We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not all bad!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anchorage Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Reviewed 17 November 2006

We stayed at the Anchorage for seven nights from 6th November 2006. The rooms on the ocean front are gorgeous; the view from the room is fantastic. The 'windows' in the rear bedroom wall slide open to reveal a large bathroom and a spa bath. Enjoy having a spa while looking out over the pool and ocean - magnificent! The only complaint we had with our room was the TV remote control didn't work even after three attempts to get one that did.

The cane train that comes through several times a day (and night) is quaint and just remember it's the Fijians simply earning their living; try not to get uptight about it.

Take a 15 minute walk along the train track to Vuda Point, particularly for lunch/afternoon drinks (your footing won't be stable if you attempt the return trip in the dark - not from the alcohol intake but the uneven terrain!!). Alternatively, walk there in the late afternoon, in daylight, and take a taxi back to the resort (~FJD$5).

Drinks and a meal at the VP marina are cheap and good value. Meals at the First Landing Resort just a little further along the road wont disappoint either and they also have entertainment.

The pool at Anchorage is a delight. And so are the villagers. Take a walk to the village - about 10 minutes along the train track in the opposite direction to Vuda Point. The village women make jewellery and sell it at very reasonable prices. Four or five tribes make up this village and it's a great opportunity to learn from the native Fijians.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Boomer-Harvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
There are newer reviews for Anchorage Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

505 - 511 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2006

We stayed as a group of 25 in the new units next to the tracks.
Overall thoroughly enjoyed it there. We did keep ourselves very busy travelling and using this resort as a base so it was perfect.
Lovely pool. TV was faulty in ours and other rooms so we had to watch sky with a line through the screen.
Slippery tiles on the steps down from upstairs when wet were a real danger so I hope this will be addressed with a bit of sand paint.
Watch out for the golf buggies at night. They have no lights and are whisper quiet - but they are very handy for getting up the hill.
I disagree with other listings. The sea is deep to swim in near the jetty.

The Fijians are beautiful people and you will love them. Make sure you fix a price for a taxi to Lautoka with the taxi drivers before you leave. Little extras will annoy you...

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank WaipaSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2006

On the whole we didn't have any major issues with the Anchorage but this is definitely a resort for people who want to do absolutely nothing else but sit by the pool every day. They made an attempt at daily activities but included were things like watch the kitchen staff climb a coconut tree??

The room we stayed in was a little tired, very basic, but clean. We found the staff friendly enough but they certainly take the whole "Fiji time" thing to the extreme. On our first day we tried to catch the resort taxi to Nadi and were told it would be ready to take us in 15 mins. In the end we waited for 2 hours and finally gave up. To avoid being reliant on this expensive and unreliable service we decided to hire a car for the week which was expensive but worth it in the end. If you don't have any transport but want to do a bit of sight seeing the location of this resort is a real challenge.

Meals at the resort restaurant were basic but very expensive. For only a little more you can eat at the First Landing resort around the road where the food is far superior. The bar is dead by 9pm so if you’re after a few drinks at night this isn’t the place to stay. The upside to this is that it’s very quiet at night for a good nights sleep.

Like other reviews I would suggest checking your bill. We found 2 or 3 things included that we never purchased. I didn't think there was anything untoward going on, more just the incompetence of their "cashless" system. A couple of times during the stay we were handed dockets to sign where the wrong room number was on it!

The pool area was very nice and the best feature of the resort by far. Be aware that train tracks run about 30ms away from it though.

My recommendation would be spend a bit more money and head to the Islands if you are able to

  • Stayed: October 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Casdone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2006

Stayed there for a week. The staff are pleasant and helpful (if you aren't in any kind of hurry), and our room was fantastic. No cash policy of charging all drinks and food to your room can be expensive, so keep an eye on what you spend. Also double check your bill at the end as they throw in a few 'extra' charges hoping you wont notice (a $35 cab ride which we didn't take). The sugar cane train that rumbles through the resort a couple of times a day is more interesting than annoying. We actually looked forward to it coming! The only thing is that the resort is a long way from anywhere. Try to avoid booking a 'taxi' through the resort as they rip you off. They charge you $35 to Denarau Marina when if really only costs half that amount. The bus is a good option if you dont mind a bit of a walk (but not at night). In this part of Fiji (Nadi) there are a lot of people trying to overcharge you for everything. From taxi's, to food, to petrol (double check the pump at the Petrol stations with the amount you pay. When we hired a car, everytime (and i mean every single time) we filled up they short-filled the tank. Be Aware!). Try and get over to the islands, that is where the perfect spots are. It's pure heaven. The beach at Anchorage Resort is pretty non existant, but the pool is gorgeous. It's a very good place away from it all. Be sure to check out the Yacht Club for sunset drinks at the 'First Landing" resort up the road. Also a great place for a decent dinner under the stars. All in all, not bad. Not really what you would imagine Fiji to be, but if you hire a car for the duration you should be OK. P.S Car hire is expensive. Hope this helped.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank whizzplank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2006

i stayed at anchorage with three other single females. All started good, we were upgraded to a beach front spa room no extra cost, lots of friendly smiles and the view was lovely.

The Pool down by the beach is great, (although the pool bar was not open which was dissappointing, too quiet the staff said) the beach is really more like a bay it doesnt have waves. I didnt even attempt to swim there let alone snorkel which i dont think would provide much viewing. But if your looking for a quiet relaxing time you will get it. The hammock swings on the shore are great relaxing value.

The outlook is great and restaurant has a nice feel to it. Live music every night during dining time. Makes the setting a time to remember. The meals are pricey however and the next closest place to dine is at first landing 5 mins drive. No other choice! Meals werent the best at anchorage. Cocktails were $16 and light!

To get anywhere is easy enough but comes at a price. A trip to nadi is $30 one way by resort taxi. There really isnt much to do anywhere else but we went on an island tour which was fantastic Shopping is ok in nadi. Lautoka is horrible.Not much else to do but stay in resort.

Oh beware they dont tell you that there is a cane train track along the water front right outside the rooms which goes by at least twice through the night haha was quite a shock!

There is no night life it is very quiet after 8.30pm not ideal for young singles probably recommend for couples only.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank auzziegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2006

The unfortunate thing here is that the position of the Anchorage is very good !! Beyond that, it starts to go downhill, picking up momentum like an avalanche.

Arrival was very late (1am - not the hotels fault, chalk that one up to the flight delay of 2.5 hours), so we waited until the morning to start our Fijian experience. Our request for single beds for our 2 teenage boys had been missed, and we had 2 Queens size beds in the room. Requests to get a simple fold out or trundle bed fell on deaf ears until 7pm that night, when we got a bit narky and finally saw some action.

The restaurant in the hotel looks great, and is positioned right beside the pool, so you can grab a possie at Breakfast and basically keep it all day, wandering back and forth. Orders for Food and drinks were always very slow, and often forgotten all together. The food is quite nice once it arrives, if you are still awake.

The staff are very friendly, however tend to spoil that with the delays in actually doing anything.

This place has a huge potential, however currently is not performing up to scratch in my opinion. Although the owner / manager was seen regularly around the pool deck, he tended not to speak to people, and if anything was too non-committal about any issues brought to his attention.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Grimaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2006

Stayed there 3 nights while on Vitu Levu. Not bad overall, but it was not optimal choice:

1. Beach is unsuitable for swimming at all. Even in high tide it is too shallow.

On the positive side:
You can relax on the beach and go to the pool. It is clean, with palm trees; view is nice, not many people (in February).

2. Breakfast that was inluded is poor at list.
On the positive side:
Dinner (I had one) was good, so not cheap.

3. We stayed in beachside bures. Generally it is good size and in good condition, BUT Room does not have windows, only shutters, so use of air-conditioning requires being in the dark. Water stream was to week for taking good shower. Waterview was obstructed and such "attraction" as hot-tub on the verandah has no privacy (it faces the main road directly).

3. Stuff is not very friendly and not responsive.
Hotels mainly run by Indians who look on you as a nuisance. Everything in hotel is overpriced beyond what it is deserves as "budget accommodation".

4. Location is far enough from main attractions so you have to spend extra time and money to commute for side-trips.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank geneus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lautoka
6.4 mi away
Tanoa Waterfront Hotel
Tanoa Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lautoka
246 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Fiji Orchid
The Fiji Orchid
#2 of 7 in Lautoka
111 reviews
17.9 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,225 reviews
1.0 mi away
First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
10.6 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hotel Fiji - Sonaisali Island
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Hote...
#1 of 1 in Sonaisali Island
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchorage Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchorage Beach Resort

Address: Vuda Point, Lautoka, Viti Levu 0000, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Lautoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Price Range: £49 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anchorage Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Experience the best of Fiji by staying at the Anchorage Beach Resort on mainland Fiji, perfect for couples or the whole family. The Anchorage beach resort will provide the perfect launching pad to experience the wonders of the Mamanuca islands. We are often the choice for many travelers first or last night on the mainland when proximity to the international airport is an absolute must. From here you are in reach of some of the best surf and crystal clear snorkeling Fiji has on offer and various mainland excursions and activities.We are an intimate hillside boutique resort with its own secluded palm fringe beach, set amidst lush tropical gardens with breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean, nearby mountains and uninhabited islands in the distance. Join us for a truly relaxing tropical getaway.Do as much, or as little, as you please. Relax and unwind on the beach and by the pool. Wander through our tropical gardens. Take an afternoon nap on a hammock. Learn the local culture from our friendly Fijian staff. Indulge in delicious meals. Or embark on a variety of excursions available from the resort jetty. Our comfortable rooms are set in a tranquil environment - just meters from the beach or in the gardens providing the magical backdrop for the most amazing sunrises and the majestic sunsets.Our resort's super convenient location provides one of our most important benefits. We are located only 20 minutes from the Nadi International Airport , 10 minutes from the Sugar City of Lautoka and 2 minutes from the historical Visesei Village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anchorage Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Beach Hotel Lautoka
Anchorage Beach Lautoka
Anchorage Beach Resort Fiji/Lautoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing