We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location, house getting tired”
other traveller has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Cook's Bay, Moorea, Society Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Paul M
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, house getting tired”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The location of the home is great -- right on the bay, with basic shopping and restaurants all within a short drive. We loved the "backyard" which has a small, sand beach, a large shade tree, well tended lawn, a couple of palms, and a wooden deck by the seawall that had great views up the valley and out to sea. The house has a covered deck on the back which was a great place to hang out when the sun got hot. The sand beach was perfect for relaxing or getting in/out of the water. The house had a couple kayaks that we used all the time (the green one is better!). From the deck we could see sharks (harmless black-tips), rays, and a turtle. It was actually a pretty decent place to snorkel. When we weren't out exploring the island we would hangout in the backyard -- it is a great place to relax.

Reading the other reviews I have to wonder if we stayed in the same house. The kitchen looks like it hasn't been remodeled in decades. It was functional, but pretty basic and old-fashioned. When we first got there the house had a strong musty smell. Fortunately, after airing it out for a day the smell was only noticeable in the second (northeast) bedroom. The main room does not have air conditioning and the eaves are open to the outside -- I mean OPEN, like no mosquito netting or anything. I suppose that adds ventilation, but the bugs would get tiresome after awhile. The windows do not have screens. I would not wish the attic sleeping arrangement on anyone -- it is hot and stuffy. This house realistically only sleeps six. The indoor furniture was mostly good, except for the mattresses. One mattress was pretty comfy, the other two were miserable, cheap wiry blocks masquerading as mattresses. I could tolerate it, but we resorted to taking the pad off the couch and putting it on the mattress so that my wife could get a decent night's sleep. It would have been nice to have some lounges for outside -- resin chairs don't exactly spell luxury or relaxation to me.

The house has WiFi, but it is pretty slow (think 3G speed), and basically unusable in the evening. I'm guessing that everybody on the island is going online in the evenings. Not a big deal to us, but it is kind of annoying when you can't even successfully download a 1mb photo. There is a television, but it only has a hand-full of French language channels. If you are hoping to wind-down in the evening expect to provide your own entertainment.

Otherwise, the Tahiti Homes staff was great to work with. The housekeeper/gardener does a great job. The house was very clean and the yard was immaculate.

Considering the price we paid I would consider this house adequate. It clearly is not a luxury home -- we have rented many homes over the years in a similar price range and this house would rank in the bottom half of the homes we have rented -- but the location is great and the price is reasonable. Can you do better? Sure, but if you expect to not be indoors that much then this may be all that you need.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The backyard
Liked least: The mattresses
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MW424
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Perfect Moorea Rental”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were an extended family of 5 and picked Villa Ohana for our week's vacation on Moorea mainly because of its location not too far from amenities and all three bedrooms being A/C. We could not have chosen better. An inviting lawn with picnic table led directly to a small sandy beach and then Cook's Bay with good snorkeling only a 100 shallow feet out.(You could walk or dog paddle.) While there was a house on either side we had a feeling of total privacy and our view across Cook's Bay and to the mountains was superb. It felt like the idyllic "Tahitit" you would likely have in your imagination.

Just across the road was Allo Pizza and a small delicious bakery where we would get our daily dose of baguette, croissants and pastries. The markets/shops/restaurants of Maharepa and Pao Pao were each just a few minutes drive away and ithe Villa is centrally located to easily access the ferry/airport area, Openohu Bay and the West Coast/Haapiti.

The Villa itself has everything you might need and all well maintained. We cooked in most nights and both the kitchen and gas BBQ more than met our needs. The beds were all comfy and the A/C was quiet and effective. Bottom line is that Moorea is the "real Tahitit" you're looking for and Villa Ohana is the perfect place to experience it. Now if someone could only do something about those mosquitos and no see ums........

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Access to Cook's Bay snorkeling, View
Liked least: Blender was broken, Mosquitos
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RWYNDHAM
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“We found true paradise at Villa Ohana”
Reviewed 27 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

This is one of the best places we have ever stayed in, and we travel a lot.

Every little thing has been thought of, we wanted for nothing.

The design of the villa is superb, light, spacious and relaxing. The garden is quiet and pleasing and gives straight onto the lagoon. You just cross the garden and snorkel right in front of the house, we spotted turtles almost every day.

The bedrooms and spacious with comfortable beds and lots of storage space. The kitchen is modern and user friendly.

The best part are the staff, Laina who manages it all is a delight and always helpful. From the moment you we met at the airport or ferry to the moment you leave, she thinks of all your needs. The place is kept spotless, yet all is very discreet. Everyone leaves you in peace, and you feel you are living as part of the community rather than just a tourist.

We lt we could have stayed for months, all was so beautiful, tranquil and happy.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johanne C
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2018 for a stay in April 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
borojo
Les Herbiers, France
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014 for a stay in March 2014
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: sa situation et sa propreté
Liked least: le barbecue mal situé par rapport à la cuisine et la terrasse.
Travelling group: En famille avec jeune(s) enfant(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephTahi...
Papeete, French Polynesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: En famille élargie
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing