We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best tour operator with no hussle!”
Review of Arch Tours

Arch Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Arch Tours are Gambian owned & managed ground tour operators with office in the Senegambia strip next to the scala restaurant on the strip to the monkey park. We offer ethical site seeing tours, tourist trips, safaris,educational tours,exclusive tours,cultural tours,scenic tours, airport transfers, hotel and private apartment bookings and reservation & excursions in The Gambia & Senegal.we have being operating as a fully insured and registered tour company in the gambia and senegal for 11 years.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 4 February 2011

ARCH in my opinion are the best tour company in the area and do various tours all around Gambia and also over to Senegal North and South.

The staff are very preofessional . Abdul sold us the tour and I liked him - he didnt give us the usual lines that alot of the local guys too. A full 10 hour tour around the major sites in the country was 70 pounds for 2 people. And I know some people would say this is expensive and other tour guides/un offical tour guides will do it for less. But what you get with arch is priceless - their guarantee that they will look after you, your money, your safety and your enjoyment of the trip . And they will not hussle you. You dont need to bring any money with you on the tour, everything is included. I found with some of the other operators that you just werent sure what 'extras' you would have to pay when you went out with them for a day.

ARCH are very professional and their guides are excellent. No wonder Abduls business is going well - other locals should take a leaf out of his book!

We had a great time and if we go back we will be walking straight to the ARCH office to book our tours to Senegal!

Date of experience: January 2011
3  Thank Clarabello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"roots tour"
in 74 reviews
"lamin lodge"
in 65 reviews
"paradise beach"
in 74 reviews
"cattle market"
in 30 reviews
"value for money"
in 46 reviews
"the owner"
in 44 reviews
"senegal trip"
in 35 reviews
"real gambia"
in 50 reviews
"game reserve"
in 20 reviews
"doughnuts"
in 20 reviews
"from start to finish"
in 30 reviews
"these guys"
in 38 reviews
"cold drinks"
in 32 reviews
"day trip"
in 41 reviews
"on trip advisor"
in 10 reviews
"special thanks"
in 14 reviews
"fish market"
in 28 reviews
Filter

667 - 671 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2011

First visit to The Gambia and wanted to experience something of the country. We hadn't pre-booked any excursions so looked around the strip to see what was available. We liked the quality of the flyer given out by Arch-tours and after a quick check on trip advisor, our minds were made up.
We weren't disappointed! We chose two trips - 4 tours in 1, and the trip to North Senegal. What an experience. The size of the party was perfect and our guides (owner Abdul on the 4 in 1, and JJ to Senegal) were knowlegeable, informative and entertaining. All food and drinks are included in the cost. Two wonderful trips which made our holiday complete. I would not hesitate to recommend this five star organisation to anyone traveliing to The Gambia. Use them and you wont be disappointed!

Date of experience: January 2011
3  Thank kevmul16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

We recently travelled to the Gambia and had searched for trips we wished to embark on while there, Arch tours are very well spoke of so decided to book our 4 tours in one day with them. It was superb the guides were excellent all very well informed and gave us all a very happy day, I will certainly be travelling back and would most definately go again with them. Thanks so much to JJ our guide and Solomon Top driver!! See you again soon many thanks to all of you.....

Date of experience: January 2011
3  Thank Lee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

I travelled to Gambia in November with my extended family (8 of us) and stayed a The Sheraton Brufut Heights. Being the usual sceptic I thought it best to book a couple of trips with the tour company, that was until we went into senegambia and came across Arch Tours. We were not hassled at all by the staff and while passing stopped to look at the tours they did and so went inside and met Abdul, the owner.

Abdul is a lovely person and is very knowledgeable and passionate about his country. We spoke about the 4 in 1 tour and decided to go back to the hotel to cancel one of thr trips we had arranged with the rep. This we did and then went back the next day to organise the trip. As there was 8 of us we were offered a large discount on the usual price and Abdul threw down a challenge to us that he would be able to supply us with ice cold drinks all day and we couldn't possibly drink him dry. Believe me we tried and failed miserably. With the tours operated by the travel company drinks and food are not usually included and you have to buy them as you go, not with Abdul. You do not need to take any money with you if you do not want to as all refreshment and food are included in the price and although basic the food was hearty and catered for all tastes, even the fussy eater in our group. You will not be thirsty or hungry on these tours.

Abdul collected us from our hotel on time and we found we had the jeep as well as Abdul and 2 other members of staff for the whole day. The tour sounded very intense but was actually conducted at a lovely pace that suited everyone and Abdul had to keep reminding us to slow down and that the day was ours to enjoy with him.

His knowledge and passion for his country and customs are immense and his english is very easy to understand so the day was fantastic.

One of our group is not very steady on his feet so getting in and out of the back of the landrover could have been an issue but Abdul and his staff were exceptionally attentive and nothing was too much trouble.

If you do go on any of the tours make sure yiu have pens and pencils to hand, or throw, out from the jeep.

If you want a fantastic experience that is well worth the money ditch your tour operater and take the trip into senegambia and find Abdul and Arch Tours

Regards
The Hopkins Family

Date of experience: November 2010
6  Thank Bodger1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2011

Would really recommend Arch Tours for trips in Gambia.Very frendly staff who really look after you. They have a real passion for the region and care.
Prices for tours are extremely competitive .Professionally run and cannot fault

Date of experience: January 2011
2  Thank a33lex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arch Tours also viewed

 
Banjul, Banjul Division
 

Been to Arch Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing