We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent wedding experience at Kololi”
Review of Kololi Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kololi Beach Club
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Kololi
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent wedding experience at Kololi”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

My husband and I got married at the Kololi Beach Club in March and our experience with the hotel and staff is nothing but positive. Everything we were promised, happened and in fact the friendly team at Kololi delivered more and made it a stress free experience.
Our accommodation was really clean, comfortable, spacious and perfect to get ready in. The flowers used to decorate the venue and archways were beautiful and lasted perfectly in the heat, the marquee and bridal tent perfectly co-ordinated with our color scheme and in the heat were much needed and well thought out.
Our tables were beautifully decorated and we were really happy with them. The food was delicious both day and night, we especially loved the BBQ in the evening next to the pool side was was beautifully lit. The band recommended by the hotel were fantastic and we just didn’t want to stop the party.
The photographers recommended by Tony were excellent and we have the most beautiful photographs to remember our special day. We would certainly recommend them.

We cannot thank Tony and his team enough for making our special day run so smoothly. Everything was perfect and the fact that the team made the day run seamlessly despite the registrar running 1.5 hours late due to a flat tyre is testament to the staffs excellent team work and organisation. They all remained relaxed and friendly with ready smiles in what must have been a stressful time playing catch up to what was outside of their control. We cannot praise the Kololi team highly enough for what they did for us. In fact many of our guests commented how organised and smoothly the day went and what a great time they had. They went as far as saying it was the best wedding they had attended and the most organised. This is praise indeed.
We would not hesitate to recommend this beautiful resort as a venue for other weddings/events. In the sunshine next to the sea is a perfect setting. I would recommend that guests listen to Tony about what works, thanks to his experience our day could not have been better.
So once again, thank you for giving us the most special day which we will never forget at the most reasonable price. We look forward to coming back to celebrate our anniversary. Thank you

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpeedyCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    52
    11
    1
    4
See reviews for
32
76
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

We spent a fantastic week here in March to dip our toes into The Gambia, now we cannot wait to come back again. From the welcome drink and meeting Mike the director, to sadly leaving 7 days later, we have nothing but praise for the resort.
The staff are fantastic, very friendly and had our names remembered after the first day, accommodation was clean, airy and well maintained. Garden areas were beautiful and eating dinner every day on the beach and watching the sun go down will live with us for ever. The food on the club menu was well prepared and there were daily specials on the boards. Evening entertainment was good as well and something was on every night. The lady in the shop that makes the bags, shirts, trousers and anything else was brilliant and we stocked up on some awesome Ipad covers. Just choose your material and design and pick it up the next day. The colourfull Gambian shirts will be a hit at home when Summer arrives.
As with everywhere else in The Gambia, credit and debit cards are not taken, but personal cheques are OK if mentioned when checking in. The 2 cash points in close proximity to the resort only accept Visa cards.
All in all, a real fantastic holiday experience.
Do make the effort though to book a couple of excursions into Gambia, the country and people are amazing.

Room Tip: We had 32A, ground floor and it was great. Ask for ground floor as the terrace looked better than th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davidgirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portishead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I went to Kololi Beach Club with a friend on exchange with Dial-An-Exchange. We had a large 2 bed villa which was very clean if somewhat shabby in places, particularly when comparing it to The Osborne where we are members. No dishwasher, air con only in the master bedroom, fans elsewhere. The grounds are lovely and the location is superb right next to a private clean beach with incredible sea views. The vast majority of the staff there are wonderful and I can honestly say that they made our holiday very special. They are such lovely people, very friendly, caring, fun and they cannot do enough for you. The entertainment which we enjoyed the most was the karaoke evening when we danced the night away with some other members who soon became our friends. Everyone is very friendly and there is a great club atmosphere. Other entertainment which was great was the African evening with fabulous drumming, dancing and fire eating, and the farewell evening on Thursday with a very good singer. The menu is reasonable and the food was very good as were the happy hour cocktails!
One slight annoyance was that free Wi-Fi is only available a certain distance around the reception area. Unfortunately I can't recommend the manicures on site but the massage I had at the Holistic Centre on site was very good and reasonable. There is also a shop and a library, so no need to take books with you!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We are 10 year+ timeshare owners in Majorca & Florida, and this February half term was our first exchange into Africa. Yes it was different from Europe/States, but Kololi Beach Club has some great assets. The wall to wall sunshine, the beachfront vista; watching the sun disappear at dusk into the sea; the monkeys entertaining us outside our villa; and the friendly staff - all made for a great holiday.

The 'Africa' things you need to remember are:
1. It is 100% a cash based society - so no credit cards accepted at the resort
2. There are no washing machines on site - so the 'clothes washing service' is your maid (gladly) hand washing your stuff for you in your villa
3. The concept of a "supermarket" is not part of the local culture - so if you want to self cater then don't expect to get all your provisions from the on site shop.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Please re-consider your expectations from a holiday before you go there. Because you are going to Africa, to a very poor country. You should not expect extreamly clean rooms, a fantastic pool and superduper facilities. However, within the limitations, Kololi Beach Hotel is one of the best choice to stay. Staff is so very friendly, they make you feel like you are home. Everybody speaks English quite well, communication is never an issue. Food is very good. Both food and drinks are safe. You will realize how clean the hotel is, after you visit the city and get in touch with locals. After our first tour, when we came back to hotel, we felt like we were in heaven.
When you are outside the hotel, harassment starts, people dont let you go and ask for money. But in the hotel, staff is very carefull about keeping you relaxed. I realized a bit later that each time we were tipping their weekly salary at ones. This also explains the harassment.
It was one of our best holidays as a family.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank iremjanssen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

We went with friends and after a mix up we were given two separate bungalows as a double wasn't available. All the staff were very friendly yet professional the grounds and beach are perfectly clean. Evening meals were very enjoyable especially the BBQ evenings along with the entertainment. On site Beauty Parlour is well worth a visit very cheap I enjoyed 4 massages whilst there very affordable and the best I have ever had along with the pedicure ,all the girls are very friendly and you will enjoy their banter. If you are considering booking any trips I would advise anyone not to use the on site tour operators more expensive and poor quality,use the ones just outside the resort.All in all We had a wonderful two weeks and would strongly recommend this resort to anyone

Room Tip: A room near the beach and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank belfa186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Been coming to Kololi since 1998, although had a bit of a break recently due to other commitments, Was great to be back in November to see all old friends and as always was throughly spoilt by all the staff who can never do enough for you. All the villas are roomy and spotlessly clean. Have already booked for next year and hopefully taking rest of family with us as they are fed up with hearing how great it was.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grandmasue10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kololi
0.3 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
1,221 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Serekunda
839 reviews
2.0 mi away
Seaview Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
2.0 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kololi Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kololi Beach Club

Property: Kololi Beach Club
Address: PMB 241, Kerr Serign, Kololi, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Kololi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Kololi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kololi Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within tropical gardens, located right on the beach, Kololi Beach Resort is the perfect location to explore this unique country. Kololi offers self catering villas and apartments. Each Villa/apartment is fully furnished complete with lounge, dining area and a fully fitted kitchen. Kololi Beach Resort can also offer bed and breakfast, half board and full board options. Each property has its very own furnished terrace or balcony area. The perfect place to watch the sun go down and enjoy the abundance of wildlife, or pre dinner drinks with friends. Everything you will need to enjoy a complete 'get away from it all' holiday is here at Kololi Beach Resort. The Resort has many features including, an 18 hole par 3 Golf Course, a real test for golfers of all standards. Our on site a pro is available for lessons and all equipment is available on site. choice of 3 swimming pools, a private beach area, Club House bar and restaurant along with two further bars, both with free WiFi. A Mini Market is open daily for your daily essentials, gift shop, 24 hour reception and money exchange. Our dedicated excursion team are on hand to make sure you get the best excursions at the right price. They can even organise a private excursion for just you and your guests, making the day that bit more special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Kololi Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kololi Beach Club Hotel Kololi
Kololi Beach Club Gambia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing