals. Or embark on a variety of excursions available from the resort jetty. Our comfortable rooms are set in a tranquil environment - just meters from the beach or in the gardens providing the magical backdrop for the most amazing sunrises and the majestic sunsets.Our resort's super convenient location provides one of our most important benefits. We are located only 20 minutes from the Nadi International Airport , 10 minutes from the Sugar City of Lautoka and 2 minutes from the historical Visesei Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Anchorage Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Beach Hotel Lautoka
Anchorage Beach Lautoka
Anchorage Beach Resort Fiji/Lautoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing