We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tanoa Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Lovely little hotel on the waterfront in :Lautoka not far from town centre and all amenties. Great staff that were really helpful. The room was basic but clean with fresh sheets provided everyday and floor washed every day. They do get very busy and are often full to bursting but the staff are very helpful and accomodating.
I would stay again!

Room Tip: Nice little park for little ones, amazing views of the waterfront and the town. Quite Fijian thankf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lindybindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narendk, General Manager at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2013

Bula Lindy
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review, I was delighted to read how you enjoyed the hotel. Your feedback will surely be beneficial for other travellers and for us, I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services & facilities.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Vinaka and regards
Narend Kumar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

156 - 162 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2013

We were two couples that stayed here on a very short business trip at the end of May. Lautoka is a totally industrial, plain town but we quite enjoyed our stay at the Tanoa. The new pool was not huge but lovely to lounge around and it was very quiet! Our rooms were adequate, except we were in the older wing and perhaps should have asked to be in the newer wing. There was hardly anybody else staying here at the time so why they just didn't put us in the newer rooms ?? There was a faint musty smokey smell in the rooms. The food in the restaurant was fine for lunch and dinner, but the breakfasts were only very average. Location wise - it is right at the heart of Lautoka with a view over the busy road to the water. I would recommend the hotel for a business trip - it was adequate and reasonable value. The pool is a nice bonus. Ask for the newer rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizF_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narendk, General Manager at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Bula Liz,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. All feedback, both positive and negative is important to us.I have taken your comments and shared them with the team. I am addressing this with the relevant department managers so we can improve in these areas.
Please feel free to contact me should your travel plans bring you back to Tanoa Waterfront Hotel as it will be my pleasure to be of your assistance.
Vinaka and Regards
Narend Kumar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Having booked and paid for 3 nights accommodation well in advance to stay at this hotel which is supposed to be considered as one of the best in Lautoka we expected better treatment. However we were very dissappointed indeed as we arrived at the correct check in time only to find the rooms were not ready. We were than given the room closest to the reception and found it to be in very poor condition, the bathroom tiles and bath tub stained and linen not the best. The outside balcony had green carpets which were torn with mildew and the airconditioner cooling system was set at very Low and Lautoka being very hot and humid this was most uncomfortable indeed. Each day we had to request for clean bath towels to be bought to our room very unproffesional. Early mornings we would be woken to the sound of people walking and talking in the corridoors as they checkout of their rooms. This is the first time we have stayed at this hotel and will be the last until they upgrade their facilities and provide better customer service for their guests. They expect you to pay high rates for low grade of service hygiene and cleanliness.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the new block and never a room near the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 513Emzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narendk, General Manager at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Bula,
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.I have taken your comments and shared them with the team, I appreciate also the constructive feed back you provided, and I am addressing this with the relevant department managers so we can improve in these areas.
Again, thank you for taking the time to let us know of your concerns, as we believe that it is your way of allowing us the chance to better ourselves.
Please feel free to contact me should your travel plans bring you back to Tanoa Waterfront Hotel as it will be my pleasure to be of your assistance.
Vinaka and Regards
Narend Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We recently held a wedding reception at the hotel for my neice and i organised it.The wedding corodinator and his staff did a wonderful job getting everything ready.They provided everything we required from exact colour scheme to the food.The people behind the scenes did a marvellous job,from the decorators to the catering staff.Most important of all every member of the hotel were very friendly and accommodating to our needs.I would recommend Tanoa Waterfront Hotel to anyone if they are thinking of getting married in Fiji.Once again thank you Ashlyn,Sharvind and staff.
F Mohammed

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Farhana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narendk, General Manager at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Bula Farhana,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review, I have shared your comments with Ashlyn, Sharvind and all of the team. We are delighted to know how much you appreciated the service priovided. Its great to know the efforts made are noticed. This feedback will surely be beneficial for other guests who are planning for weddings in Lautoka. And for us, I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services & facilities.
I thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fiji sometime soon.

Vinaka and Regards
Narend Kumar
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Having visited Fiji three times in the last 40 years I chose Lautoka for the climate and variation.
Our Holiday was two weeks in total and managed to do a bit of exploration.

The positive sides of the vacation in the hotel were the magnificent pool and the NEW Block appearance.

The Foyer and entrance of the hotel is OK but tired.
The restaurant is extremely overpriced for the Quality of surrounds and resultant Poor value.
The room we stayed in was Initially dirty and obviously not cleaned. I filled out a feedback card and listed all of my complaints (Mostly due to dirt, grime and lack of cleaning.)
On our return that night all of the points had been addressed to my satisfaction.

The TV channels available were very Poor initially having two channels with the same sound and one channel with none.

There is a smaller Pool on the premises cradled between the Foyer and a Conference room and much older.

This pool was regularly frequented by Children of the staff and totally unsupervised. but both pools had an EXTREMELY Dangerous Surface on the surrounding Tiles.

Please be careful and do not slip.

Message to the Tanoa Management:-

Make the pool tiles antislip or face a legal charge from one of your guests.

The cleanliness of the room slipped on the end of the week for a couple of days and returned to normal after the shift change.

There were a couple of items that bemused me regarding the general cleaning

In the Bathroom on the floor behind the door was a black "T" shaped piece of plastic from a clothing tag. this remained for the whole two weeks.

We ate across the park in a very pleasant hotel for most meals.

Regarding the attitude of the staff of the Waterfront they are extremely friendly and obliging and attended to our every need.

This is the lead in to the mixed bag comment.

On the plus again the tariff was reasonable and the Transport via Local Taxis quite cheap.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greynomad2648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narendk, General Manager at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Bula Greynomad,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay with us, the comments we receive from our guests provide us with valuable information, as it is only through honest feedback that we are able to work on improving and enhancing our service delivery and product standards.
I have taken your comments and shared them with the team and we are addressing this with the relevant department managers so we can improve in these areas .Just to note that we do not allow staff kids on site hence those kids you have mentioned using the pool would have been guests children.
I thank you again, please feel free to contact me should your travel plans bring you back to Tanoa Waterfront Hotel as it will be my pleasure to be of your assistance.
Vinaka and Regards
Narend Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

My boyfriend and i stayed in the Executive room which is in he newly build building, the room was very clean, spacious and modern! We really enjoyed our 4 night stay, while it was very hot during the time we stayed, the air-con in the room was a godsend! And the pool was a great way to relax and cool down after sunbathing on the sun loungers. We had lunch at the restaurant, the food was delicious and the servings were huge and the coffee was nice! It is only a very short walk into Lautoka town and the taxi stands. The staff were very friendly and im sure they would go out of their way to help in any way. We would definitely stay here again when we are next in Lautoka

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narendk, General Manager at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Bula Stephanie,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel and again for taking out your valuable time to post this wonderful detailed review.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Tanoa Waterfront Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback which will be shared with the team. This feedback will surely be beneficial for other travellers. And for us, I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services & facilities.

Please feel free to contact me should your travel plans bring you back to Tanoa Waterfront Hotel as it will be my pleasure to be of your assistance.
Vinaka and Regards
Narend Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

I recently booked and researched my Fiji holiday online and booked waterfront based on the belief it was close to Nadi and tourist sites. Unfortunately it wasnt, Lautoka is the real Fiji, and if you want to experience day to day life in a city in Fiji, Lautoka and Waterfront are for you. If you are more interested in being close to tours and attractions recommend staying in Nadi.
The hotel is obivously very popular with the more local crowd with two government meetings happening whilst we were there
The good points:
Great pool, fairly clean, free wifi in Fins, very helpful in transferring our stay to their sister hotels in Nadi
Not so good points:
We tried to ask the staff for a good place to eat other than Fins, they were not helpful at all, and the bed in the superior rooms really is a double bed, not a hotel double/twin you would expect

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narendk, General Manager at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Bula Andrea,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review. All feedback's, both positive and negative is important to us, as we believe that it is your way of allowing us the chance to better ourselves.
I thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fiji sometime soon.

Vinaka and Regards
Narend Kumar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lautoka
4.2 mi away
The Fiji Orchid
The Fiji Orchid
#2 of 7 in Lautoka
112 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,260 reviews
24.3 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
6.4 mi away
Anchorage Beach Resort
Anchorage Beach Resort
#5 of 7 in Lautoka
527 reviews
13.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanoa Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanoa Waterfront Hotel

Address: Marine Dr | PO Box 4653, Lautoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Lautoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Price Range: £69 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanoa Waterfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb waterfront location with sensational sunsets…Welcome to the Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, Lautoka, Fiji - the preferred Fiji hotel accommodation for the business traveller, conference delegate and holiday maker. This is an excellent stopover point for connections to and from the Mamanuca and Yasawa islands. Lautoka is the second largest city of Fiji and is the second port of entry in Fiji, after Suva. Lying in the heart of Fiji’s sugar cane growing regions, it is known as the Sugar City. It houses the Lautoka Sugar Mill which is the city’s biggest employer by far. From its superb Lautoka waterfront location you can witness sensational sunsets whilst enjoying a refreshing drink or an early dinner in Fins Restaurant. At the Fins Restaurant,we offer a wide range of both local and international fare between 6.30am and 11.30pm. We have 92 well-appointed guest accommodation rooms, each with individually controlled air conditioning for your comfort, and equipped with all guest amenities to suit both the busy executive and discerning leisure traveler. The rooms open out on to their own balcony or self contained patio which engenders the feeling of a cool relaxing space – ideal on ‘sticky’ tropical days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tanoa Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanoa Waterfront Hotel Fiji/Lautoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing