We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”
Review of Abiquiu Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abiquiu Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Abiquiu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The Abiquiu Inn is attractive and comfortable, but the real surprise was the food at their restaurant. Breakfast and dinner choices were both outstanding. I highly recommend the chocolate piñon tart. I've never had a better dessert. No exaggeration. The dining area is filled with fantastic artwork. Staff was friendly and helpful. Beds were comfortable, rooms were a nice size, kiva fireplaces were a nice touch. The back door of our room led to a pretty, shared courtyard with seating, a fountain and a pergola. Unfortunately, the Mosquitos were too thick and aggressive for us to enjoy it for long. We plan to visit again next summer for a longer stay, and next time we'll bring our own bug spray.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cmarsh42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2012

Except for Santa Fe, I spent more $ on this room than for any on my trip to New Mexico. Alas, I was not very happy with my stay. Three complaints: 1) mosquitoes in the room; 2) the fire alarm was disconnected and in the drawer, and 3) worst of all I was ripped off on the phone. They did remove charges from my bill for 2 calls that didn't go through (i.e. I got a recording about checking the number) for $.99 each (gee thanks!), but then I was charged more than $9 for 2 very short calls although there is NO cell phone coverage at the Inn. The calls were to a California area code although the phone was but a short distance away, which I point out because the world has changed since these outdated "policies" for charges were written. HELLOOOO! Today, we don't use calling cards that enable us to pay just $.60 per call from the Inn and it seems likely that the calls I made were free for the Inn, at least as is the case with most residential land-line phone service. Equally annoying, I was asked my opinion of my stay, wrote the above, and received no response.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BizBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We spent two nights here last week so as to spend a couple of days kayaking and fishing on the lake, and enjoyed our stay. Yes, it's buggy this time of year, but like another reviewer we were glad they didn't spray. Yet, I would have strongly supported the use of a little ant bait around the property! In spite of this, our casita stayed bug-free, with help from an overpriced can of Deep Woods Off bought at Bode's.

When I made the reservation a week prior, I was thrilled to get a 25% discount offered, so booked an upgraded room that supposedly had a private patio. The unit was sort of motel-like, but ok, but the private patio was a few pieces of flagstone with no furniture. When we checked in they were offering the same room for around $60. less, and would not allow us the lower rate since we were already within the 24 hour cancel period. Supposedly they had a large group cancel last minute, so the decision to offer this special was a last-minute deal. However, when I spoke with the manager, she upgraded us to a one bedroom casita, so we were pretty satisfied. Yet, a person walking in off the street would have still gotten a better deal. That said, I don't recommend this if a reader is determined to stay here, as they often fill up with large tour groups coming to see the O'Keefe home.

Since our upgraded casita had a kitchen, we were sorry to have not brought more food. Yet, the restaurant was good, and surprisingly affordable for the locale.

Previous reviewer commented about the lack of good housekeeping. Our place was pretty good, but could have benefited from a deep cleaning. This was particularly true on our screened-in porch which looked like it hadn't been cleaned all season.

We will be back. Kayaking at Abiguiu Lake was spectacular, and this sure beats camping! Plus it's really the only place to stay between Espanola and Chama.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Every time I have stopped either with my family or on a tour of New Mexico, the food has been superb.
Nice break on your travels to the many attractions that new Mexico has to offer.
Fall is so pretty here in New Mexico that this is a great stop in the fall or any time of the year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2012

I agree fully with previous reviews. The location and food were great. We had room 17 and was as dirty and bug filled as camping outdoors. If they can get the rooms cleaned up and de-loused, I think they would have a winning place to stay in a very lovely part of the country

Room Tip: View your room and make sure it is clean and mosquito ant and spider free before you accept it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelinbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Stayed in the room that had two queens and back opens up to a peaceful landscape. Went to Ojo Caliente for the mud baths and ate dinner and stayed one night at the Abiquiu Inn. I booked the rooms for the trip so I already knew it was going to be nice but the three other people I were with were loving it. Rooms are tastefully done and location is beautiful and peaceful. The two queen rooms are also very large and had the best beds and pillows. The owners are clearly involved in making sure your stay is fantastic. Everyone was very nice and the food was some of the best we had on our trip. I am glad they don't spray for bugs and ants like someone complained about. Put on your own bug spray. They even sell an organic one in the gift shop which I actually bought because I live in Florida. The ghost ranch and Georgia O'Keefe are close by and Ojo Caliente is not to far if you want to soak. Wish we had booked longer but there is always a next time.

Room Tip: the two queen rooms have plenty of room for four people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlbaker55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

After reading such positive reviews on tripadvisor, I was surprised to find at the Abiquiu Inn: dusty lamps, having to climb behind the bed to plug in a lamp, mosquitoes all day that were impossible to keep out of the room, marks on walls from swatted bugs, and no housekeeping during our two-night stay. But the location is wonderful, and it's great to have the restaurant on-site with really good food. (Pinon pancakes at breakfast and tamale cakes at dinner were delicious!) Restaurant staff were friendly and helpful. Full gift shops with beautiful jewelry...and bug spray. Be aware: front desk has limited hours. Arrive before 9:00.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RevCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abiquiu
20 mi away
Santa Claran Hotel Casino
3.9 mi away
Ghost Ranch Education & Retreat Center
19.6 mi away
Inn at the Delta
Inn at the Delta
#1 of 2 in Espanola
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abiquiu Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abiquiu Inn

Address: 21120 Highway 84, PO Box 120, Abiquiu, NM 87510
Region: United States > New Mexico > Abiquiu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Abiquiu
Price Range: £112 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abiquiu Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abiquiu Inn is perfectly situated in the beautiful Chama River Valley close to the Georgia O'Keeffe Home & Studio. The casitas are lovely with cozy fireplaces & breathtaking views. Explore the magnificent landscape made famous by Georgia O'Keeffe. Cafe Abiquiu features a delightful New Mexican menu & AZUL Gift Store offers pottery, paintings and jewelry created by local & international artists. Wine and beer served and small meeting spaces available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Abiquiu Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abiquiu Hotel Abiquiu
Inn Abiquiu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing