We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous African Oasis”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Devon Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kololi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Devon Lodge
Ranked #2 of 13 Kololi B&B and Inns
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous African Oasis”
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We came to Devon Lodge for sun and peace & quiet. We got both. Our flat was nice and shady, as the African sun can be blazingly hot, so that was lovely. And it was also peaceful, an oasis of beautiful tranquility after being out in the hussle and bustle of the African interplay in town.
It was a pleasant walk to the sea, where we could sit and read or walk into the gloriously warm sea.
Our hosts, Patrica and Suleyman were lovely. Intelligent, loving people who were only too willing to help out with anything we needed. They even put a mosquito net door on the flat for us. We were greeted by a preying mantis that appeared on a vase of freshly picked flowers from the Devon Lodge garden, and it stayed with us through the weeks we were there. Perfect.
I recommend this destination to anyone wishing to enjoy Africa and have an English haven available to enjoy at the same time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    14
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
22
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We had a very pleasant relaxing stay at Devon lodge. Cleanliness, comfort, clean linen & clean towels was excellent. Patricia and Sulayman were both very helpfull and nice people. This was our 1st time in The Gambia and they were both very obliging in finding things out for us that we inquired about. The locals who live in the area are all really friendly.
The walk back and forth to the beach and resort especially at night was a bit rough, as all Kololi only the main road is tared. A torch is a must at night due to walking in the sandy, stoney uneven track with no street lights but this is the only negative on our much loved stay over Christmas & New year. We would definately consider returning to Devon Lodge on our next visit to Gambia.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DAVIS186505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
226 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed at Devon Lodge for one week at the beginning of December and was our first time to the Gambia and can highly recommend. We stayed a further week up at Brufut and this was nowhere near as lovely as Devon Lodge. The apartment is set down a quiet street and is very peaceful. The apartment was kept lovely and clean and towels and linen changed regularly. There was a little lack of kitchen utensils but to be honest it is so cheap to eat out - we never cooked. The apartment block has 24 hour security - which we didnt feel was necessary as the area is perfectly safe - but a nice touch. The staff were always smiling and the owners Patricia and Sulyman are lovely and always on hand for helpful tips. It is about a ten minute walk to the beach and the same to Senegambia Strip. It can be a little dark walking back at night from Senegambia but nothing a torch wont solve. There are the services of Ibu if you do not wish to venture out alone - we found it very easy to hail a taxi and did not feel the need to use this service.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank webber5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We had a fantastic weeks stay at Devon lodge and are looking forward to spending 3 weeks at Christmas there. The apartments are kept very clean with fresh towels and linen replaced often. The location is very peaceful, set in beautiful, well kept gardens and Senegambia beach is just a short walk away. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and Sulayman was the perfect host. Having stayed in a number of different accommodations in the Gambia, we can certainly recommend Devon Lodge as one of the best we've come across.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SSey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2011

Booked the devon guest house after looking for accomodation online. Patricia and sulyman the owners could not have been more helpful. I booked for 3 weeks and when I arrived was pleased I had booked it. The apartments are cleaned by a maid with clean sheets and towels.
The apartments are very peaceful and are quite close ( a short walk away to the nightlife of the senegambia strip)
all in all a very pleasant and enjoyable stay, will be returning

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank patsywhitehair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

We stumbled across this gem when using trip advisor to decide which hotel to stay at whilst in the Gambia. As it was we couldn't have asked for anything better. Sulayman and Patricia our hosts gave us a great welcome and were very helpful. This was our first visit to the Gambia and we were picked up from the airport by Sulayman and we were offered the services of Ibu, family member, as a guide. Ibu was a wonderful guide taking us to places no tour guide would have taken us! Our rooms were cleaned every day but Sunday, with no shortage of clean towels. We will definitely stay at Devon Lodge next time we visit the Gambia Thank you for making our holiday special Sulayman, Patricia and Ibu. Lee & Paul x

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paulee831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2011

We love Gambia and have stayed in 6 different hotels / apartments in our 6 previous holidays in Gambia, including Kombo Beach, Ocean Bay, and Senegambia Hotel. I can honestly say that Devon Lodge is one of the better ones.

We had our own idea where Devon Lodge was, but were a bit suprised how 'far' back it was from the main road - I would say around 5 mins walk on a sandy track. However, even after dark it was not a problem at all - in some ways it enhanced the experience and we even had a sing song with some of the guys on the way home. I would recommend a torch though but the bonus for us was that it is VERY quiet at night and we slept well.

Devon Lodge itself is a lovely place - nice gardens out front and the apartments are spacious and as previously mentioned, exceptionally clean. Satelitte TV, fridge, gas cooking area etc - everything you need really and if you want anything else Patricia and Sulaman go out of their way to provide if possible.

On a previous post it has been mentioned about the noise from the generator. We were a bit confused when we arrived and were asked if we wanted the generator on or off at night and we said we wanted it on, thinking if it wasn't we would have no electricity. However, this was our mistake - of course the generator kicks in when the mains electric goes off and this happened only once that I can remember when we were there and the generator noise wasn't a problem at all. As I said - very quiet at night and in the morning the bird sound ( I think it was birds??) was fantastic.

We were made to feel very welcome by the hosts - Patricia and Sulaman - and they live 'on site' but we didn't really see them much which in my opinion is a very good sign.

All in all I would say a very good choice of lodging if you are looking for a nice quality, reasonably priced apartment but maybe have been to Africa before and feel confident about wandering around then this could be ideal.

Many thanks

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wardy70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kololi
1.2 mi away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Kololi
148 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seaview Gardens Hotel
0.9 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Serekunda
830 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#4 of 6 in Kotu
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devon Lodge

Property: Devon Lodge
Address: Kololi beach, Kololi, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Kololi
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kololi
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Devon Lodge Gambia/Kololi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing