We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wananavu Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rakiraki
Certificate of Excellence
Ellensburg, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Wife and I stayed there 08 Sept to 16, 2012. Rooms (Bure), Staff, Meals, Service is top notch. Everyone is helpful and friendly. Had "Dive Package" including all meals. Prices and billing accurate. Most credit cards accepted. Recommend the airport transfer option unless car needed for personal reasons. Taxi available to Raki Raki. Dove with Reef Safari Diving/Dive Wananavu Jeremy and Kristen David (Owners/Instructors). Excellent Dive Package, equipment and dive masters/crews. Internet available in gift shop or account available. No phones/tv in rooms but tv in bar and phone in lobby. Highly recommend and will return in the near future.

Room Tip: all are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wjhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    144
    38
    14
    8
See reviews for
108
311
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

When you enter Wananavu Beach Resort you are welcomed by genuine and warm smiles. Fijians smile with their hearts. And you think to yourself, this is so beautiful. Then you see the pristine waters and your bure, and you think, oh my goodness, can it get more wonderful than this? And it does get more wonderful with each passing moment.

Wananavu's unspoiled beauty seems to attract the nicest people. It's easy to meet and enjoy other Wananavu guests. Friends and family gather and the tropical days and nights are filled with lots of laughter. Fijian musicians enrich the already idyllic surroundings. It doesn't take long to fall in love with Wananavu. So on the very last night when the wait staff joins the musicians to sing their parting guests the traditional Fijian farewell song you'll feel as if you are saying 'farewell' to your dearest friends and favorite family members...and this would be true.

Sereti, Mariani, Eta, Tina, Mia,Taniela...everyone at Wananavu Beach Resort is exceptional in their hospitality, grace and kindness.

If you are looking for Fiji's untarnished beauty, you will find it here at Wananavu Beach Resort.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12Safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Tasmania, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Our family of four - 2 adults and 2 boys aged 9 & 4, have just had the best week of our lives at Wananavu. Both our boys cried when we left, such was the friendly service and attention given to them during our stay. We felt like 'a member of the Wananavu family' for the entire duration of our stay and were so sorry to leave. We will definitely be back! Our eldest was mesmerised by the music and was very taken with the 'band boys' - a special thanks to them for their friendliness and hospitality both at the resort and on the Narara waterslide tour - their home village. Our youngest managed to leave his toy dog at the Nadi airport and resort staff did all they could to locate him and unbelievably it was transported back to him! We were so appreciative of their efforts. It is a superbly run resort, all credit to Ben & Rachel, Wananavu bustles with energy and excitement for some whilst allowing others to relax and enjoy 'Fiji time' if they so desire. Such a great combination, well done guys. We can't sing their praises highly enough, well done everyone.

Room Tip: All bures are well positioned, regardless of their location - beach front, garden view etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We travelled here in August 2012. After spending a week on Taveuni prior and loving that, then looking forward with anticipation to staying here after reading all the trip advisor comments, we were quite dissapointed in the place. Okay I guess if you are a diver, but nothing to do much unless you want to pay extra money for everything. We had a few things thrown in with our 'Getaway' deal and would of been happy to pay for other activities if we thought them worthwhile but honestly we didn't see value. It is quite out of the way and the staff seem generally to force friendliness at times. The resort is run by Australian's and apart from introducing themselves on the first night, didn't appear over friendly and seemed to spend time with private guests. This comment was repeated by other holiday makers to us as well. If you have small children, I would not suggest you go here, there is nothing much for young children to do and the pictures of the resort are decieving in terms of the beach (or lack of). I am sure divers find this place wonderful for the outer reef diving. We chose to pay for our meals as we had them which was not looked upon favourably and most times we had issues with the bill. On check out there were more problems with the bill and in the end we just paid for things which we had already paid cash for because the staff just didn't seem to understand the discrepencies. I am disappointed because we expected better especially since we had taken the 'Getaway Lounge' as being reputable for recommendations.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Five days at Wananavu provided me with weeks worth of relaxation for several reasons. The setting is very pretty, and the weather during our stay was outstanding. The bures are functional and well positioned, and offered everything we needed. Each day, there were several activities involving the water (snorkeling, diving, picnic outing to a nearby island) and later, some land based activity. The pool is beautiful with terrific views and a comfortable, private setting. The resort offered plenty of privacy with very few occasions where there were too many people. The food in the restaurant was good enough to enjoy, and while not outstanding, was good value and tasty. Every day, there was a good variety of different options along with the daily, all day options.

What really made this resort outstanding was the staff at the resort. They were incredibly friendly without being intrusive, quickly getting to know us, and providing perfect service. We asked at the diving center about going along with the divers to snorkel, and it was no problem. The charge was minimal and the snorkeling was better than what we experienced at the Great Barrier Reef (Agincourt ribbon reef).

After 5 days, we were very relaxed... So relaxed, that it was hard to contemplate coming back to civilization.

Some tips:
Don't bother with meal plan unless you are a huge eater.
The daily drink special is always fun, always good, and on for happy our prices all day long.
Steel yourself for the long ride to and from the resort from Nadi Airport. It really sucks, especially if they cram you into a too small vehicle with too many people. However, it won't kill you and it is worth it.
Take the time to do one of the tours to visit the villages nearby and experience a bit of the real Fiji. These are truly the nicest people in the world!
Do the snorkeling tour with the dive team if they have room. Awesome, and the diving staff are a lot of fun.
Have a bowl of kava every night. You'll sleep like a baby.

Room Tip: I think they're all probably good, but recommend an ocean view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oscar_Retriever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Eventhough this resort is out of the way, the effort to get there is worthwhile. I went to Wananavu for a wedding and from the minute that I arrived was made to feel most welcome by the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and I was amazed at how quickly the staff learnt everyone's name. I spent a glorious week at this peaceful and relaxing resort - drinking COCKTAILS every night. Did a couple of tours to the local villages where we were also made feel most welcome. I would love to go back again in the future and can recommend it to anyone who just wants to CHILL OUT.
Anne from Burpengary, Queensland.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

There isn't enough space to give the review I'd like. Or time in the day to type it all out.
My wife and I got married at Wananavu in July 2012. We started planning it in early 2011. After meeting Rachel (one of the resort managers) at a wedding expo in Melbourne, and paying a deposit to the resort, we flew over there for an all expenses paid weekend in the beachfront honeymoon bure.
We were treated to a fantastic weekend, and shown all the wedding sites and arrangements that the resort could do for us. Took all of 20 minutes to sell us on the idea completely.
Rachel basically managed to plan our entire wedding. We emailed her every so often to confirm details, but she was the powerhouse. We did less than I could have imagined for a wedding as beautiful as it turned out to be.
So this is all BEFORE the actual wedding, and so far: 10/10 for customer service, value, and organisation.
From there, things got even better. I could go on for hours about our wedding, and how it all came together, but here's what you need to know:
The staff were fantastic. Inviting, friendly, engaging, and all around just so enthusiastic. They made us feel like we were really at welcome.
The accommodation was beautiful. No televisions, no phones, just yourself, your friends, and Fiji.
The management were SPECTACULAR. No other word for it. Switched on, friendly, helpful and above all else; available. Rachel and Ben (who was the celebrant at the wedding) were godsends. We simply couldn't have done it without them.
Our friends and family have all sung the praises for Wananavu Beach Resort. It was the perfect week, and we were all miserable to have to get back on the bus and go home.
This resort is worth the lengthy bus trip, and I would recommend it to everyone I meet without a seconds hesitation.
It may also be worth noting that we managed a full 34 person wedding, with reception, cake, photography, ceremony, license, celebrant, the works, for less than the cost of a 30 person reception in Melbourne, Aus.
10/10. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rakiraki
2.0 mi away
Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji
69.5 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#6 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,623 reviews
62.7 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
63.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
73.4 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
69.7 mi away
Naviti Resort
Naviti Resort
#1 of 3 in Korolevu
1,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wananavu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wananavu Beach Resort

Property: Wananavu Beach Resort
Address: Volvoli Rd, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Rakiraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rakiraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wananavu Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The real Fiji! Perfect for romance; fabulous for diving excellent for culture. 34 deluxe bures nestled along the beach and amongst tropical gardens. A real island experience with mainland convenience. Located 85 scenic coastline miles from Nadi International Airport. Great food, fantastic staff, unparalleled views, world class diving & snorkeling; amazing village tours and a perfect wedding venue. This is a true Fijian experience and is, as the name suggests, Wananavu, translated loosely as Awesome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wananavu Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wananavu Beach Hotel Rakiraki
Wananavu Beach Rakiraki
Wananavu Beach Resort Fiji/Rakiraki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing