We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Raki Raki Disaster”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rakiraki
Auckland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Raki Raki Disaster”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

It was surpose to be a hotel but felt like a backpacker. We stayed there for two night and had our room changed the rooms four times as the conditions of the room were shocking. In the first room there were no lights on the ceiling, only on the bedsides. Second one we saw lizards and cockroches crawling up and down the walls. Third room we stayed for a night had ants crawling in the bed as the office closes at 10pm, had no staff on site( just security guards) so had to use insect repellent to survive in the room without being swallon red. And the final room was average but the same problem as the first one.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are only for the name not for quality(nothing deluxe about it). A/C don't really w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarita k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    28
    24
    7
    3
See reviews for
16
26
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fiji
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

I stayed at Rakiraki lodge in January 2011 with 2 of my colleagues. This lodge provided excellent service in terms of customer care at reception (bula-style greetings!), free laundary services, and clean & adequate beddings. The washrooms were large in size and were cleaned daily, with provision of fresh towels and soaps. The rooms came equipped with fridge, tv, e-kettle, and assorted sachets of coffee, tea & milk. The swimming pool was clean and adequate as well. Overall, this lodge is highly recommended to visitors traveling to Rakiraki.

Room Tip: All rooms provide the same quality & service. But if you're a person who likes views, you mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aarti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

The rooms are run down and a little smelly. The whole place could do with a little revamp. But the service and location and value make up for these short falls.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TDD2383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
102 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I stayed here for one night during May as part of a business trip. The hotel itself is quite comfortable. It has a nice reception area and restaurant too. The rooms are out the back and around a small swimming pool. They also have a pool table by the swimming pool. The hotel is set 5-10 minute drive outside of Rakiraki town and there is no shops or amenities within walking distance.
The room itself was quite large with a double and a single bed. The bed clothes were clean and the bed was comfortable. The cupboard to hang up clothes is actually in the bathroom but that didn’t matter and there was plenty of room to store clothes (but only one hanger!!). There was a good selection of tea bags to make tea in the room. The bathroom is ok – the shower has good water pressure and was nice and hot but the appearance of the bathroom overall is that it needs modernisation and some basic maintenance. The small toiletries selection in the bathroom was good. We had dinner at the hotel as there weren’t really any other options. I have eaten here before and I would say the food and service is average and expensive compared to other similar places.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We spend several weeks of the year at the Rakiraki Hotel and have always enjoyed our time at the hotel. This year they have new management who I'm sure will maintain the positive familiarity of the hotel while enhancing the professionalism of staff and what the hotel offers.

Improvements are happening and we look forward to our visit in July.

Room Tip: Ask for down stairs as they don't have lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyaspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hastings
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stopped in at the Rakiraki Hotel for lunch on a trip around Veti Levu
From the time we walked in the door, the service couldn't be faulted.All the staff were so friendly and helpful. We found it hard to say goodbye when we left. We hope to return later this year

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wouldntit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

wow - what a change to the previous "resort" we stayed at! Lovely staff - friendly and happy to talk to you, clean fresh sheets on the bed and lovely clean floors. no mess swept into the corners! Air conditioning in the room, hot water shower that didnt smell of Bore water - it is lovely!
close to town and comfortable - we'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank simoneanderson44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rakiraki
3.6 mi away
Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji
69.3 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
65.5 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
57.2 mi away
Grand Pacific Hotel
Grand Pacific Hotel
#1 of 12 in Suva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
49.5 mi away
Tanoa Waterfront Hotel
Tanoa Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 7 in Lautoka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
4.4 mi away
Wananavu Beach Resort
Wananavu Beach Resort
#1 of 4 in Rakiraki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel

Property: Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel
Address: Kings Road, P.O. Box 31, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Rakiraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rakiraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hotel Rakiraki
Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel Fiji

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing