We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Punaauia
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We recently stayed at the Manava Suites for two nights before heading off to Bora Bora and greatly enjoyed our stay. We arrived on the red eye and headed off to the hotel with the intent of hanging out by the pool until our room was ready. We were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived at the hotel at 7 a.m. and were told our room would be ready by 8 a.m. The hotel did not seem extremely busy while we were there so I suspect such an accommodation would be more unlikely during their busy season but it really made our day. We stayed in a one bedroom ocean view suite and it was great. We did not really use the kitchen but it was nice to have a fridge to store drinks. The bed was really comfortable and we found the room very quiet. The only downside was the air conditioning in the living area did not work very well (the bedroom was fine) but since we were out most of the day exploring or relaxing by the pool, it was not a big issue and we did not bother reporting it. The staff was very friendly and while some had only limited English, we never had a problem getting help when needed. Breakfast was included with our room and was fine and we had a very nice dinner in the restaurant one night. Having read about the exorbitant prices in French Polynesia, we did not find the prices at the restaurant or pool bar to be outrageous. The pool area is very nice but could use a bit more shade and, like most of Tahiti, there is no real beach on the ocean to speak of, but you can still go swimming in it if you like. The hotel is also a very short trip from the airport and Papeete so it is very convenient for a short stay on the island.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjjmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    700
    244
    60
    29
See reviews for
229
959
50
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

The resort is beautiful, no doubt, and the pool is fantastic, but the customer service is adequate at best. Front desk staff was not knowledgable, they did not show us to our room or point out how any features worked. We had no electricity in our room for an hour until the reception found someone to tell us to put the room key in the special slot. No washcloths to be had in the entire hotel. We were unsure if the dock area was part of the resort, so it was not until we were preparing to leave we found out we could have gone there. And as with most of Tahiti, food and beverage prices are super high...higher than they should be for a standard resort. I would expect it at a 5 star place with service to match; this was not it. Thankfully we were staying there at the end of our trip for only 1 day until we could fly home. Next time, I'll stay at the Intercontinental. Oh, and annoying as could be that the AC turns itself off every hour! So miserable when trying to sleep!

Room Tip: Ask for a room close to the beach/pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonya326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed here from May 8-10, 2013 in a regular room. Comfy bed, TV (try learning French fast), a nice bathroom with soaking tub and separate shower and enough room for your stuff. By the way less is more we learned the hard way by overpacking. You couldn't ask for more coming off a long flight from Los Angeles. The staff was totally nice and helpful, not what we expected especially knowing how much the French can't stand Americans. We took a half day tour of Tahiti, a must do excurision. We did a mini hike to a waterfall, saw a grotto where people go to get cool and to party, local surf spots and just the general beauty of Tahiti. Since it was super hot the best thing to do was swim in their pool that overlooks Moorea. Moorea in the morning when we first woke up was spectacular. A tip from the front desk : ) We could watch the Master's Surf competition from the pool. We were still recovering from jet lag and opted for bar food - cheeseburger, fries and a ceasar salad plus a Hinano cost us about $50.00 but who cares you are on vacation. We had breakfast as part of our room package. If you are thinking about coming to French Polynesia make sure you front end your package to include as much food as possible so you enjoy your vacation without worrying about how much dinner will set you back, relax : ) We are returning here for our final night, staying in a garden suite and will try dinner at their restaurant.

Room Tip: A room is a room unless you are going to spend a significant amount of time here do not get a suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

I really liked the look and feel of this hotel upon arrival and was pleasantly surprised when the room category that we booked was upgraded compliments of the staff to the Ocean view studio. We stayed one night before going over to Moorea and one night after coming back from Tikehau. Staff are very friendly, the pool is clean and nice. It would be great if they had more than one sun umbrella for the lounge chairs by the pool however. The park a few hundred feet down from the hotel had Roulette's @ 7:00p so it was great to try some local cuisine at great prices! If you are American though I would avoid the one pizza and crepe truck with the name Sunset in it. I can’t remember the actual name but after waiting 30 minutes for a crepe that takes 2 minutes to make was ridiculous, all while watching locals come up and order theirs and then get theirs 2 minutes later. All in all this is a GREAT hotel with great staff! I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twisted C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We stayed at the Manava Suites from April 5th through April 7 2013. This was a pre-cruise decompression stay to rid us of our jet leg since our plane landed at 10 pm. I had booked this hotel directly with the hotel based on TripAdvisor reviews. We received an early bird special on a Garden Suite. The room was spacious and clean and we were very happy with the selection. There is no beach to speak of but the infinity pool is lovely and there is a great view of Moorea.

You are within walking distance of other restaurants and a small market. There is a great roulette directly across the street to have dinner (after 6 pm) and other restaurants down the road if you are into walking. The room was spacious and clean. The bed was comfortable and large. We did not eat at the on site restaurant but the menu looked good and the pricing no where near as expensive as the other hotels. We did have breakfast there one morning but did not order from the "buffet menu" We just got pancakes and coffee and the bill was reasonable considering you were in French Polynesia. We spoke with others on our cruise who stayed at the IC and they stated that the food was very expensive at their resort. We had arranged a transfer shuttle pick up at the airport with Marama Tours since we were landing late. We rented a car from Avis Pacific Car on our day of departure. They picked us up at the hotel and brought us to the airport for the car pickup. We drove around the island and picked us our luggage on the way back to the airport where we deposited the car. Avis took us to the dock.

All in all a great choice. Tahiti is not the island you hang out to enjoy French Polynesia but the Manava Suites was very enjoyable and I believe better value for money than other major hotel chains on the island.
.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrier52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleming Island, Florida
Level Contributor
310 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

My wife and I were on our way to Bora Bora and stayed one night at the Manava resort in Papeete, Tahiti. We awoke early, went to get some coffee and decided to enjoy their breakfast buffet which was a meager 3000 French Pacific Francs per person (current exchange $32.69 US).

The pool is pretty, the view is awesome and we were only there for a few hours but we struggled to cool the room off enough to enjoy the stay. I guess we had some AC issues and had the "bellman" look at it and he made some hand signals in English that said everything was ok with the AC.

Overall, it was a decent place to stay for a night but if I was to stay any longer, I would look for a different venue.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPinkerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed one night in Tahiti at the Manava Suite during our visit to French Polynesia . The resort is about a 15 min mini-bus drive from the airport. The grounds were lush and extremely quite/peaceful. The staff spoke english and were very welcoming. Our room was huge and had a large private terrace in the back that provided a wonderful view of Mo'orea and surrounding ocean. The breakfast was French/American style and was excellent - the island package we settled on included free breakfast at each resort so we didn't dwell on the receipt. We didn't have much time to get a feel for the entire resort, but we enjoyed our brief stay. Getting back to the airport was easy and the afternoon flight over to Mo'orea took about 15 min. We would definitely stay at Manava again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisC521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Punaauia
15.1 mi away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
5.2 mi away
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
Tiare Tahiti Hotel
#2 of 3 in Papeete
259 reviews
6.9 mi away
Royal Tahitien
Royal Tahitien
#1 of 2 in Pirae
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
InterContinental Tahiti Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
Le Meridien Tahiti
Le Meridien Tahiti
#2 of 3 in Punaauia
1,696 reviews
12.2 mi away
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manava Suite Resort Tahiti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manava Suite Resort Tahiti

Property: Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
Address: PK 10.5 Cote Mer, Punaauia 98703, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Tahiti > Punaauia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Punaauia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Manava Suite Resort Tahiti 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manava Suite Resort Tahiti promises to be the premier Papeete resort for business and leisure travelers alike, offering 121 guest rooms ranging from rooms to multi-bedroom duplex suites and Manava Suites. Consistent with the South Pacific Management portfolio and decorated by Tahitian architect/designer Bruno Hervochon, all guestrooms will reflect authentic Polynesian decor, while still offering contemporary amenities and the comfort of home. With state-of-the-art technology and in-suite kitchen quarters, each room offer a luxurious, well-appointed home base for travelers of all kinds, from business travelers staying for a week, to leisure travelers en route to the outer islands. The resort encompasses five separate buildings, with the first housing the reception area, restaurant, meeting rooms and 12 guest rooms, and the additional four housing 109 suites on 3 floors. In addition, the resort features two bars, a restaurant, a fitness centre, a spa & beauty centre and the island’s largest infinity swimming pool facing the lagoon and nearby island of Moorea. The Manava Suite Resort Tahiti is located in the island’s northwestern region, in the community of Punaauia, conveniently located five minutes from Faa’a International Airport and ten minutes from the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Manava Suite Resort Tahiti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti Hotel Punaauia
Manava Suite Hotel Tahiti
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti Punaauia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing