We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Practical Hotel. Pleasant with the basics”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tanoa Waterfront Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Practical Hotel. Pleasant with the basics”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Great Hotel and good location when working in Lautoka.
Not so much of a tourist hotel though.
We were put up in the new wing which was nice. Overall it is a nice hotel and friendly staff which is being done up wing by wing. Will definitely come back here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank LP-AccountMgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narendk, General Manager at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Bula LP,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel and again for taking out your valuable time to post this review.We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Tanoa Waterfront Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback which will be shared with the team.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Vinaka and Regards
Narend Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    102
    48
    15
    12
See reviews for
62
62
17
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lautoka, Fiji
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Didn't stay at the hotel but opted to go and have some drinks at the restaurant, however it took forever for the wait staff to come and take our drinks order we had to ask them to come and take our orders over and over again, they didn't seem interested in serving at all. Definitely a let down for a big hotel chain.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ChrisTall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narendk, General Manager at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Bula Chris,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review. Your comments regarding the service are concerning, this is far from acceptable and I apologise for this. I am sharing it with service team to ensure issues are addressed.To further investigate I would appreciate if you could email me (wfhmanager@tanoahotels.com) details such as time and date you were here.

Again, thank you for taking the time to let us know of your concerns, as we believe that it is your way of allowing us the chance to better ourselves.

Vinaka and regards
Narend Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lautoka hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel is currently under renovation but if you are booking before August, ensure that your room is in the renovated side. The renovated rooms are nicely appointed - simple, clean, and elegant. Try to book an executive room, if you can - they are far superior. The staff at the hotel were so friendly and helpful. The front desk staff, especially Rusila, made a special effort to meet our needs, and kept us entertained while waiting for internet or other requests. When we returned from excursions, the staff at the front were unfailingly courteous, offering to peel and cut our pineapples and sugar cane. After the renovations are complete, this hotel will provide you with an authentic Fijian flavour, which is different and distinct from the international hotel chains and which was exactly what we were looking for. Do not expect to swim in the ocean here, although the views are beautiful. Special mention must be made of the helpful staff, including Priya, Ashlyn, and Vula. Thank you for making our stay memorable and giving us such a nice introduction to Fijian hospitality.

Room Tip: Renovated rooms are fine. Executive Rooms are superior. There are two pools, make sure to go to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RKVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narendk, General Manager at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Bula RKVancouver,


Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel and again for taking out your valuable time to post this wonderful detailed review.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Tanoa Waterfront Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback which will be shared with the team. This feedback will surely be beneficial for other travellers. And for us, I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services & facilities.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Vinaka and Regards
Narend Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I had a great stay with my family dea.the hotel was well maintain n overall everything was perfect.dey had friendly staffs and espeacily the service provided by
PRIYA.we really enjoyed our stay dea.looking forward for another stay
Thank you for the hospitality provided.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manchal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narendk, General Manager at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Bula Manchal,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review, I was delighted to read how you enjoyed the hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback which will be shared with the team.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Vinaka and Regards
Narend Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had a three night stay here recently. The location is great and it has some excellent facilities (pool, spa, bar, restaurant, conference rooms, computer in lobby, travel desk) but the restaurant is overpriced and has very slow service and the rooms are definitely due for a makeover. Very friendly staff. The wifi works well (F$5 for half hour or F$8 for an hour's access) and you might be lucky and get a coupon for 20% off pizza with your wifi receipt. It was exciting when we were there that the Tonga rugby team were also staying, plus a big group from an Australian university and even a wedding, so obviously it's a sought after destination in Lautoka.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roslyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narendk, General Manager at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Bula Cecilia,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. All feedback, both positive and negative is important to us.It is always a pleasure to receive feedback which will be shared with the team to improve on shortfalls.
I thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fiji sometime soon.

Vinaka and Regards
Narend Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We needed a hotel for two nights before our cruise, and this hotel was the most the closest to the port. We weren't disappointed. Our room was on the new side. The room was large,with a balcony overlooking the pool, and the waterfront. The room was clean, and the staff kept it tidy. If you stay here you should ask for a room on the new side. Friends of ours stayed in a room on the old side and it was quite outdated. Shops and Restaurants close by. We have no problem with the check in desk. The cost for a taxi was about twenty five fiji dollars from the airport in Nadi. Like I said, the hotel worked for us.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narendk, General Manager at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Bula Sabrina,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel and again for taking out your valuable time to post this wonderful detailed review.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Tanoa Waterfront Hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback which will be shared with the team. This feedback will surely be beneficial for other travelers.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Vinaka and Regards
Narend Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
171 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights prior to a Paul Gauguin cruise that left from the port at Lautoka. I got a great price (i.e. FJD 182.70 total for 2 nights including all taxes) for an "executive suite" from an online hotel booking site. Now that rate didn't include their continental breakfast; however, there were other booking options that did. According to my booking site their breakfast costs FJD 20 per person per night. This seem pretty high for a breakfast: however, I didn't verify the price with the hotel. The suite was huge, had a walk in closet/storage room, large bathroom, and a good size balcony. The room had a refrigerator, wet bar, and safe too. The staff was very friendly. The hotel is on the coast (hence the name "waterfront"); however there isn't any beach and the ocean water in and around Laukota is fairly dirty. I think the hotel gets more business travelers than vacationers. The room was clean and everything worked. I really liked the bed; but I like a firm mattress. It was just a pad on a board (i.e. no box springs). I was on the 2nd floor and the hotel does not have an elevator; however, they carry your bags to the room. I gave the "bell hop" guy a couple dollars tip: however, (you should note that) tipping is not a custom nor is it expected in Fiji. The hotel is located right on the edge of the main part of town with lots of shops and restaurants close by. In fact I even walked from the hotel to the port with rolling luggage. It was about a 10 -15 minute walk. Basically there is a paved sidewalk the entire way, but you do have to cross a couple streets and negotiate a couple curbs. However, taxis are real plentiful and very reasonably priced in Fiji, just make sure the driver starts his meter at the beginning of the trip. A common taxi rip off there is not using the meter and charging you their rate after you get to your destination. Check in is at 2 PM and I arrived at 8 AM, and they offered me an early check in for an additional FJD 40, I took it. Note: 1 Fijian Dollar equals 0.54 US Dollar.

Negatives:
1) not a lot of loungers around the pool
2) the pool water was a little cloudy
3) WiFi was not free
4) they charge a 3% "convenience fee" if you use a credit card. That's for their convenience not the guest's.
5) upon check in they had me double booked.They initially claimed that my online booking company did it and the online booking company would have to cancel the other reservation to avoid an extra charge. When I asked for the other reservation number they didn't have one. The desk clerk disappeared into their office and when she returned she indicated that it was their error. They promptly cancelled the 2nd booking. I do think this was just an honest (i.e. careless data input into their reservation system) mistake on their part.
6) Just sayin': It looks to me like you can get a great initial price for the room and then they want to "nickel and dime" you with a lot of extras (i.e. credit card "convenience fee", early check in charge, expensive breakfast, pricey Wifi, etc.)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Narendk, General Manager at Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Bula Ohio,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. All feedback, both positive and negative is important to us.I have taken your comments and shared them with the team, I appreciate also the constructive feed back you provided.
I thank you again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Fiji sometime soon.

Vinaka and Regards,
Narend Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lautoka
4.2 mi away
The Fiji Orchid
The Fiji Orchid
#2 of 7 in Lautoka
84 reviews
10.4 mi away
Bounty Island Resort
Bounty Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Bounty Island
427 reviews
40.3 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Fiji Gateway Hotel
12.3 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
2,968 reviews
6.6 mi away
First Landing Beach Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanoa Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanoa Waterfront Hotel

Property: Tanoa Waterfront Hotel
Address: Marine Dr | PO Box 4653, Lautoka, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Lautoka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Lautoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanoa Waterfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superb waterfront location with sensational sunsets…Welcome to the Tanoa Waterfront Hotel, Lautoka, Fiji - the preferred Fiji hotel accommodation for the business traveller, conference delegate and holiday maker. This is an excellent stopover point for connections to and from the Mamanuca and Yasawa islands. Lautoka is the second largest city of Fiji and is the second port of entry in Fiji, after Suva. Lying in the heart of Fiji’s sugar cane growing regions, it is known as the Sugar City. It houses the Lautoka Sugar Mill which is the city’s biggest employer by far. From its superb Lautoka waterfront location you can witness sensational sunsets whilst enjoying a refreshing drink or an early dinner in Fins Restaurant. At the Fins Restaurant,we offer a wide range of both local and international fare between 6.30am and 11.30pm. We have 92 well-appointed guest accommodation rooms, each with individually controlled air conditioning for your comfort, and equipped with all guest amenities to suit both the busy executive and discerning leisure traveler. The rooms open out on to their own balcony or self contained patio which engenders the feeling of a cool relaxing space – ideal on ‘sticky’ tropical days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tanoa Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanoa Waterfront Hotel Fiji/Lautoka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing