We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent club in the Gambia”
Review of Kololi Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kololi Beach Club
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Kololi
Certificate of Excellence
Werchter, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent club in the Gambia”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

When we arrived at the hotel, we were a bit in shock. We've been traveling with Interval International to all kinds of 5-star resorts all over the world. The reception area of the hotel is just a shack with a desk.

However once we reached our room (a 2-bedroom), it turned out to be great, quite close to what other 5-star resorts have to offer. The only thing we first noticed was the lack of a television. We learned later on, this was a conscious decision, and we never missed it. The gardens are beautiful and well maintained.

The resort is very clean, and so are the rooms. They are building an expansion, and afterwards they're planning on redoing the reception and dining facilities. Also the pool area is sufficient, but the shape lacks a bit of fantasy. The restaurant could use a bigger menu, but there are several very nice restaurants nearby. (I'd recommend the Kora). I'd recommend this hotel to anybody.

The staff is excellent, and everybody in the country is very friendly and polite. The people do not have much, but will appreciate anything you can spare them.

The prices are quite low as well in the hotel as outside. You can have a 4 person dinner for about 50 euro at a very nice restaurant, and a quick lunch won't set you back more than about 30 euro for 4 people. Also the spa in the hotel might lack the grandeur of some fancier hotel chains, but the price makes up for it. A 1h45 minute massage only costs about 15 euro, something we haven't seen at any hotel worldwide.

May seems to be the beginning of the low season for the country (which spans from October to April). However being the end of the dry season, the weather is still excellent. However you notice very few tourists are in the hotels and the restaurants.

Room Tip: They are building an expansion, the Kololi Beach Springs, opening in September. The accomodation see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank v0LrAtH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    52
    11
    1
    4
See reviews for
31
76
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reinholds, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012

About to have a week with Interval International expire, we looked through potential trades and thought The Gambia looked interesting. From the USA we took a direct flight from Washington DC to Dakar, Senegal on South African Airways, had a long layover, then a local flight from Dakar to Banjul, The Gambia. ATMs in the airport were functioning well so we got dalasis there and taxi service to the resort was readily available.

The staff at reception were very helpful after our long, tiring travels. We were disappointed to find a very warm villa but air conditioners in the 2 bedrooms were immediately turned on. The villa was adequate with a well stocked kitchen minus a coffeemaker which they brought the next morning. Bring your own coffee, tea, sugar, salt and pepper, and any other cooking spices. The entire villa was perfectly clean but the sofas sagged and we would have much preferred a queen size bed to the double in the main bedroom. Unfortunately the ac in the main bedroom never worked quite well and that room only cooled slightly while the other bedroom cooled nicely. We adapted to the warmth in the rest of the villa. Sitting on the balcony was lovely.

The food at the resort restaurant was decent and well priced but within easy walking distance outside the gates are a number of restaurants serving local and international dishes and we chose a different restaurant each night for a variety of good food. Prices were consistently below what we would have paid in the US. We bought eggs and breakfast food in the market on the resort and fixed breakfast each morning in our kitchen.

The resort grounds are pretty and well maintained. The swimming pools were clean and refreshing and the loungechairs were specially set up for each guest. Poolside service was friendly. The resort is directly on the beach and the ocean was great for swimming and body surfing the waves. The sand is clean and the variety of shells at low tide was lovely. Loungechairs and service on the beach were also relaxing.

We went on several birding trips with local guide, Mas, who was able to spot every bird around. We also rented a 4wd and brought Mas with us into the interior upriver and learned about Gambian life and customs as well as seeing many more birds. We were able to see all 4 primates making their homes in The Gambia. We drove the roads less travelled, feeling secure everywhere, and met many local people who were always friendly and interested in talking. Food was safe to eat and we drank bottled water, although the local water is safe also. A morning birding on the river was arranged by the ever helpful and kind Mas. We enjoyed the evening activities and drinks around the resort clubhouse each night.

We would reccommend The Gambia and Kololi Beach Club to everyone with the reminder that international travel is always an adventure.

Room Tip: Two bedroom units can be cooler if you leave the door open from the bedroom you aren't sleeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank midweifathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Booked week through II. Resort is lovely, not UK 5 star standard but hey you are in Gambia. Resort clean and staff very polite and efficient. Take cash as the resort does not take a card unless you spend about £200 in the resort which is hard to do as the onsite restaurant does not have a very large evening menu. Cash machines on the "strip", less than five minutes away where you will find loads of restaurants. Can recommend Scarla if you want a classier place to eat at a reasonable price. Quite safe to walk from resort to restaurants.

Bumpsters can be a nuisance, following you on the beach and by restaurants. The usual patter is "Hi welcome, whats your name" just to get you chatting and then try to sell their products. A polite "no thank you" or "we would like to walk alone thankyou" generally gets rid of them although we did have to shout at one man who persisted in interruptings us in a restaurant. A tip is to not sit too close to the front of a restaurant where they can keep interrupting you.
The resort is currently building and selling outright ownership on the resort and plan to build a new reception and restaurant so this will improve facilities from 2014 if not earlier.
When you come out of the resort onto the beach, turn left and visit Abdul's juice bar for a great fresh juice for 50 delassi or turn right and see Heidi for a fresh fruit salad, 200 delassi for a plate bit enough to two.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

i stayed with a friend of mine for 2 weeks at kololi. this was our first trip to gambia.the staff made us feel very welcome and always served us with a smile. all the staff are well informed and nothing is too much trouble for them. there is a visible security presence all over the accommodation, this gives one a feeling of security. the gardens are well maintained and there is a privatebeach. the food in the restuarant is very good and prices compare very well with the other places on the strip.the little shop on the resort is fairly well equiped for your day to day needs.we had a minor problem with our cooker and this was immediately seen to.it does get a little windy in the evenings and a shawl/jumper is required if you want to stay for the evening entertainment as this takes place outside.overall the success of kololi is down to the staff who are always willing to go the extra mile.

Room Tip: all rooms have good views and located in lovely gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madhu931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
92 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I stayed here for a week with my brother and we had a lovely time. It's in an amazing location - next to the monkey park and with its own private beach area.

I liked having monkeys running around the lawn! They don't bother you. There are lovely grounds here and security at all entrances so you feel really safe - we left our villa unlocked several times. All the staff are so friendly and know you by name.

Good points
- Nice, modern villa with all the mod cons you need e.g. microwave and a well equipped kitchen, hairdryer, safe. Way better than the other accommodation I've seen in The Gambia
- Lovely pool with sun loungers
- Private beach area with security to keep the annoying hagglers away
- Great, friendly staff who attend to your every need - setting up your sunbed, giving you an ice cold flannel and towels, holding free evening entertainments
- Bug shields mean you can leave windows and doors open to cool down
- Bar and restaurant serves nice food and is very fairly priced.

Downsides
- Have to walk in the dark back from the strip which is a bit annoying, though completely safe. they close the top gate at 4pm, which is ridiculous
- Free wifi is only around the reception area and was broken for days
- Golf course is very expensive - go to another one instead
- Air con is about £8 per day so just use the fans in your room instead.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravellingEmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stay at The Kololi Beach Club every year, it is our "bolt hole" from the treadmill of work and the cold UK weather....we own 4 weeks here and often have family there with us.
Apart from the well kept gardens, the golf course, pools and the beach it's the staff who make our stay so much fun. They always go the extra mile to ensure we can relax and are well looked after.... thier sense of humour and fun is great and we look forward to seeing them every year.
The waves are often terricic for body boarding, and for thoses who like other activity a 5 minute walk down the beach there is access to tennis courts at the Sennigambia for a small fee.
The food in the club house is excellent and the enertainment fun, the Wednesday night quizz is hillarious and water polo during the afternoon a definate "must"!
We only got home on Friday but are already planning our next visit!

Room Tip: The rooms in D block are up by the golf course so further to walk to the beach and pool but all room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Just spent a brilliant chilling out week at Kololi, great food, great cocktails, 33C during the day and a pleasant 18C in the evening. Recommended to anyone who just wants to get away and not worry about anything. Kindle required!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellatravelscom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kololi
0.3 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
1,214 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Serekunda
839 reviews
2.0 mi away
Seaview Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Beach Club Hotel
2.2 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
3.9 mi away
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kololi Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kololi Beach Club

Property: Kololi Beach Club
Address: PMB 241, Kerr Serign, Kololi, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Kololi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Kololi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kololi Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within tropical gardens, located right on the beach, Kololi Beach Resort is the perfect location to explore this unique country. Kololi offers self catering villas and apartments. Each Villa/apartment is fully furnished complete with lounge, dining area and a fully fitted kitchen. Kololi Beach Resort can also offer bed and breakfast, half board and full board options. Each property has its very own furnished terrace or balcony area. The perfect place to watch the sun go down and enjoy the abundance of wildlife, or pre dinner drinks with friends. Everything you will need to enjoy a complete 'get away from it all' holiday is here at Kololi Beach Resort. The Resort has many features including, an 18 hole par 3 Golf Course, a real test for golfers of all standards. Our on site a pro is available for lessons and all equipment is available on site. choice of 3 swimming pools, a private beach area, Club House bar and restaurant along with two further bars, both with free WiFi. A Mini Market is open daily for your daily essentials, gift shop, 24 hour reception and money exchange. Our dedicated excursion team are on hand to make sure you get the best excursions at the right price. They can even organise a private excursion for just you and your guests, making the day that bit more special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Kololi Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kololi Beach Club Hotel Kololi
Kololi Beach Club Gambia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing