We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Romantic Getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Abiquiu, New Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marianne...
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
“Romantic Getaway”
Reviewed 10 December 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Casita Chuparosa is a romantic oasis in the beautiful Abiquiu desert. We awakened each morning to to see the painted pink desert from our bedroom window and we went to sleep each evening by firelight after enjoying the private hot tub under the stars. Jeff and Marilyn were a most gracious host and hostess - both readily available but never obtrusive. The refrigerator was stocked with fresh eggs and butter and organic half & half and Jeff supplied the casita with some wonderfully aromatic coffee beans that he had brought back from Panama. Our two horses resided comfortably in a large fenced in area adjacent to the resident mare, two llamas, and three miniature donkeys. We enjoyed riding out from the casita and also trailered our horses to nearby trails that wound through canyons and along the river. Whole Foods is less than an hour away in Sante Fe, and since the casita's kitchen is so well-equipped, we enjoyed cooking and dining at home every evening. Bravo to both Jeff and Marilyn for creating such a beautifully appointed guest home and for being the perfect host and hostess. Gracious, Marianne

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view, the hottub, and the fireplace in the bedroom.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2012
Thank you Marianne for your kind words. Also many thanks for being the perfect guests! We sure enjoyed having all of you stay at our Casita. We so much enjoyed meeting both of you and your beautiful Horses. It was nice to see you both ride off into the Sunset on Butch and Bella.
Wishing all of you a wonderful Holiday and how wonderful to would be if you can return sometime. Holiday Hugs from Jeff & Marilyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4vt1
Montpelier, Vermont
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful in every possible way”
Reviewed 21 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Our stay at the Casita was a delicious magical mixture of tranquility, art, humor, and luxury in one of the most beautiful areas on earth, northern New Mexico. If we had been the king and queen of a large country we couldn't have been treated more royally. Yet there is nothing pretentious about the casita. The wooden floors creak, and you have to wash your own dishes, but if these present difficulties for you, you don't deserve a stay here.
Imagine waking to the moon setting on the pinion-dotted desert hills while the sun rises. Yes, the sky is that big. Imagine soaking in a hot tub under the stars and hearing the ancient music of coyotes far off in the distance. Savor breakfast under a red sunshade in the front patio; cook dinner over a grill in the back patio with a view of the famous Pedernal in the distance. Your dog will be safe in the fenced yard. The abundant plantings are perfect xeriscape, spare and beautiful. The air is sweeter here, the sky more luxuriously splashed with sunset colors. Inside the casita is comfortable, informal, very northern-New-Mexico style: rugs, blankets, paintings, objects d'art, books, pillows, unfinished furniture, ceiling fans. Vibrant colors are everywhere. Textures and shapes please the eye and complement each other.
The Casita kitchen is more fully stocked than my own. Everything, and I mean everything, that you will need to cook the most elaborate breakfast is here for you, including fresh-roasted coffee. Dinner is not provided, and the casita is five miles or more from the nearest grocery store and restaurant, so bring something to cook for dinner. You'll find that all the spices, oils, grains, vinegar, salts, peppers, and sweeteners are here. You'll have every kind of pot, pan, bowl, and utensil that you'll ever need. The dishware is Fiesta, of course, sunny colors, big mugs, nice fat plates. The bathroom has every possible soap, lotion, potion, emollient, and towel.
If we could have let go of the rest of our life, we would have stayed forever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perfect integration of hospitality, aesthetics, and geography
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStar...
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“A wonderful retreat from the fast paced world”
Reviewed 16 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

There are too many great things to say and I hardly know where to start. I stayed her for four nights this Fall with two girlfriends. The casita is two bedrooms and one bath and very spacious. It is an hour from Santa Fe on mostly a country highway (not fast traveling). A great base to explore this part of the state.

The casita is attached, duplex style, to the owner's home with a separate entrance. The owners are very discreet and don't insert themselves into your stay unless you want them to (which you probably will as they are super nice and very informative). The house is decorated in an extreme Southwest style but manages to still be tasteful. There are vistas everywhere, inside and out. The beds were very comfy and there's a closet of pillows and extra blankets and towels to choose from. Toiletries are provided from local lavender farm and are great! The hot tub is amazing for star gazing. The animals (burros, horse and llamas) are far enough away to avert any smell or noise issues. The owner has several dogs and they are a little noisy at times, especially if you're in the guest room, but it's really not loud. The road in is dirt on the last part of it and not graded well...... 4x4 is a good idea. No good market nearby, but there is a WalMart in Espanola which is not too far. The owners think of absolutely EVERYTHING you could want or need in this home. I would LOVE to stay here again and again. Many thanks to Jeff and Marilyn, the hosts of the Casita de Chuparosa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too many things to decide but probably the owners hospitality and attention to detail.
Liked least: The floors creak so much that it's difficult for one person to get up without waking the others.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2012
Lori- We really enjoyed all of you wonderful gals staying at our Casita! Always smiling, laughing and having a good time! Thank you so much for choosing to stay at our place and we sure hope you can come back soon! Thank you for all of your kind words in this review you wrote about our place.
Just wanted to let you know, the dirt road going up to the house has just been regraded and is smooth with no ruts or holes. So no need for 4WD, unless you want to bring or rent a 4WD to explore Abiquiu off the beaten path. Our rescue Jack Russell puppy "Minnie" is growing up and is not noisy, like she was when you were here. Thanks for being so understanding about the pups barking. We've got it all under control now, No one has ever said anything before to us in any of our 300+ Guest reviews on VRBO, so again....Please accept our apologies. As for the creaking wood floors, not much I can do about that. You will just need to stop wearing spiked heels in the high desert! LOL! We love you guys and big hugs to all! XO Jeff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscGolfe...
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Relaxing Property, Gracious Hosts, Full Amenities”
Reviewed 10 September 2012 for a stay in October 2011

We spent 5 nights at the casita and did not want to leave. From the minute we opened the door until we left, a total sense of relaxation fell over us. First of all, the casita is impeccably clean. It's like you're the first guest to ever stay there. Second, anything you can possibly need for comfort is provided. The different items/products in the bathroom, the abundance of blankets, books, artwork, kitchen essentials. You name it. It's there. The hosts' preparation of the casita for travelers is incredibly well thought out and considerate. They have seriously applied "the golden rule" to a vacation home. Also, the views from the property are incredible. Every sunset is better than the previous night's. The animals on the property provide smiles as you arrive from a day touring and when you open the door in the morning. Having never seen a miniature donkey before...well, my wife fell in love. Breakfast: the home-roasted coffee beans, the distilled water, the jellies, jams, bread, eggs...it's a wonderful place to start a day. (FYI - we are coffee fanatics and this coffee is excellent!) Highlight: The hot tub under the stars at night was (for these city kids) worth every penny and more. Overall: When I told people we were going to Abiquiu, they said "what will you do there?" and I honestly did not know what to say, having never been. Now when we go back (and we plan to!) and people ask that question, the response will be "unwind and relax." I highly recommend a multi-night stay here and also must say that Jeff and Marilyn are wonderful, polite and hospitable. THANK YOU to our wonderful hosts. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet.
Liked least: Distance from restaurants.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sylvia B
Kitchener
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Vacation Spot Ever!”
Reviewed 10 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

The Casita de Chuparosa is an immaculately clean, warm and welcoming B and B style vacation home located in Abiquiu, New Mexico. It is decorated in Southwestern style and has every necessary amenity. The surrounding landscape and views are breathtaking and the peacefulness of the area will sooth anyones' weary soul. The hosts/owners of the Casita could not be more helpful and welcoming and are available when you need them for directions and any questions you may have about the area. There are animals on the property, including Valentine the paint horse and three of the most adorable mini donkeys. The location of the Casita is perfect for sightseeing in wonderful places like Ghost Ranch and Plaza Blanca.. We love to ride horses and the Casita is situated in close proximity to two wonderful places to ride from. And there was no better way to end the perfect days we experienced here, then to soak in the wonderful hot tub at night, viewing the stunning night sky of Northern New Mexico, the stars just envelope you there. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Reviewed 30 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing