We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Safari Island Lodge
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Rakiraki
Reviewed 11 November 2012

What a brilliant location for diving, snorkelling or just relaxing.
The staff greet you by name and are extremely helpful.
Whilst I don't dive the snorkelling off the beach was specular. My husband said the diving was the best he had experienced. The diver instructors were professional and knew what they were talking about - well done Michelle and Clint.
We will certainly recommend this venue
This resort is a credit to the owners Stephanie and Warren who along with the dive instructors and other staff have an island resort well worth visiting.

Room Tip: The beach front rooms are quiet once you get used to the waves on the beach - surrounded by trees th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2012

Getting there late, 5.00pm at the Nady Airport, made the 3 hour bus trip a little bit to long. It was well off set by the short trip in an over sized tinny skippered by Warren the owner manager of the resort. We had no moon but an exelent clear sky and the view of the stars made us quickly for get the trip before.
A lovely meal awaited us at the island presented by Stephany who is a great hostess.
In to the Beach side Burow followed by a rest full sleep in a comfortable queen size bed. Whilst the accomodation is not 4 or 5 star, it is very comfortable and what a lovely suprise, NO TV.
4 off us, over 60, did not do what people normaly do on this island. We did not use a sail board or kite and neither did we go diving. We just chilled out. The meals ( you don't have any choice) were all good, tasty and plenty off it. Most importent, THE BEER WAS ALLWAYS COLD. There was also a good selection of white and red wine.
All the other guest staying there at the same as us, did all the sport offered and had a blast as the wind was blowing most times.
The rest of the staff, Yasper, Clint and Michelle allways were on hand to make our stay a very enjoyable one.
For any person wishing to do these sporting activities as number 1 during their holiday, Go for for it, as I don't think you could find a more suitable place.
Well done and thanks to Warren and Stephany.
Klaus and Lyn

Room Tip: If you don't like, or can't climb a hill side or stairs, stay at the beach front Burrows. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Generally a good facility in a great location for water sports enthusiasts with good top end accommodation but atrocious at the lower end! Warren and Steph were good helpful hosts.
We were attracted initially by a 'Scoopon' deal of 4 days at $A239 for up to 4 people in a Beach Front 'Bure' with ensuite. However for some our group of 19 active seniors it was a terrible disappointment when we discovered the details of the new 'deal'. We were advised that the Scoopon deal had timed out and WE DID overlook noting the changed cost basis - 'per person' [twice the cost]
Our four single women were in 2 bunk beds in an access corridor to the toilets with virtually no ventilation whilst the single male had a bed in the upper landing of the stairs above the main kitchen - no privacy at all!
The worst accommodation was a 'couple room' with only a double bed and about 800 mm space on two sides - no place to hang clothes or place luggage - their ensuite was downstairs which was used by the staff and guests from the central dining room - for $A478 [$A119 /day].
The 'meal deal' at $A55 per person / day was high but the food was good. Coffee, tea, water etc were available at most times.
The good range of water sport equipment was free to us - boats trips to the excellent outer reefs etc were $F45 [~$A30].
It's a 2 1/2 hr drive and short boat ride to the Island.
The accommodation issues aside, we did enjoy our time at Safari.

Room Tip: The Beach Front Bures and next level of accommodation with shared facilities were good - others good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mavonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Thank you Warren and Steph for a great holiday. We were a family of four, children 2 and 4 years old, and we had a fantastic time at Safari Lodge. The kite instruction was great, it was wonderful to get up on the board on day three. Great facilities for beginner kite surfers. Our children had a wonderful time, thanks to Warren and Steph who made us feel part of their extended family, and thanks also to the Fijian staff who helped look after the children, at no extra cost to us. The beachfront bures were great, and the meals wonderful. We thoroughly recommend this place as a family holiday destination, and also for beginner kite surfers who want to spend some concentrated time getting better at kiting. From conversations with other guests, the scuba diving was fantastic, and certainly the instructors and dive master impressed us with their friendliness.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malene_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

I stayed for 10 days
The place is very beautiful and the reason that I didn't move to another place was that I loved it.
A fantastic place to relax and to do outdoor activities.
I decided to do the rescue course (4days).
Thanks to the help and dedication of Michelle I was able to do the things she accepted to do and more.......
After finishing the course I did some fun diving at some amazing dive sites.
Thanks to Michelle, Clint and Jesper I felt very safe.
These people love what the do!!!!!
The food was excellent and so was the dedication of Warren and Staff/Steph to give you an unforgatable time.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
Thank rstroomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Great location with a relaxed atmosphere.
The diving was very well run with some fantastic locations and people to hang out with.
Cold beer and great food, what more can you ask for.
Thanks Warren, Steph and the Team !!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antfromnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We would like to thank Warren, Steph and Everyone at Safari Lodge for turning on the wind and making The 2012 ZU FIJI so amazing!! 25knots+ everyday, 30 degrees, beautiful reefs to explore, epic down winders and cold beers at the end of the day … living the dream. “DON’T HOLD BACK” We saw Megan, a complete beginner transform into an independent, stylish and determined Kiter. Donald reach new heights (captured on film, check out his boat jumps) and CP tick off all the goals on his list (he even did the yoga). Also a big thank you to Clint, Michelle and Jasper for teaching us to Scuba Dive and taking us to some breathe taking spots underwater! Look forward to seeing you all next year and hope this excites everyone else to get on board and join us!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ClaireLynch42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rakiraki
3.1 mi away
Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji
6.2 mi away
Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel
Tanoa Rakiraki Hotel
#3 of 4 in Rakiraki
4 reviews
1.9 mi away
Wananavu Beach Resort
Wananavu Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Rakiraki
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 mi away
The Beehive
The Beehive
#3 of 4 in Rakiraki
2 reviews
32.1 mi away
Vatia Beach Eco Resort
80.7 mi away
Robinson Crusoe Island Resort
Robinson Crusoe Island Resort
#1 of 1 in Likuri Island
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safari Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Island Lodge

Address: Nananu-i-Ra Island, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Rakiraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Rakiraki
Price Range: £21 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Safari Island Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fiji's Kitesurf, Windsurf, Dive & Fishing Ultimate ResortWelcome to island paradise!Safari Lodge lies on a pristine beach on the remote Nananu-i-ra island in the South Pacific Ocean. These tropical waters provide perfect conditions for our watersports focused resort. We are a quiet friendly boutique resort with a maximum of 40 guests and a variey of accommodation options.Facing the consistent trade winds, Nananu-I-Ra Island is a wind-sports paradise! April to January provide steady 15-30 Knot winds, perfect for Windsurfing and Kitesurfing! All year round we also offer PADI Scuba Diving - Come and Dive the amazing Bligh Waters and Vatu-I-Ra Passage - breathtaking National Geographic quality dive sites! Sailing, Kayaking, Snorkeling, Fishing adventures and Stand Up Paddling (SUP) are also available every day!Our accommodation varies and includes Beachfront Bures, Ocean View Villas, Private Rooms and bunk style dorm rooms for groups only meters from the beach. We offer solar hot water showers, 24hr power & Wi-Fi 3G speed Internet access is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Safari Island Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Island Hotel Rakiraki
Safari Island Lodge Fiji/Rakiraki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing