We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Resort with a World Class Dive Op”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wananavu Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rakiraki
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Awesome Resort with a World Class Dive Op”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed for about a week to do some diving in the Bligh Waters. The dive op was well run, organized, and professional. Their boats are well maintained. There are 2, a large and smaller one. The Divemasters were top notch and always on their game. Very personal, friendly, and professional. There are not many dive ops running in the Bligh Waters and we rarely ran into other divers - it was fantastic. I felt like we had the whole place to ourselves. Dive sites are loaded with soft coral and sea life.

The restaurant produced fantastic food. It's fairly evident that they have a professional chef on staff. This is a relief. Usually dive resort kitchens are hit and miss. These folks are a big hit. I was more than impressed with the food they were serving. My only knock is that the kitchen is a bit slow at lunch time when you're trying to turn around a 3rd dive for the day. But if slow means great food; then keep it up.

Rooms were nice, but not overly impressive. The grounds and views are stunning and make up for the rustic bures. As an underwater photographer, I found the rooms poorly lit, so I recommend bringing a headlamp if you need a bit more light. Also there are only a couple small bedside tables to work with. I had camera gear all over the place. It would have been nice to have a decent table and better lighting to work with. The cleanliness was OK. Bathrooms were OK, and large.

My wife used the spa and said it was just OK. She seems to think the location is in a poor spot because you can hear tanks banging at the dive shop and other people at the pool/restaurant area, so it's not quite intimate.

The best part of the resort were the people. I found everyone from the dive operation to the kitchen, to all the staff to be friendly, genuine, and happy. They made a difference in my trip. :)

Overall, I highly recommend this resort if you're looking for a top notch dive operation, great kitchen, and to meet some wonderful people!

Room Tip: Fitness Center = dive op.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shiloh55442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    389
    143
    38
    14
    8
See reviews for
108
311
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had a beachfront bure and it was everything we'd hoped for - right on the beach, great bathroom and huge comfortable bed; decking out the front looking over sand, palms and water. The staff all round were lovely - ground staff, cleaning and waiting staff - friendly, always smiling and never intrusive.

The view from the restaurant where all meals were served is amazing. The food was mostly very good. I'm not sure beef is their forte (the lamb shanks were not good but their beef kofta excellent). However, the fish and chicken dishes were fantastic, as were their vegetarian offerings. Desserts were variable but their lemon meringue pie was one of the best I've had - and there's always icecream if you can even manage dessert.

The rooms have no TV or phones - blissfully relaxing but a nuisance if you want something from the restaurant or bar or housekeeping. It's a decent walk up winding paths to the reception/restaurant area if you want anything (eg a bucket of ice). I do think the rooms should at least have a phone connection to reception for some of these basic things or in an emergency as it is a distance away, although a reasonable walk under normal circumstances - good for walking off their yummy food.

We enjoyed tripping around the islands - the water and views are spectacular. There was a surprising lack of insects - no mozzies, but fly screens on doors and windows anyway.

All in all - a wonderful relaxing 7 nights in a hidden gem.

Room Tip: Beachfront bures are dearer but worth it - the trip to and from the airport was included and the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lonsdale22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

This resort has some great positives but we found the negatives outweighed the beautiful surrounds.

Our biggest issue was in the way the resort charged. We booked in our April holiday a number of months out but were not quoted the online price (as per website). We were told that prices were going up two weeks before our stay (we were part of a wedding group). We booked with another couple and thought we booked the 2 bedroom beach front bungalow, only to get an ocean view (very partial) room for the same price as the beach front villas. The furniture and bedding in our room was very old, uncomfortable and well worn. We did see the higher quality more expensive rooms and they were a high standard, with newer comfortable furnishings.

Other considerations if booking this property is that the drive is roughly 3 hours from the airport in a bus that stinks of diesel fumes. You may be also get a 4wd which I would request based on feedback I heard.

99% of the staff are amazing, extremely friendly and very welcoming although we unfortunately have one very sour staff member most breakfast and lunches which ruined the experience as everything felt like a chore and was a topic of conversation amongst the group.

The location for a wedding is perfect and the set up, the reception with the show (various different treats) put on was spectacular which made for a very enjoyable celebration and evening.

The grounds and position of the resort are beautiful. Lovely pool area and the view from the balcony where all meals are held is spectacular - you can not ask for a much better view. Food was good quality without being great and the lovo night was excellent with dances coming in from the local village to perform traditional Fijian performances that detail the local history.

We felt that Wananavu took advantage of holding the wedding, charged top dollar for something we didn't receive including a poor quality room, the trip to and from the airport is slightly off putting, but for views and a quiet relaxing atmosphere this hotel is perfect.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Shakers56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My wife and I went there for a wedding. The room was had had was a beach front bure. Many places claim that title, but this room was truly on the beach front about 20 metres from the water's edge. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was very large and well appointed. The grounds around our bure were kept immaculately clean. There were hammocks and plenty of deck chairs. If you are not a beach person it has a great pool situated near the main building area. The pool was divided into two so that young children could paddle with safety. The rooms are far enough away from the pool area for there to be no noise. The food was really nice and the service in the restaurant was excellent. One thing I liked was that you did not need to tip every time you did something. You could contribute at a box near the office. A great idea that could be copied by a lot of other establishments. The seafood in the restaurant was fresh and the fish and chips were really good. I thought the drinks were quite reasonably priced and the two bar men were excellent. Even the non-alcoholic drinks were refreshing. There are a number of other activities that you can take part in. My wife went on a local village tour which she really enjoyed. Our trip and lunch on a nearby island was a really nice and relaxing day. We are not into diving, but those of the wedding party that were seemed to enjoy themselves. The wedding ceremony and entertainment were really good and the dancing and fire dancers were spectacular. It is a nice quiet resort with a very peaceful setting. The only problem was that the Wifi (which was reasonably priced) was a bit inconsistent. The reception desk were always very helpful with requests. The staff in the resort were very friendly and always greeted you warmly. The dancing and singing at the night function was really good and their voices were really nice. Overall it was a great place to go for a wedding and a peaceful place for a rest.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a beach front bure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed at Wananavu with our children, the staff were very helpful and the accommodation was clean and tidy. The rooms were quite a walk away from the main complex, however this added to the experience and ensured our children slept well. The gardens are beautiful and the facilities are wonderful. The pool area has two portions one for smaller children and another main part of the pool. Great for young children.
The food was lovely and we were able to get something to please everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytravelspeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

This resort is a little further away from the major cities of Viti Levu but a good place to get away from it all.

The resort was really quiet when we were there so it felt like we had it all to ourselves. its a huge property with a beautiful torquoise lagoon to swim in. The main property could do with an upgrade to keep its full 4 star rating but otherwise its a good 3.5 star property.

great dive and fishing venue with some of the best reefs in the world to run your eyes over.

the property is 3 hrs from Lautoka and 4hrs from nadi.

Room Tip: Maybe beachfront, we had an oceanview but I wouldn't rate it highly
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Othello, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Wananavu in particular, but Fiji is a truly beautiful part of the world. The staff at the resort were very helpful and courteous. The food was great. The view from the resort restaurant was phenomenal. The rooms were comfortable and clean. I would put the actual rooms in the 2.5 star category, but clean. We weren't there to have all of the amenities of home. The wifi was spotty, but then again, we weren't there to be connected with the world happenings. The diving was very good. We saw some incredible wildlife. One day we saw to large octopi mating. Each dive had some incredibly beautiful reefs, but a lot of dead reefs in-between. The reefs that were colorful had a lot of hard and soft corals and tons of smaller colorful fish. I certainly would go back to Wananavu and recommend it to anyone that wants to get away from it all and/or get in some great diving.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rakiraki
2.0 mi away
Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji
69.5 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#6 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,621 reviews
62.7 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
63.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
69.7 mi away
Naviti Resort
Naviti Resort
#1 of 3 in Korolevu
1,913 reviews
73.4 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wananavu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wananavu Beach Resort

Property: Wananavu Beach Resort
Address: Volvoli Rd, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Rakiraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rakiraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wananavu Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The real Fiji! Perfect for romance; fabulous for diving excellent for culture. 34 deluxe bures nestled along the beach and amongst tropical gardens. A real island experience with mainland convenience. Located 85 scenic coastline miles from Nadi International Airport. Great food, fantastic staff, unparalleled views, world class diving & snorkeling; amazing village tours and a perfect wedding venue. This is a true Fijian experience and is, as the name suggests, Wananavu, translated loosely as Awesome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wananavu Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wananavu Beach Hotel Rakiraki
Wananavu Beach Rakiraki
Wananavu Beach Resort Fiji/Rakiraki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing