We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect. Amazing Location, Amazing Home, Amazing...”
other travellers have booked this property
Abiquiu Vacation Rental - The Casita del Lago located on 22 acres on Abiquiu Lake.  Views!  Beauty!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Abiquiu Vacation Rental - The Casita del Lago located on 22 acres on Abiquiu Lake.  Views!  Beauty!
Abiquiu Lake. The Casita del Lago is a lakefront property on Abiquiu Lake.  Spectacular Views! Your Abiquiu Lake vacation home, The Casita del Lago. 'Best place we've ever stayed' - John S, 10/17
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Abiquiu Vacation Rental - The Casita del Lago located on 22 acres on Abiquiu Lake.  Views!  Beauty!
Abiquiu Lake. The Casita del Lago is a lakefront property on Abiquiu Lake.  Spectacular Views!
Your Abiquiu Lake vacation home, The Casita del Lago. 'Best place we've ever stayed' - John S, 10/17
Enter paradise right from the front door!
Open concept living area with fireplace, TV, desk, and dining area.
'Thishome rental comes highly recommended and will be on our favorites list from now on.'  Denise, 2/18
'The amenities and the location were exactly what I  was seeking for serenity, solitude' - Susan, CA
Eating area seats eight.
A bright and airy floor plan.
The perfect place to relax.
Viga ceilings add to the authentic New Mexico charm.
Authentic hand carved doors, arched doorways, lit nichos - beautifully constructed home.
Pantry stocked with items you just might find you forgot.
You bring the food, drink and specialty items - we supply the rest!
Dining with a view.
Views!
Working 'from home'.
Books, games, puzzles, reference materials - all to help you enjoy every second.
Master bedroom with en suite bath, TV, views, king-sized bed with luxurious linens.
Master bedroom has an en suite private bath.
Master bedroom.
En suite master bathroom, granite counter tops, tiled shower, separate toilet room.
Sunrise Suite second bedroom with queen-sized bed, twin bunk beds and views!
Second full bath.
New front loading washing machine and dryer.
The hot tub overlooks the lake and is nestled into the rocks.  It is the best seat in the house!
The best happy hour location in Abiquiu.
'I cannot imagine that there is a more perfect place to experience New Mexico' Sharon K, 2017
The Chama River.
Cove Below Casita
Things to do and see around The Casita.  Conveniently located near major attractions and hiking.
Bring your canoes or kayaks and enjoy the lake.
Enjoy a day on the lake.
Great locations for horseback riding.
Abiquiu Lake - the best swimming spot.
There are many things to do in Abiquiu.  Fish from the shore of the home.
Take a horseback ride trip through Ghost Ranch.
Experience the Native American culture.
Abiquiu Lake has some of the best fishing in New Mexico.  Fish from the shore below the home.
Explore Bandelier National Monument.
Abiquiu Lake, surrounded by red rock formations, just below the home.
Amazing Views of Lake, Red Rocks, Ghostranch
Abiquiu Lake
Lake with Pedernal in Background
Beautiful Views
Abiquiu Lake
The Casita is surrounded by lake and mountain views.
Colorful mountains - amazing vistas.
Cerro Pedernal - Old Flat Top - stands guard over the lake.
Abiquiu Lake shoreline below The Casita del Lago.
Visit and hike Plaza Blanca.
Ancient petroglyphs nearby.
There are great vistas for photography everywhere you look.
Sunset over Abiquiu lake.
The rainbow lighting up the lake.
Beautiful vistas everywhere.
Plaza Blanca - a wonderful place to hike.
(Politics aside...) George W Bush visits to paint the vistas.  Pedernal Mountain in the background.
Hike Ghost Ranch.
Abiquiu Lake from a higher mesa top.
View of the home from the lake.
Winter is beautiful in Abiquiu.  The warm sun makes winter bright.
Proud to be the only Abiquiu area vacation home to win the Certificate of Excellence.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Abiquiu, New Mexico

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kaitlyn M
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect. Amazing Location, Amazing Home, Amazing Views.”
Reviewed 23 April 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We made a reservation at the Casita del Lago in Abiquiu after reading a ton of reviews. We decided to stay here because we wanted to be closer to GhostRanch, Echo Amphitheater and other attractions. And, we wanted a place to ourselves without other guests or owners on site. We made the right decision! This home is incredible - high quality, all the amenities you need, TV, cable, WIFI, lake access, solitude, privacy, hot tub. The location is the most amazing part - the views are indescribable and you would not see these views unless you stayed at a home on the lake. The lake, river, red rocks, pedernal - just beautiful. The house is only 20 minutes from Ghost Ranch. The owners are super responsive and helpful...they helped us plan our trip before we arrived. We spent many nights in the hot tub watching shooting stars. I can't explain the silence and peacefulness - a lack of noise. We also hiked all over. You follow an old cattle path to the water to fish...we didn't catch anything but had a great day. Stay here - it will be the highlight of your vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The home is beautiful and the views are outstanding.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2016
Kaitlyn,
Many thanks for leaving such a kind review! We know you looked online at every home in the Abiquiu area before making your reservation, and we are thankful you chose our home. We do believe it is magical - the beauty, comfort, privacy...all surrounded by vistas that are indescribable. We are happy to welcome you into our family of guests - please do come back and visit again!
Best,
Carolyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverRun3...
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent in Every Way”
Reviewed 14 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This casita and location are wonderful. We have rented houses and flats the world over and few are as well appointed or provisioned as this one. Kitchen had everything you needed, living space was graciously furnished, and beds were very comfortable. Hot tub was heaven.

It is a bit off the main road, but don't be concerned about it being too remote. There is another house a stones throw away, and several other homes tucked into the hills nearby.

The views are incredible ... Listen to the Great Horned Owls hoot at night and soak in the magic.

Finally owners are a dream to deal with. Thank you again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for choosing our home and for your kind review. We are so glad you stayed your time here. We agree - the hot tub is the best way to end a day! With the hooting owls and the shooting stars - it is magical. Also, thanks for your compliments on the service -- it is our goal to provide excellent service to all our guests. We appreciate your kind words. We hope you will visit Abiquiu and The Casita again and look forward to welcoming you back!
Best,
Carolyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LouAnn_60...
Hawthorn Woods, Illinois
1 review
“Spectacular Home & Views!”
Reviewed 28 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

My family spent one week in this beautiful, modern, adobe home. The home is just as it is advertised. The home is wonderful and has all the amenities you need - you just need to bring your food. We loved the traditional southwestern furnishings and furniture, loved the stone fireplace and the floor to ceiling windows. Our kids loved the free wifi and TVs - so everyone was happy. There are so many great things about staying here but the view has to be on the top of the list. The house is on Abiquiu Lake and you will miss these views if you stay in town because this area is in a gated community right on the lake. We actually were shocked at the beauty…we just hadn’t seen this side of Abiquiu before. The lake is between beautiful ancient red rocks and mountains on one side and Pedernal on the other. It is peaceful and stunning. The hot tub is located amongst the rocks overlooking the lake. It is remote, private, quiet - an amazing time. We visited all the local sites including Ghost Ranch, Echo Amphitheater, Ra Paulette cave and Plaza Blanca. And we loved coming home to The Casita every night. The hosts, Carolyn and Tom, were fabulous - they respond quickly and instantly if you text them. Honestly, you will miss out if you stay anywhere else. We will be back! Thank you for sharing your home with us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Decor and the views!
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2016
LouAnn, thank you choosing our home for your vacation and for leaving such a detailed review! Reviews are the best compliments you can leave us and we appreciate you taking the time to document your stay. We are glad you had a wonderful vacation in the Land of Enchantment and at The Casita del Lago. We agree - no matter how many pictures we take or words we use to describe the views - it doesn't do it justice....when you see the vistas you are just speechless. I'm so glad you had this experience. You and your family are welcome back anytime!
Best,
Carolyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slapshot2...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The most relaxing place Ive ever stayed in!”
Reviewed 7 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Spent tow weeks at The Casita del Lago. We've stayed at different places over the years when we visit northern New Mexico but this was hands-down the best. the home is adobe, fully furnished with Mexican furniture, stocked with spices and seasoning, and has a modern kitchen. It is warm and cozy. But the biggest feature is the location - it is built up into the hill above Abiquiu Lake and it is beautiful. The views are amazing in every direction. I was ready to call the owners and ask is they want to sell. We did a lot of hiking on the property and loved the remote and peaceful location. We used the hot tub every night. Loved the rabbits that played outside the window. There is nothing that the owners have overlooked. Trust us, stay here when you visit Abiquiu or Ghostranch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views at sundown and sunup were spectacular
Liked least: To be honest....nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jan 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us - we work hard to earn 5* and I'm thrilled that we met or exceeded that standard again. "Hands-down the best" - WOW...we LOVE to hear that. Like you, we find ourselves amazed at the views every time we return...you just never get tired of the amazing vistas. So glad you had a wonderful stay and we hope you return to visit again soon. We know there are several places to stay in Abiquiu - and we truly appreciate you choosing our home and your kind words.
Best,
Carolyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcia N
Tampico, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful -”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We recently stayed at the Casita del Lago after enjoying the balloon fiesta. The location is remote and exactly what we were looking for - My Mother and Brother didn't want to leave!

The home is beautiful and you can hike down to the water. The view is beautiful & at night we enjoyed the hot tub while star gazing. We saw several shooting stars and the night sky was truly spectacular. The owner is prompt in responding and provides fantastic information - everything from areas to visit to directions to the property.

If you're looking for a quiet place to relax and enjoy the outdoors this is it ! Enjoy

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View !
Liked least: Not Applicable
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2015
Marcia,
Thank you so much for your kind review - we are delighted that you discovered The Casita del Lago and chose our home for your vacation. Your mother and brother are in good company - we never want to leave either!! Again, thank you. We hope you make a return visit to Abiquiu and The Casita del Lago again in the future.
Safe travels,
Carolyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire...
Berkshires
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A truly special place & a memorable stay”
Reviewed 8 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The property was perfect in every way. And the setting was even better. It's a beautiful, peaceful spot with incredible views. My teen boys loved the swimming and the hot tub at night. It was hot while we were there but most nights it cools off nicely and sometimes even becomes a bit chilly which is welcome and keeps the inside nicely cool when you shut the windows and shades during the day. As an amateur photographer I hardly had an idle moment as the changing skies and colors on the hills and rock formations kept me busy. The daily storms that come in are amazing to watch. The last night we were there was the only night it didn't cool off and didn't rain. Instead we watched HOURS of heat lightning which was reminiscent of the northern lights. Walking on the roads gives you non-stop vistas, colorful plants and lots of rabbits and lizards. The casita itself is comfortable and well laid out. The bedrooms are at opposite ends which is nice whether it's two couples or a family. The furniture is attractive, sturdy, and comfortable. It is tastefully decorated in a southwestern style with beautiful details. The kitchen is well equipped with high quality appliances and plenty of dishes, glassware, cutlery etc. The beds are comfortable. The house was easy to climate control even without using the a/c because of all the windows, shades and ceiling fans. We opened everything up as the sun started to go down and buttoned everything back up before we left in the morning. We naturally visited all the usual places like Ghost Ranch and the Monastery . But if you're there in the hot summer, it's also easy to go up into the mountains on decent forest roads in the Sante Fe and Carson national forests. On a hot Saturday we drove a couple miles up 96 to FR100 which provides a pleasant scenic drive up to the mountains as the temperature drops. We went from 90-60 and 60 makes for a very pleasant hike. We made similar treks outside of Cuba and in the Canjilon ranger district. Working with the owner was great. They are very organized and responsive and the house has a variety of information resources. I never tired of the drive into and out of the property. It is definitely a vacation rental to remember. A truly special place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting, the casita, the lake, the peace & quiet, amazing sunsets
Liked least: There's really nothing not to like!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for selecting our home for your vacation and for your kind words. We agree, The Casita is a truly special place in the world and we really love to hear from guests who have recognized the peace and harmony here in Abiquiu. We never tire of the views. Until we see you again, safe travels from The Casita del Lago.
Best,
Carolyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richelleh...
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Serenity”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The views, location and casita were really great. It was very peaceful. We loved the area and the serenity. We've stayed at numerous rentals and what you see online is not always what you get, but with this rental, the description and pictures are very accurate.

The hot tub cover has been repaired, but really should be replaced. We have a hot tub and if you don't have a good fitting cover, the heat is not held in and you're paying extra $$ for electricity.

The kitchen and fridge were well stocked as others have mentioned, but almost too stocked. There are a lot of extra gadgets, pans, utensils, etc. that aren't in good shape. We brought our own pan, but needed to use one of theirs too and had to throw out the food because of the metal taste. Removing some clutter from the drawers/cabinets also makes it easier to wipe out. The under sink cabinet was also messy and in need of a good clean.

I'd prefer to not have someone else's leftover condiments and such. It makes it much harder for the fridge to be cleaned between guests and we had to wipe out the fridge and move quite a bit of out of date condiments/dressings out of the way to be able to put our items in. Having the fridge be messy and unclean gave us a feeling that we had to clean other parts of the casita and that's not what we expect to do on vacation. Fortunately, the rest of the casita was clean, which is not always the case with rentals.

The bathroom drawers also had quite a bit of leftover items including a pair of men's underwear. There were also medicines leftover which is definitely not safe. The master closet was full of a strange array of items and made me feel like it was more a storage area for the owners than a place where we could put our clothing. Since there isn't a dresser, it would be better to have the clothing rack separated from the spare items that are being stored.

In summary, we loved the location and the privacy. The casita is beautiful and well made. I'd just suggest paring down items throughout to make it easier to clean between guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefulness
Liked least: Clutter
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2015
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on Flipkey - we really do value hearing from our guests. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and found the "serenity" we all seek! We also appreciate your views on the stocking of the pantry and refrigerator. Because our home is located remotely, away from grocery stores, the majority of our guests appreciate finding condiments, spices and other groceries that they may have forgotten. We do try to balance the wishes and needs of all guests, and I appreciate hearing your view. Also, thank you for your feedback on the pans - we immediately replaced all pans in the home. Again, thank you for staying with us and we welcome you back next time you are in the Abiquiu/Santa Fe area!
Best,
Carolyn
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing