We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simple - clean and comfortable - lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rakiraki
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“simple - clean and comfortable - lovely staff”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

wow - what a change to the previous "resort" we stayed at! Lovely staff - friendly and happy to talk to you, clean fresh sheets on the bed and lovely clean floors. no mess swept into the corners! Air conditioning in the room, hot water shower that didnt smell of Bore water - it is lovely!
close to town and comfortable - we'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simoneanderson44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    28
    26
    7
    3
See reviews for
16
26
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel welcome and were looked after beautifully.
Our room was basic but clean and comfortable. The pool was clean and thee was a tennis court and bowling green nearby. Most of all we enjoyed our drinks in the lounge - a comfortable area where it was easy to meet and talk with other visitors. Our main meals were delicious and the omelettes for breakfast were the best.

Room Tip: Upstairs you get a good breeze
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kinmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Q
Level Contributor
187 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I am about to return to Fiji for the 5th time soon........and there will be no relaxed time until I go back to Rakiraki and catch up with "old friends". The very next morning upon landing in Nadi, my partner and I will hire a car and head due north to Lautoka and then on the Kings Rd to Rakiraki.........about a 3 -4 hr drive. We have stayed at the Rakiraki Hotel twice before when we have traversed Viti Levu and can only say "you get what you pay for" and so never expected resort style accommodation in the north. And may I say it is CLEAN and TIDY.
But like all OVER Fiji, the people are always friendly and welcoming and we always want to go back. No, the rooms aren't 5 star and the pool is small and the menu not extensive.........but that is not why you go "off the beaten track" to where true tourist resorts are scarce. THIS is the real Fiji, and the towns and villages, sights and people that you meet getting there!!
OK the Indian manager is a little bit reserved.......... he is Indian Fijian. But all his staff are Fijian ........and they are just beautiful people. They all happily advise where the best boating is........and Ellington Wharf is the place to go to adventure out on a local little fishing boat to explore the surrounding islands...........what an adventure that is!!! And so CHEAP ......... compared to the Coral Coast or the very touristy Denarau (which could be the port of Cairns now).
We have been welcomed in to the local school next door to the hotel, we have played island rugby football with the local young men after work till dark and then been invited into their village next door which was an honour. We have found young children who we have befriended and taken lollies and treats to, met their families and held their newest babies.
It has been an honour to stay in Rakiraki Hotel and be able to mix with the locals so easily. So much so that on this visit to Fiji, we want to take some gifts to our new found friends by taking some Aussie books and treats to the school next door and to the familes that we have befriended.
The relaxation by the pool on Denarau can wait until we have made the trek back to Rakiraki on our return to Fiji next month.
And to the last reviewer of this delightful place, well done.....I agree with your endorsements wholeheartedly so just "Remember where you are and enjoy the moment".
PS......a warning to those now planning to go up there..........the easiest way to get to Rakiraki is up thru Lautoka on the western side of Viti Levu.........a much better road than the Kings Rd north of Suva. Believe me...........we have driven on them all.......in the wet and the dry!!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YoungJenny13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We spent 2 weeks exploring Fiji by 4wd staying at Rakiraki hotel for 3 nights.It's no the glitzy pseudo Fijian resorts to the south but a not overpriced genuine welcome haven at the north of the island. Staff and management, all very friendly and helpful, facilities clean and tidy, bed comfortable, pool warm and inviting, meals well presented and tasty. The chief even prepared a fresh water prawn curry (not on the menu) - delicious. Take the time and opportunity to talk to the hospitality training students from the pacific Islands who train in conjunction with the hotel. Visit the oldest sugar mill in Fiji.
Look- value from any experience depends on your contribution to it. Check your attitude, realise where you are, and experience a hint of colonial past in true Fiji.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EtravelMotueka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadi, Fiji
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

My stay at the Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel was terrible.
After my first night we checked out and moved to Wananavu Resort.
The pool area is very small and very congested, however the park is very good.
The staff dont even smile at you when you check in.
The food is expansive and tastes horrible.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AAbhishay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rakiraki hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2011

My partner and I along with 4 young children took off driving on a day trip to see the "suncoast" and swim in whats suppose to be beautiful beaches however after the long bumpy trip up to Rakiraki it was late and thought it best to stop in overnight somewhere, there isnt a lot of choice and after previous stays at other Tanoa hotels we figured this would be a good one.
Not only could we not even find a beach but the hotel office staff were not the friendliest bunch. We struggled to get two words out of these people and had to keep asking questions only to get a nod or quick yes or no answers which got pretty fustrating. Im assuming they were the owners as they seemed to have family in and out. No friendly tourist advise was offered, we were starving and had 4 hungry kids yet were told at 2:30pm the kitchen had just closed and no attempt to be helpful in regards to finding something edible was made being a Sunday nothing was open. We asked to preorder our dinners being so hungry we wanted food asap when it hit 6:30pm but we're told no they dont do this and wont be serving till around 6:45 we got there bang on 6:30 to find a room full of locals who stayed there all eating so we were quite angry we werent considered as important as these guests. Another man came in and had his meal in 5mins while we waited half and hour to be brought out 3 kids meals first by the time they finished 2 more meals were out and after almost finishing mine i felt so giutly eating infront of my partner i had to complain and demand his food which seemed like it was reheated and not hot all the way through.
The room was very basic and mattresses worse for wear we all felt the springs through the bed pool was nice though and had huge grounds for the kids to run around in.
Needless to say we were up and out of there very bright and early to carry on our round the island trip. Wouldnt be in a hurry to go back, staff didnt make us feel welcome at all, its obviously all about business and not the experience to them.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teritanaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franz Josef, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Staying at the Tanoa – Rakiraki is not about experiencing a modern hotel complex. The rooms, although very clean, are drab, and the main building echo’s long past colonial days.

Stay at the Tanoa – Rakiraki to experience the true Fiji and explore the North Western side of Viti Levu. Managed by a Hindu- Fijian family, you will find the service exceptionally welcoming, and the restaurant offers great food.

What I didn’t know was that the Tonoa Hotel group is part of a student training scheme in conjunction with APTC and AusAid. Twenty two of the rooms are taken by students and 24 by Tonoa guest. That night the group was preparing for a RakiRaki Escape weekend with guests from Nandi and other various tourism providers who sponsor the scheme such as Air Pacific.

I can confirm that driving the Kings Road in a 2WD is not recommended after heavy rain, and on arrival at the Hotel, the pool area seemed like an Oasis. I enjoyed watching the other guests play pool volley ball, and there was an undercover area with pool tables and table tennis. Another surprise was the immaculately manicured bowling green, and the modern tennis court at the back of the complex.

If I stayed for more than one night I would have gone out to explore Volivoli, and I can already taste my long awaited Ba Town curry.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blondini006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rakiraki
3.6 mi away
Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji
49.5 mi away
Tanoa Waterfront Hotel
Tanoa Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lautoka
239 reviews
58.4 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
69.4 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
53.3 mi away
The Fiji Orchid
The Fiji Orchid
#2 of 7 in Lautoka
89 reviews
4.4 mi away
Wananavu Beach Resort
Wananavu Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Rakiraki
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel

Property: Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel
Address: Kings Road, P.O. Box 31, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Rakiraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rakiraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Rakiraki
Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel Fiji

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing