We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wananavu Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rakiraki
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AWESOME Hotel!”
Reviewed 30 July 2011

I've stayed in several Fiji resorts from 5 stars in Denarau, to some value hotels equivalent to a nice Best Western style. The Wananavu is by far my favorite!!! The drive to Rakiraki from the Nadi airport was well worth it for this gem of a hotel! The staff there defined what great customer service is all about! They have the friendliest, most accommodating, warm people I've ever experienced in a hotel, and I've stayed in some good ones. The hotel itself is amazingly beautiful and has everything you need avaiable to you right there. World class diving and snorkeling are right at the hotel. All kinds of water activities are there in the activity center. The food and menu were awesome! You'll get an authentic Fijiian dinner with entertainment right at the hotel. It's got all the options without the tourist trap feel! My wife and I will definitely return here!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yldamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    137
    36
    13
    8
See reviews for
102
301
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Great resort. Food was delicious. Fun romance package. Several other activities also offered. Friendly staff. Rooms comfortable with AC right on the beachfront. It is a 3 hour drive from the airport, so a ways out and remote from other places so you are limited to resort activites. Several young children at resort.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meganhaldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wide Bay
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

This place is quite isolated as mentioned by previous posters. We had hired a small car as we were tripping around independently, but we never in our wildest dreams thought we would need a 4WD to get to this resort, but this is what is needed if driving yourself.

So for the resort itself. It is nice enough and the staff are amazing at remembering everyone's name. The meals were quite ordinary, but edible. Given that this is Fiji we had no real complaints.

The enforced stay, the maintenance crew got our hire vehicle up to the resort so we couldn't really go out until we checked out, this was actually a blessing. We did actually stop and smell the roses!!! We went fishing, enjoyed spa treatments and attended cultural talks etc.

All in all we did enjoy our stay and would go back.......with a 4 WD!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MJT57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wananavu2010, General Manager at Wananavu Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2011
Thank you so much for your comments.
You'll be pleased to know that the road up to the resort has finally been upgraded. It is now a very pleasant & smooth ride up the final stretch. No longer is 4WD necessary!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Wananavu is simply heaven in more ways than one.

Located about 2.5hrs from Nadi (we stopped with kids on the way, and had a few road works and we did it easily in 2.5 hours) - arriving at Wananavu was like a breath of fresh air. Greeted by the beautiful Fijian staff with an ice cold juice and big smiles, our family quickly felt welcomed by the warm hospitality. Ben and Rachel (resort managers) were on stand by to greet us as well and their personal touch made the stay that much nicer. Their local knowledge, caring touch and humorous personalities make them the managers of choice! We were left with a lot of laughs!

The resort itself is the perfect size for an enjoyable and relaxing getaway. We never got a feeling of being rushed, overcrowded or simply "another number" - unlike many of the larger resorts around Denarau. In fact, the resort was about 80% capacity when we were there and we never fought for a sun-lounge, dinner table or use of the pool / other facilities. The size made things feel very private and gave a very serene atmosphere.

The food was divine on all occasions! Meals were varied, good portion sizes and rivalled that of most restaurants in Sydney or Melbourne. They produced wonderful and often unique flavours with meals like "Native lime chicken breast" and "Hoisin baked pork" or our lunchtime favourite "Cajun chicken salad". We ate a very good selection at breakfast, lunch and dinner and were asking on most meals "can we have the recipe please'!

As a new diver I was not totally aware of how amazing the diving at Wananavu was prior to my dive. We took a short trip (about 20 mins) on a powerboat to a beautiful reef spot called "Swim Through Heaven" where I was greeted with 20m + visibility, gorgeous reef structures and an abundance of sea-life. The dive crew (led by Kersten and Jeremy) made the experience relaxed and their local knowledge of the area was profound. They were also up at the Sunset Bar each night to talk to you about the next days dive or amazing things we saw on that days dive. For a more experienced diver to come here - you would very much appreciate it!

Our accommodation was extremely comfortable with both air conditioning and ceiling fans to keep the rooms cool, with the sound of the ocean making it impossible not to have a good nights sleep! The rooms were cleaned early every day (generally around 10-11am) and the house-staff were very respectful to all of our belongings.

The marina is full of fish and feeding time (with bread) whipped the fish into a frenzy near the jetty... the kids loved it! We used the kayaks to paddle around the marina and again - great for the kids. There is also a tennis court and some other great activities such as horse riding. We also did some snorkelling right at the resort. Unlike other resorts in Fiji that are surrounded with muddy water, Wananavu has stairs leading into the water on the point and the moment you put your mask on you are greeted with tropical wonders. Again - the kids got a kick out of seeing blue starfish and hundreds of brightly coloured tropical fish up close.

One of the highlights was our trip over to the island opposite Wananavu. The boat ride took about 20 minutes to get there and were were on a deserted beach with crystal clear water and white sand. It was like something out of a movie! Wananavu organised a picnic lunch for us and we spent a very relaxing day in complete privacy.

Wananavu is an amazing resort and without hesitation we would recommend it to anyone wanting to escape the large resort feel. We have stayed in the larger resorts and whilst they look wonderful with such a grand reception area - the abundance of people make them unenjoyable.

Wananavu is secluded, private, intimate and so very very relaxed. Cannot wait to get back there!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LH_Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

Our time spent at Wananavu Resort was one of the most incredible experiences of our lives. Last year Callum and I decided we wanted to get married in Fiji and after months of scouting the best possible resort, it was decided that we tie the knot at Wananavu.
Everything about this experience was unique. We arrived into Nadi from Melbourne at 6am after very little sleep, however as soon as we landed we were welcomed by our very friendly Fijian driver and our spirits were lifted immediately. The drive was about 2 and a half hours on a bumpy road, however nothing could wipe the smile off our faces. We were seeing the real Fiji.....as the sun was coming up we saw all the wee Fijian children waiting for their school bus, all the animals and let's not forget the stunning weather. As soon as we arrived we were greeted by Keleni & Grace, two lovely woman who always had smiles on their faces. I really can't rave enough about their extremely friendly and genuine staff......who managed to remember not only our names for the 8 nights we stayed, but also our 80 guests that joined us for our wedding. Unbelievable! Nothing was ever a problem for Wananavu, if we wanted something......whatever it may be they would see that our needs were met. The grounds were absolutely gorgeous & the lagoon was beautiful! You don't have the white sandy beach......but to be completely honest(being a beach buff myself)you don't need it!!!! The lagoon is dreamy to swim in and there are plenty of places to sunbath on the water! The views from this place were breath taking.....particularly during sunrise and sunset.
Rachel and Ben(the managers)were fantastic. On the day of our wedding they exceeded all expectations, there was absolutely NO stress, just pure excitement. If planning for a wedding, look no further, they are pros, believe me(I'm a wedding photographer so have seen it all). Our guests were delighted with their bures.......as they were with the food, entertainment, staff & of course the resort. Cal and I found the service outstanding and the food very tasty(and plenty of it). Sure it's not 5 star dining like you would expect from a top restaurant in Melbourne, but you shouldn't come to a rural Fiji expecting that. I really don't have a negative thing to say about Wananavu.......it is the real Fiji in all it's glory!!! Unfortunately the website doesn't do it justice(we were just fortunate to hear through friends and family). Anyway, I could keep reeling on but I think you get my point. Get your butts over there!!!! Mrs Sally Goodall :)

Room Tip: Honeymoon bures are heaven!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrssallygoodall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

This is one of the best places to stay: The staff are very helpful and friendly, the service is excellent and the food varied and well presented. The beachfront bures are very comfortable and there is a variety of activities from which to choose. The resort is small with a maximum of around 80 guests which, with the extensive well kept grounds, helps creates a relaxing environment.
Pat and Doug Hill

Room Tip: Try for the beachfront bures
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2011

First and foremost - the name suggests a beach - there is none, just a 200m strip of mudflat that's been hacked out of the mangroves either side. If you want a beach look elsewhere...

The positives:
The grounds are lovely and the views beautiful
The staff (management excluded) are very friendly

The neutral:
Long transfer (3 hours not the advertised 2 and 1/4)
Rooms OK but lacking in things like a room safe - some are a little run down
Wifi is charged for but not overly expensive

The negative
No beach
The restaurant - is poor. Service is enthusiastic but amateur, but most importantly, the food quality and variety is low. The managers make a selling point out of the fact that they use local produce, and that they change the menu daily - but this means minor variations on a theme - 4 vegetables (carrots, green beans, local spinach and aubergine), meat of the week (chicken or beef), and the local fish. That's it. Most dishes are overly seasoned, or oily. Portion sizes are stingy. Occasionally the food is appalling and we ended up sending a lot of stuff back. Of particular note was a hamburger, consisting of a stale (hard) bun, a shrivelled, overcooked and slightly off patty, and some wilted lettuce... Desserts are particularly poor, usually packet made or frozen.

We were on the meal plan that gave us 2 courses at lunch and 3 at dinner. All alcohol was extra at bar prices (not excessive but not bargain either)...

Breakfast includes a very basic buffet that never changes, and 3 menu items (eggs, pancakes or french toast) - very average...

The managers (a couple) were unhelpful - when we complained about the food there was no attempt to address the issue, instead we received a very poor response that combined excuses with inaction - typical "it's not our fault, no one else is complaining, we don't want to hear it" stuff. Of particular concern was the comment, after I'd suffered minor food poisoning- from raw chicken being left out too long- was "no one else has complained" - no effort to fix the problem mind you... The managers also treat the resort as their own playground, dominating the pool with their friends and young children on the weekend. It turned out that they were in the hut next to us, and their children were extremely noisy - this in a resort that is advertised as a romantic couples retreat.

The Fijian manager was more helpful. When we complained about the noise from the manager's children he did upgrade our room - they were at half capacity though and the
"honeymoon" huts were empty (nice though!)

Last, the place is simply quite dull - whilst it was lovely to do nothing, the fact that the resort is very small and there are very limited free activities (they do offer a few expensive trips), the place becomes claustrophobic. Even at half capacity the small pool was crowded, I'd hate to see it at high season.

Overall, we won't be heading back and I'd recommend that people looking for a high-quality resort (or simply a beach) look elsewhere. Given the price and lack of extras, we could have done a lot better.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jem41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rakiraki
2.0 mi away
Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji
73.5 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
62.7 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 8 in Denarau Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
76.8 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
73.4 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
63.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wananavu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wananavu Beach Resort

Property: Wananavu Beach Resort
Address: Volvoli Rd, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Rakiraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rakiraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wananavu Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The real Fiji! Perfect for romance; fabulous for diving excellent for culture. 34 deluxe bures nestled along the beach and amongst tropical gardens. A real island experience with mainland convenience. Located 85 scenic coastline miles from Nadi International Airport. Great food, fantastic staff, unparalleled views, world class diving & snorkeling; amazing village tours and a perfect wedding venue. This is a true Fijian experience and is, as the name suggests, Wananavu, translated loosely as Awesome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wananavu Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wananavu Beach Hotel Rakiraki
Wananavu Beach Rakiraki
Wananavu Beach Resort Fiji/Rakiraki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing