We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home Away From Home”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Abiquiu, New Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
JCSanDieg...
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 12 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Casita Chuparosa is warmly decorated and has a library of wonderful books on local history, nature, art and many other interesting subjects. Marilyn and Jeff were present when we needed orientation, and then vanished. Morning newspapers and weather forecasts were provided each day at the doorstep, and the kitchen was stocked with the best home-roasted coffee beans ever, delicious organic free range chicken eggs, and fresh carrots for the mini-burros that live nearby. Everything necessary for home cooking is there--pots, pans, silverware, spices and condiments.

The view from the casita is vast and ever-changing and always beautiful, with the 9,862-foot Pedernal butte in the northern landscape.
We enjoyed the hot tub one night, gazing at the spectacular Milky Way--a rare sight for urban souls. The back porch features a fireplace and BBQ for
outdoor entertainment. I felt as if I were staying at an old friend's house.

During our three-day stay, we visited Ojo Caliente, Ghost Ranch, hiked Chimney Rock, and had great dinners at Abiquiu Inn, and Rancho de Chimayo.
It was always great to return to our quiet casita on the hill and settle in for the night in the comfortable beds.

Thank you, Jeff and Marilyn, for creating such a fantastic spot in Abiquiu!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly, easy-going atmosphere and unpretentious luxury.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jackocalg...
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Greatest place”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Spent a wonderful 11 nights in Sept., 6 of which we were joined with friends from home. Certainly adequate space for all. The very best of the Casita is the hosts Marilyn & Jeff ( aka Jim!)! They are so knowledgeable about area. It's great to hear someone's " slant" on an area!! They're there to welcome you as you arrive. Very nice to feel welcome! Their love of animals & their dog friendly attitude is great. Many places "say" they're dog friendly, then there's a list of things pets can't do.ie who has a very small dog that isn't allowed on furniture??
The views of the area from the Casita are magnificent! Great storms while we were there. Not being an artist or even having that much interest, was so happy with the views, skies, etc. lots to keep your interest! Had good walks, a couple of hikes on Ghost Ranch, visit to Taos, Lake Abiquiu ( good hiking there too), & generally exploring surrounding areas. Wonderful hosts make a visit so enjoyable! Thanks again, Duanne, Jacquey, Henry & Topo.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hosts!! Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin G
Port Byron, Illinois
2 reviews
“High Desert Excellence”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Wow, the Chuparosa! Not just great amenities, but great hosts too! When we arrived there for the second time Jeff and Marilyn came out to greet us. It was like seeing long time friends again. We loved gazing at the old flat-topped mountain (Pedernal) in the beautiful evening sunsets and watching an occasional thunderstorm in the distance. We even caught a few killer rainbows/covenants. :) As the sun moves across the sky, shadows change the colors of the landscape. The views are wonderful. So many of the local attractions are just a short drive away. Chuparosa; you won't regret it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Friendly, helpful hosts and location, location, location.
Liked least: We hated to leave. Wanted at least another week to make it three.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2013
We love Kevin and Chris! Thank you for being such wonderful guests, We're so happy to see both of you again! I bet your home is looking pretty stylish with all of the wonderful southwest art you picked up on your last visit. We sure hope we see you again either in Abiquiu or Panama! Hugs from Abiquiu!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NotUrTypi...
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“The BEST all around”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Casita for a late honeymoon this past week. I cannot say enough good things about these accommodations. From the property itself, to the views, the wonderful breakfast provisions, the super sweet and hospitable owners...the list goes on. Jeff & Marilyn were made for the hospitality business. Nothing is overlooked. In fact, the Casita contained many things we were not expecting (body lotions, beyond the basic cooking condiments, kleenex - why some rentals do not include this basic necessity is beyond me, every imaginable kitchen tool, even a junk drawer)!

Then there are the sweet friendly animals, the wonderfully situated hot tub and the views, the views, the views. Be sure to venture beyond the casita for ever changing scenery and breathtaking views. My husband and I took daily morning walks of 1 to 2 hours and saw amazing homes, beautiful Georgia O’Keeffe views, and more. Every twist and turn revealed a new beautiful sight to behold.

I’m sure I am leaving out a ton of fabulous info, but all one has to do is book a stay and grab a hold of Jeff for 5 minutes. He will tell you all the great places to go, where to eat, where the best views are and anything else you could possibly want to know about Abiquiu. Marilyn is equally knowledgable about the wildlife that visits the front courtyard (hummingbirds galore, bunnies, a quail family, doves, etc.). Arriving was like pulling up to a dear friend's house for a visit. Jeff & Marilyn were outside to greet us upon arrival and waving goodbye to us on that sad last day as we pulled out of the drive.

We were incredibly sad to leave this beautiful place yet happy we happened upon it and booked a stay. We hope to return soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Aug 2013
We very much enjoyed your stay and thank you for choosing to stay and reviewing our property, we appreciate all comments always. Sorry to say, our beautiful horse Valentine passed away just last week. We all miss her very much. As we mention on our website, the bedding configuration is a queen bed in one room and a double bed in the 2nd bedroom and a couch in the living room with the back pillows removed can accommodate an extra person, we also stress this when reservations are made. We are truly sorry if it was tight quarters for all of you. And yes, we sometimes go overboard with all of our art and collections, we'll see to it that we remove some items to make more room. We try to emphasize that no amenity is overlooked and we're overlooking we have too many amenities! Thank you so much. Hope all of you can come back! All the best, Jeff
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JUnderwoo...
Dallas
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great Digs, Gracious Owners and Incredible Views”
Reviewed 31 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Really, yeah really....this is a great place to stay. The casita is every thing you could ask for in a rental property. Very nicely appointed, well equipped is an understatement and the high desert views are outstanding. Plenty of birds and other wildlife. A pair of binoculars are a handy thing since you are in wide open spaces on a hilltop. The binos are useful for crittier watching or stargazing.

My wife and enjoyed starting and ending the day on the back patio. The owners are around if you need something, but never obtrusive. The owner is a good guy to chat with, well and articulate. His mom is a jewel. Go, hangout, enjoy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view and the casita furnishing.
Liked least: It was all good.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABQ_Micha...
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
“Relaxing home away from home with GREAT owners”
Reviewed 28 May 2013 for a stay in March 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed there for Memorial Day Weekend and we were very pleased that we found this little casita. Their kitchen was stocked (fresh roasted coffee, organic eggs, a variety of mixes including gluten-free pancake mix) and well prepared (pots, pans, microwave, dishes, utensils and *three* coffee makers). They also had high speed wireless internet and a landline phone with free long-distance calling, which was great as my cell service did not have service (but my girlfriend's cell worked fine).

The casita is two bedroom but we only used the larger room located on the west end of the house. We felt we had plenty of room, the armoire had more than enough storage space for our clothes and the bathroom was well decorated and nice. There were more than enough blankets, pillows, towels and the like. They had lavender soap, shampoo, conditioner, air spray and fabric spray, which definitely helped us with the relaxation process while we were there. We felt that for the next visit we could easily bring along another couple to share the place with and not feel cramped, but we probably won't because the privacy is amazing. Don't let the fact that it is attached to the main house fool you - my girlfriend and I never heard the dogs barking and only had contact with the owners when we arrived and when we left.

Which is the next thing - Jeff and Marilyn (the owners) were fantastically nice! As I said we saw them twice for our four-day stay, but they are the nicest and friendliest people you would ever want to own a little vacation property like this. Marilyn made us feel most welcome when we arrived and she gave us a great little tour of the casita, and we met Jeff on our way out who gave us some of the history of the place while letting us meet and play with his dogs (after letting us feed the horse and the mini burros, of course!).

Overall: A+. This was our first visit and we will be back when we can.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything! View, layout of the casita, the owners, amenities, sunset, hottub, sense of seclusion but still close to groceries...
Liked least: Leaving and going back to work.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$150
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing