We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful relaxing break by the beach”
Review of Kololi Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kololi Beach Club
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Kololi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We have just returned from the most relaxing break at Kololi beach club. The location on the beach is stunning . If you want a peaceful holiday in beautiful gardens on the beach this is the place. The accomodation is spotless ,the staff are charming and all keen to help. We ate really well both in the club and up on the strip. Do not take travellers cheques- we had to spend a lot of time trying to change them. they will happily take sterling.We would agree that parts of the resort are in need of a little TLC but it did not affect our break at all. If you are looking for a flashy resort this would not be for you but we were enchanted with it all , lizards,monkeys,vultures and beach horses. They have the most entertaining fruit vendors who arrive like a pair of pantomime dames in beautiful brightly coloured costumes at midday balancing huge baskets of fruit on their heads. Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan_jane5559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 83 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

Have been a member since staying several years ago ,we love this place ..but it needs money spent ,restaurant has gone down hill lunch at the beach very disappointing and beach furniture needs updating .villas are all very nice but they let them selves down on poor quality beds . The reception staff could be better ,we had issues with our booking which should have been delt with more helpfully ,I found them rude and un flexible but when oi contacted their hq it was amazing how things changed .the pool area and decking are a real feature the pool staff are very good and nothing is too much trouble for them . Best to eat up in sene Gambia strip at night it's better value and only 10 mins away .

Room Tip: Check before you travel re- check by e mail and check again
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paul d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Enjoyed my stay at Kololi Beach Club. The staff were extremely accomodating. We went during the off season, the last week of June. The location is great, directly on the beach. My villa was fantastic. It was close to the pool, restaurant and beach. We didn't have to search for good meals because the restaurant on site was great. Restaurant staff were anxiously awaiting our arrival for breakfast and dinner. Be prepared to have visits from the local monkeys and lizards. The facility itself could use a facelift. However, the amenities it provides helps you overlook the lack of recent renovations.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed at Kololi Beach Club in February and it was fantastic beach getaway. We had an apartment which was very well equipped, spacious and clean. A friendly, family feel with very helpful staff. Having seen other hotels in the are, this hotel is a great option.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

We have just returned from a 25 day break at Kololi Beach Club.......fabulous time! The staff are wonderful and attentive. We enjoyed everything about it.

The food at the clubhouse has great quality with plenty of choice. Always a new dish on the menu and plenty of it!

Face the DJ played varied music and lots of fun in the evenings.

Room Tip: Villa 15 has both an ocean view and a pool view. Large and very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We had a lovely time at the Beach Club and concur with many other reviews that the staff are incredibly helpful and the villas are spotlessly clean!
We spent two weeks at Kololi and although we had a wonderful holiday there were a few niggling things.
On the Saturday after we arrived there was a wedding and then another wedding on the Monday! Now I understand that people want their weddings to be perfect but it did seem a bit much that we couldn't use all the facilities that we have paid for as they were off limits due to weddings! If their are going to be more weddings other arrangements really need to be made as it isn't fair to paying guests.
The villas are cleaned to an immaculate standard and the staff are lovely.
The restaurant was a bit disappointing to be honest - overpriced in many respects - especially when there are so many good restaurants on the strip. The menu needs to be updated and to be honest the building could do with being knocked down and rebuilt.
The activities were none existent really, only boules and water polo and it was a shame that people didn't know they were happening.
The evening entertainment was poor - the African dance troops were good though.
We were told that the Club was full - but there was no way that was true. Hardly anyone turned up for the entertainment as most people ate out on the strip and didn't bother with the restaurant on site.
However that all being said we had a wonderful time in the Gambian sun and would love to go back in a few years to see if changes have been made.

Room Tip: We were in Villa 5B and it was great - just watch out for the monkey's - DO NOT FEED THEM!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sianiefm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We have been visiting Kololi for many years. We have seen many changes some for the better and we still can't resist returning every dec/jan.

We visited for two weeks over New Year. No improvements to villa's this year, but our villa was well maintained and very clean. Air conditioning in the main bedroom only at an extra, extra fans can be hired at a cost.

All staff on site are very friendly, from maids to patio boys and a special mention to the bar staff and entertainment staff. Bowls on the beach, water polo and volleyball was all good fun. The pool and beach boys ensured there were always a supply of sunbeds where you wished to sit, and were understanding to your needs if you had back problems and they would supply an extra sunbed mattress or chair.

The clubhouse restaurant was much improved this year with the return of a fantastic familiar face in management. The food was excellent and we enjoyed the more relaxed dining atmosphere, bbq evenings and happy smiling service from the waiting staff.

Evening entertainment isn't the same but that is not resort thought for trying, the kololi area is so no well developed that people are enticed to use other restaurants/entertainment venues.

Looking forward to returning this christmas. The only request would be to cut the trees down that border the beach/pool as these shade the grassed beach area very early in the afternoon.

Room Tip: Those with walking difficulties request a downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lisajz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kololi
0.3 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
1,230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Serekunda
843 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
3.9 mi away
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
5.1 mi away
Ocean Bay Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kololi Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kololi Beach Club

Address: PMB 241, Kerr Serign, Kololi, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Kololi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Kololi
Price Range: £49 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kololi Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within tropical gardens, located right on the beach, Kololi Beach Resort is the perfect location to explore this unique country. Kololi offers self catering villas and apartments. Each Villa/apartment is fully furnished complete with lounge, dining area and a fully fitted kitchen. Kololi Beach Resort can also offer bed and breakfast, half board and full board options. Each property has its very own furnished terrace or balcony area. The perfect place to watch the sun go down and enjoy the abundance of wildlife, or pre dinner drinks with friends. Everything you will need to enjoy a complete 'get away from it all' holiday is here at Kololi Beach Resort. The Resort has many features including, an 18 hole par 3 Golf Course, a real test for golfers of all standards. Our on site a pro is available for lessons and all equipment is available on site. choice of 3 swimming pools, a private beach area, Club House bar and restaurant along with two further bars, both with free WiFi. A Mini Market is open daily for your daily essentials, gift shop, 24 hour reception and money exchange. Our dedicated excursion team are on hand to make sure you get the best excursions at the right price. They can even organise a private excursion for just you and your guests, making the day that bit more special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Kololi Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kololi Beach Club Hotel Kololi
Kololi Beach Club Gambia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing