We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rakiraki
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect relaxing holiday”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

9 of us stayed at the Voli Voli Beach Resort. Originally we were booked into the Whananavu Resort for 3 nights but they canned our booking in favour of a wedding. Thank God!!! Voli Voli Beach Resort was way better. Had a peek at the other one and no regrets here!! Plenty of activities offered all through the day. Relax around a great pool and grab a nice cocktail.. Catch up with the owners as they are all good! The meals were great and so was the entertainment.. The Bures were awesome and all had magnificent views of sun rises and sunsets.. Will definitely be going back. None of us are divers and that is what the resort specializes in but it didn't matter as there was enough to do or not to do without diving!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FijiDiver_9, Owner at Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Bula Vinaka Mal,

Thank you for your review of Volivoli Beach Resort, It was a pleasure to have you all here at the resort! I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I am very happy to hear you will be back. Perhaps next time 4 days will be better so that we can fish, dive and of course have a raspberry or two.

Take care and once again thank you for your review.

Kind regards

Nick Darling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    128
    43
    11
    4
See reviews for
94
175
40
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

10 Days of fabulous diving (16 divers fron Perth , Western Australia), returning to a beautiful resort after a day out on the sea. Food was excellent with locally caught seafood always a speciality.
Accommodation was set in tropical gardens beautifully maintained and the rooms were spacious and kept immaculate. At sunset the view from the rooms was inspiring as the sun went down ov the sea.
As for the people at the resort, they were genuinely warming and made our trip extra special. Music each night set a relaxing tone to the holiday as did the 'Cava'.
If you need a relaxing holiday, away from the maddening crowd and meeting great locals this is the experience for you - highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for the twin rooms over looking the sea - worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieDiver53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FijiDiver_9, Owner at Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Bula Vinaka,

Thank you for your review of Volivoli Beach Resort. It is always nice to hear your feedback especially from someone in a group who is returning for the second year in a row with a much larger group.

I look forward to meeting you all (and the extras) again next year.

The Kava and the Fijian music do have the effect on people which creates the perfect environment for a relaxing evening.

Take care and kind regards

Nick Darling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I'm an experienced diver and when my live-aboard vacation came to an abrupt end because the boat broke I reached out to Volivoli from the Solomon Islands. They instantly set about to assisting me in making alternate arrangements long distance which was a challenge. Geraldine made my reservations and arranged my pickup at the airport, where I was met by my driver Henry who was terrific. The process was seamless and I was delighted with my room which had a great view of the ocean. Sunrises and sunsets from the balcony were fanastic. A stickler for cleanliness, everything from the rooms to the food at Volivoli was very clean. When the owner Nick, heard about my dashed live-aboard experience, he arranged for a 3 tank boat dive with lunch. This was a special treat as the knowledgeable dive staff took us to beautiful sites which also included the discovery of a new spot which we named Anenome Palace - for obvious reasons. I have photos to prove it! The Ra Divers Boat is highly recommended as it is large with comfortable padded bench cushions and has a head - important for those long rides out to the Bligh Waters! For this alone - I'd recommend Ra Divers. Post dive snacks and drinks were also served - Thanks Bob. As a solo traveller I appreciated the staff's help and attention, but must also mention that the friendly atmosphere extended to the other hotel guests who were equally delightful and friendly!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FijiDiver_9, Owner at Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Bula Vinaka Laila

Thank you very much fro your review and it really was our pleasure to help you out with what could have been a real disaster of a trip for you.

The photo's you took were stunning! I hope that you are able to come back again soon, perhaps on the SY FIji Siren which is fully operational now...

Take care and kind regards

Nick Darling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

My wife and I are avid warm water divers, are both very experienced. We stayed at VoliVoli Beach resort in Aug/Sept 2013 for 8 day dive vacation.

We stayed in one of the studio vales- super comfortable- clean and roomy.
Food was great
Dive staff on the boats friendly, as all of the staff were around the resort.

Overall- with high expectations we were not disappointed in any way.

Room Tip: Ask for the studio vale
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank defiantnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FijiDiver_9, Public Relations Manager at Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Bula

Thank you for your review , we are really pleased to see that you found your stay enjoyable and the resort met your expectations . Great to see you experienced some good diving . We are very fortunate to have many truly memorable dive sites with in easy reach . We do believe our boat/ dive staff are excellent and it is alway good to have that confirmed by happy guests. We will make sure they are aware of your feedback .
Vinaka - we hope to see you return soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nesoya, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I stayed at Volivoli beach resort last january, for the second time, and I absolutely love it. The rooms were spotless, and the staff are very open and friendly.

They have a beach-style restaurant by the reception that serves a variety of great dishes for all meals during the day. The poolside bar is a great place to chill on a sunny day if you are not going scuba-diving.

The resort also gives access to great diving opportunities if you are after soft corals and plethora of colorful fish.

The resort is placed on a hillside by the coast. The entire grounds are kept with a luscious, well-kept gardens and pams.

Room Tip: THe Vale Balavu rooms come with two king size beds, ac, a large bathroom with shower, and more impor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FijiDiver_9, Owner at Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Bula Vinaka,

Thank you very much for your review of Volivoli Beach Resort. It is always a pleasure to host guests from as far away as Norway.

Your review of Volivoli really is appreciated as trip advisor is such a great tool for researching your next holiday destination.

Kind regards

Nick Darling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Fantastic location ..the best snorkeling, diving, food, sunsets, staff ...everything was perfect. Great villas. You can relax and mingle with other guests or enjoy your private holiday. Thank you to Jenny, Sheba, Sasha, Vulo, Va, Amit, Zelda, Soni, Paula, Solo etc etc for making us feel welcome and looking after us during our stay. Nick you do have a great team working for you. We are so happy we had the opportunity to discover this side of Fiji. We will be back ;)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luca4121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FijiDiver_9, Owner at Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Bula Vinaka,

Thank you for your review of Volivoli Beach Resort. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and the activities you took part in.

The staff really are the back bone of any operation so thank you very much fro your comments of which I will forward to them all.

We look forward to your return.

Kind regards

Nick Darling
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed in volivoli with a group of friends. it didn't take much to make us happy, but our experience was very disappointing.
starting from the room, beds were uncomfortable and the water stunk.
service was just aweful - endless waiting for someone to take care of us, orders lost and a general feeling of disinterest.
Most importantly, the facility does not really have a beach.
GO SOMEWHERE ELSE IN FIJI.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucaAdvis0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FijiDiver_9, Public Relations Manager at Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Bula Luca

We do encourage all reviews of our property as knowing our guests experience can only help us to improve future guests experience. You have mentioned several things that you did not find to your satisfaction . I am sorry to read that you did not find your bed comfortable , A Bed's comfort can be a matter of perspective from guest to guest .
We were surprised by your comments about high prices. When compared to resorts throughout Fiji . The prices for meals and drinks at Volivoli Beach is an absolute bargain! For only FJD$70 (AUD$38 or Euro $30 ) per day, you can get a FULL meal plan. Equally our room rates are very competitively priced. We will take on board your comments regarding the service levels but perhaps the relaxed Fijian atmosphere is not what you are seeking on your holiday . Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rakiraki
69.1 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#6 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,621 reviews
72.4 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
61.3 mi away
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
Hilton Fiji Beach Resort & Spa
#5 of 8 in Denarau Island
3,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Wananavu Beach Resort
Wananavu Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Rakiraki
593 reviews
78.5 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
62.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Resort Fiji Denarau Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji

Property: Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji
Address: Volivoli Road, Rakiraki, Viti Levu, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Rakiraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rakiraki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Volivoli Beach Resort is a dedicated SSI and PADI dive Resort on Viti Levu, Fiji. It is owned and operated by the Darling family, 16 year veterans of the area. Dive facilities are world class and on site. All accommodations have ocean views. Nearby Bligh Waters are renowned for an amazing display of fish, pelagic creatures and soft corals. Guests enjoy snorkelling, kayaking, beach volleyball, fishing, village culture and sunset cruises. The Darling philosophy is simple - “We spend time talking to our guests, whether on a dive trip or over a cold beer,” says Nick, “This helps us fine tune the Volivoli experience.” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Volivoli Beach Hotel Rakiraki
Volivoli Beach Resort Fiji Rakiraki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing