We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wananavu Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rakiraki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed at Wananavu for 3 nights after staying a couple of nights at one of the Denarau resorts. We wish we could have spent all our time at Wananavu. It's a 2 hr drive from. Nadi Int'l, but worth the trip. The staff are warm and sincere and the atmosphere relaxed and friendly. The views are beautiful, especially sunset from the restaurant deck. Every evening they had a live local band which were very good. On our 3rd (last) night they had a Our bure in the beach was wonderful, with comfortable hammocks right on our door step. The room was clean and comfortable. We had to leave very early to get to the airport and they arranged a taxi who was dead on time and packed us a breakfast to-go.
Thanks Sereti and all the other staff for a wonderful, short but sweet stay.

Room Tip: The beach front bure was lovely. The ocean view rooms looked like a great option too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (611)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

256 - 262 of 611 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

This was were we stayed our first week of our trip. Loved the remoteness of the facility and the fantastic staff who really wanted to be there and help you. food and staff are fantastic beyond words. diving and dive staff are top notch. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Love the no tipping policy, at the end of your stay there is a box at the front desk you can put tip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teresa_watergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We booked an Ocean view bure which was on the hillside one row from the beach, the view was awesome even from the generous bed. Lighting was good in the unit, enough that you could read at night. The interior was rustic, no bugs though. The bathroom was modern and tiled. good shower pressure most of the time. We were upgraded to an ocean view honeymoon suite on our last night which was very nice of the management. This was a lovely private suite with a plunge pool and lovely outside area with decking and loungers. It was quite windy during our stay and I think this could be a feature of this coastline. The food was good and the staff very friendly. We made use of the tennis court which was in good condition (wear insect repellent). My husband did a dive which he enjoyed, great diving in this area - it wasn't a great boat trip though due to the chop. Water wasn't warm enough to tempt me and the bed is shallow and exposed to the wind, take your reef shoes. There is a reef close to shore that could be used for snorkelling if the wind dropped. Transfer from Nadi is 2.5 hours so be prepared. Overall a relaxing time and

Room Tip: Our room was very quiet (12), however I think most rooms would be. Garden view rooms are definitely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Ali_from_Tauranga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I booked a garden view bure, and was upgraded to an ocean view when we arrived, at no additional cost. I plan to go back in the future and will book Ocean view next time- it was really spectacular! Impressive care has been taken with the design of the resort and bures- no bugs in the room, spaced well apart, ability to regulate air flow in the rooms with screened windows and fans, and A/C if you need it. Staff were so lovely- front desk, scuba diving, restaurant service, and massage. They had a house band (3-4 guys) nearly every day, and they were great. I loved the complimentary breakfast every morning, with the best pineapple I've ever had. We had our choice of lounging options- pool, beach, hammocks, and marina. We rented a car in Nadi and drove here, and it was about 2.5 hours. The last leg is on a gravel road.There's not much to do in the area apart from the resort activities and sleeping, eating, and relaxing, so we never left.

Room Tip: Get the ocean view- totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Margaret J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Nicely situated on a hillside with a beach overlooking the ocean (including the direction of the sunset).

Very friendly and helpful staff.

When we visited the resort went from almost empty to half full but the staff provided the same friendly genuine service and maintained the same "real Fiji" atmosphere.

It is a place to go on a quiet family holiday, as a starting point for world-class scuba diving or pure relaxation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frstoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The Wananavu Beach Resort is a beautiful oasis on the north coast of Viti Levu. Also known as the Sunshine Coast. This resort is well maintained and operated. The Fijian staff are all amazing! Always happy and willing to help. The dinning was very good!! The atmosphere is excellent! I would recommend this hotel to any one looking for a genuine Fijian experience. I hope to go back soon!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had a lovely 6 night stay at Wananavu resort in Fiji. We stayed there after spending 7 nights in the Yasawas. I was glad that I had experienced the islands first, as that experience seemed much more like the “real Fiji” and Wananavu seemed more like a medium-sized resort. Nonetheless, after 7 nights in a very rustic setting on a very small island, I was glad for the extra comforts that the Wananavu offers. The staff was extremely friendly and attentive. The rooms were very nice and spacious –we were upgraded from a garden view to a beach view. The resort is set up far above the beach so you don’t really have the experience of being right down on the beach most of the time, but you do have beautiful views and the sense of overlooking the ocean from most vantage points. The food in the restaurant was quite good, offered a lot of variety, and was reasonably priced. I don’t recommend the meal plan unless you will really eat all the courses. With the meal plan you get a 2 course lunch and 3 course dinner. We found that we usually wanted only main courses for lunch and then maybe sharing a starter + each having a main at dinner. So we didn’t spend near as much paying ala carte as we would have on the meal plan. I really enjoyed the happy hour at sunset with live music, torch lighting ceremony and great cocktails. I highly recommend any of the tours and/or cultural talks with the older gentleman who staffs the activity bure. He was one of my favorite people I met in Fiji! He was so enthusiastic about sharing Fijian history and culture with us. We attended his herbal medicine , coconut presentation, and Fijian cultural talks. My husband did 5 days of diving and found it to be great but not any better than the Yasawas. The best diving is far out so the boat will only go out if conditions allow. It was quite windy the whole time we were here. The staff and boat were very professional. We also made use of the pool and the tennis courts daily. The tennis courts were quite nice and you can borrow decent equipment if you don’t want to bring your own. Lastly, the cultural tours were great but often didn't have the min 4 people so we didn't get to do all the ones we watned. Most smaller resorts on the islands don’t have a pool and it was nice to have the option in case you don’t want to swim in the salt water. I would definitely recommend this resort, but if you really want the island experience, then I would go to the Yasawas. This is a great resort if you want to stay on the mainland.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are perfect- they have a nicer view than beach front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jms72SanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rakiraki
2.0 mi away
Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji
69.5 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#1 of 4 in Korolevu
2,730 reviews
76.8 mi away
Shangri-La's Fijian Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
63.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
73.4 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
69.7 mi away
Naviti Resort
Naviti Resort
#2 of 4 in Korolevu
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wananavu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wananavu Beach Resort

Address: Volvoli Rd, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Rakiraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Rakiraki
Price Range: £76 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wananavu Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The real Fiji! Perfect for romance; fabulous for diving excellent for culture. 34 deluxe bures nestled along the beach and amongst tropical gardens. A real island experience with mainland convenience. Located 85 scenic coastline miles from Nadi International Airport. Great food, fantastic staff, unparalleled views, world class diving & snorkeling; amazing village tours and a perfect wedding venue. This is a true Fijian experience and is, as the name suggests, Wananavu, translated loosely as Awesome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wananavu Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wananavu Beach Hotel Rakiraki
Wananavu Beach Rakiraki
Wananavu Beach Resort Fiji/Rakiraki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing