We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too long a wait.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Darboe's Restaurant

Darboe's Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 96 Restaurants in Kololi
Cuisines: African, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Too long a wait.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Popular but god knows why. We waited 2hrs for our food not a good experience Loads of good eateries near by so why bother with this place.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank clemspender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    155
    75
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Extremely popular place to eat; I stopped recommending as I couldn't get a table myself!
When busy you may find you wait a bit for your plate to arrive, but make allowances or avoid 7pm - 9pm

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SallySanyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very nice food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Darboes restaurant offers lovely Gambian food with fantastic service. The waiters were all very welcoming. I had a prawn dish which extremely tasty and fresh. The restaurant was nice and quiet when we visited and looked nice and clean. Would definitely visit again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zoealicia830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Lobster”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had been to this restaurant on our previous visit to Gambia.
I ordered the lobster which was on the specials board and I was not dissappointed, it was delicious. Heard no complaints from this restaurant at all. Very good.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Netty04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“preferred other places”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

The lady was very friendly but I must say the quality of the food was better elsewhere. The children had a good chicken nugget dish....we tried the Gambian vegetable curry which I would not recommend. The fish was ok.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Swisschilind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Darboe's Restaurant also viewed

Kololi, Banjul Division
Kololi, Banjul Division
 

Been to Darboe's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing