We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Half Day Isn't Enough”
Review of Ghost Ranch

Ghost Ranch
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Abiquiu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: In a land of shifting light, boundless skies and fused culture, the 21,000 acre Ghost Ranch Education and Retreat Center in northern New Mexico is a place for renewal and retreat. The towering rock walls and vivid colors hold a hypnotic power. This is O’Keeffe Country.Visitors to Ghost Ranch will feel they’ve stepped back in time to days before the bells and whistles of technology vied relentlessly for our attention. People from all over the world come for spiritual development, to discuss issues of peace and justice, to work together in creation care, to paint, write poetry, to hike, ride horseback, to research globally renowned archaeological and fossil quarries… or simply to rest and renew their spirits. With over 300 courses each year, Ghost Ranch provides affordable ways to enrich your mind, body and soul.Available for overnight lodging as well, Ghost Ranch offers rustic , yet comfortable accomodations at a variety of price ranges to fit your budget. Our campground is open mid-May through early October.The Georgia O’Keeffe at Ghost Ranch Landscape Tour brings guests to a restricted area of the ranch to the scenes and actual locations of O’Keeffe’s paintings. O’Keeffe Landscape Tours are available mid-March through late-November. Reservations are required.
Cottage Grove, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Half Day Isn't Enough”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I rated this excellent because of the beautiful scenery and the historical value of this place. If you're looking for action and excitement, this isn't the place. Ghost Ranch is about nature.

My husband and I went there in late August because we wanted to do some leisurely hiking and sight-seeing. There are two trails that are relatively easy and one that is quite challenging. We did one of the easier hikes - to Box Canyon. This hike followed a stream and required crossing the stream numerous times. Even though in some places it was muddy, it was manageable. We ran into very few people so most of the hiking was just us and the scenery. It was a great way for us to spend about 3 hours.

Following the hike I went on the guided van tour. This tour allows a person to see parts of the ranch that you wouldn't otherwise be able to see. The $25 fee might be on the high end but it was still enjoyable. The van stops numerous times and everyone gets out to view the landscape so take that into account if you have any mobility issues.

While I was on the tour my husband got a massage. It was a therapeutic massage, as opposed to a relaxing massage. The woman giving the massage was really intent on dealing with some muscle issues and ended up spending more than the allotted hour.

Our next trip to New Mexico will definitely include another trip to Ghost Ranch!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie-CG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    119
    37
    17
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tarpon Springs, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“O'Keeffe Landscape Tour - A O'K!”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Hearing that this tour sells out fast we had made our reservations by phone for the 1pm tour weeks ahead of time. The ride to Ghost Ranch along rt. 84 was much farther out of the town of Abiquiu than we thought and there were no signs for it until you got to the turn off. It was definitely worth the ride though. We caught the tour van at the Visitor's Center. Pat, our docent, was excellent at giving us a feel for the land and the artist who captured it. The van would stop at various picturesque locations allowing us to disembark and where Pat would show us a copy of the O'K painting depicting the scene before us. The beautiful September weather was perfect for enjoying the unique landscape that inspired this famous female artist!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Italy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Inspired to return to Northern New Mexico”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

I was greeted kindly by a tour guide who gave us name badges and putuson a bus to view the area that Georgis chose to paint. We were shown her paining and the site and discussed how she worked on at east seven renditions to get the abstract genre she so loved. i have no complaints - making the reservation on line wet smoothly, the tour guide was informative and eager to answer questions, and the bus driver had facts to share as well. I know nthing about the ranch itself. The photo ops were awesome!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank homeec57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, TN
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Kitchen Mesa Hike at Ghost Ranch”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We took a day trip from Santa Fe to hike the Kitchen Mesa Trail at Ghost Ranch. The Visitor's Center at Ghost Ranch, where you sign in and pay a $3 hiking fee, has restrooms and a snack store. Lunch is also served in their dining hall. We started the Kitchen Mesa Trail at 10:15 a.m. The trail is described as 4.6-5 miles RT, moderate to difficult, with a very rocky trail and tricky maneuvering through a 15 ft. vertical slot (easier going down than going up). Prepare for being in the hot sun most of the time. Once on top, make sure you bear to the right, since there is a mesa that also goes to the left. You want to head to the bare white rock area and continue on until you reach a point with a small sign saying "unstable ground - keep out"(or something similar). We especially liked this part of the hike, since there were nice breezes on top. We loved our picnic lunch stop on top, as far to the edge as we could get, with expansive views of the scenery. Just gorgeous!! We spent 3 hours and 35 minutes doing this hike (that includes our lunch stop). This is a great trail for solitude, since we only saw a few hikers near the start of the trail.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank TNKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avon Lake, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Place, mediocre tour”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Ghost Ranch is a location with such stunning natural beauty that it is hard to believe or describe. The places where GO painted are just as they were then. The tour was only useful when we were able to get off the bus. Otherwise, it was oversold, so I was stuck on the back seat, which was very low and had no window, so the places that the guide described were not visible. At all.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ghost Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing