We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feeling home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sanchaba Yellow Apartments
Ranked #5 of 13 Kololi B&B and Inns
Kronenburg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“feeling home”
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Sanchaba yellow apartments definitely deserve an excellent feedback. Over Xmas to escape cold winter I went to Senegal first but after few days I decided to go back to Gambia where I had already been, Gambia is quite with much less troubles!
Going back to a place you know has some advantages, you already know how to move and organise yourself. And yellow apts offer a perfect logistic headquarter. Located in sanchaba a cool ad quite area of Serakunda, you are walking distance to the beaches and main touristic attractions but still in the middle of a local genuine area.
The staff, Abdul in particular, will spoil you offering fresh fruits from the garden, preparing you the gambian tea and driving you to his native village. Lamin, the manager, will advice you on everything. We managed to organise a fishing excursion and a natural walk in the nearby forest during the night. Something surely new!
The apartments, I was in the red one, are in very good conditions, cleaned daily, fresh with new mosquito nets. Electricity is there most of the time although unfortunately they need to switch on the generator. It is noisy, I prefer darkness but silence, but there are other customers that could not survive without electrcity!!
Deinitely the best option in Serekunda/banjul, and from my experience, I start thinking possibly one of the most welcoming place of west Africa.

Room Tip: go on the top floor, ask the manager not to switch on the generator if not strictly needed, choose r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiotzFelsetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    9
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
5
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Sanchaba yellow apartments were perfect for us, all the cooking and living equipment stated on the website were all present and working, every room was comfortably equipped and furnished. any minor problems you may find are immediately rectified by the brilliant ground keeper/ watch man Abdul. With out this man this place would not be the same!! i hope they value Abdul as much as he values the guests.... the building itself is a nice picture to look at (very pretty and well kept) the local shops and market are very very close by... we took our three young children this time and they loved staying at the yellow apartments and they loved all the staff too who seemed to all enjoy their company and occupying them too =)

I would recommend a stay here if your alone, with a partner or even with a large group or family. The owner, manager and keeper are all so accommodating

Thank you to Sheik, Lamin and most of all ABDULL.......

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Visited for the second time in November 2012 (previous visit April 2012).

I could not fault the apartments at all, all the staff are friendly and it was really nice to see them all again especially my pal; Lami, Lami, Lami!!!!! (If anyone else goes please call him this from Cat!!!!).

The rooms were cleaned on a daily basis except sunday! The gardens were as lovely as ever though sadly no mangos this time :(

My only complaint was that we never got chance to grab a cup of green tea with Abdul seen as we were busy and seemed to be out so much- but ill be sure to get my order in next time!!!!

Next visit April 2013- not booked yet as got to sort flights and save some money up! but they will be booked very soon!!!

excited about our return

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Stayed at the appartments in November 2012 for 1 week everyone is so helpful and friendly, specially Lamin. The accommodation is of a good standard and very clean, have already re-booked for a 3 week stay

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jackiefs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2012

I spent two weeks in Sanchaba yellow apartments from 15 to 27 of october only because it was full booked , but i would have liked to spend at least one week more . 
Veeery  enjoyable place( and if i say it -my friend say i am a bit choosy- you can trust it blindfolded.)

-first the garden: as you arrive home , a garden worthy of this  name gives you the first welcome :a point which i appreciate expecially  for the nice shadow during the hot hours or in the morning  when you can pick up papayas and mangoes for breakfast directly from the trees after being woken up by choirs of different birds that seemed to have gathered their capstan to our apartment... Lovely
- another point which as italian i tremendously appreciated was the kitchen 
Full fitured nice and clean kitchen with everything needed   to coock a perfect" lasagna alla bolognese " if you need it ( and i did it  almost once after an entire week seeking for red onion and a variety of small red tomatoes similar to the Pachino tomatoes...)anyway...the gas hoven was  simply the little touch wich gave me the joy of being home abroad.

The Bathrooms are  very clean with hot water and italian mayolicas, the bedroom are simple and confortable , the service impeccable.Internet connection was not slow at all and even if you have to pay for it , is  african fee very honest.

Raccomended five star , i wilk come back for sure

Livio Carburatore

Room Tip: Apartments are all beautifull the red one has a great veranda but the violet has the best shadow
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carbura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kronenburg, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I met some italian guys at a caffe in Sanchaba, they were entusiastic about the place they stayed, sachaba yellow apartment. They invited me the next day for a coffe in the veranda.
Yes this is the place to stay! thanks again to make me discover this hidden corner in sanchaba. I had to wait three days before a flat was available and then I moved there for my last few days of holiday. There are 4 apartments fully equipped, kitchen is there and you can cook dinner in the terrace or in the green garden pleny of flovers. The place is very quite, and the little noise in the roads comes from the childrend going to the near school. Roads around are no-tarmac and you are well away from gambian traffic!! Room clean and well ventilated, with mosquito nets and good beds. You can walk to the beach and enjoy the local community, there is a typical market just around the corner. I have to say a found a place to stay after almost two months travelling around West Africa. In short sanchaba yellow apartment was better then the coffe of my new italian friends! :-)

Room Tip: organise with Lamin Sar best barbeque in WA!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KiotzFelsetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milano
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

here we are... as promised back to sanchaba yellow apartments, wherelse in gambia to relax for a couple of weeks?? and the place is even better, the garden is now fluorishing as paradise and birds are, gosh, waking you up in the morning with their inaccessible jingle. Gorgeous tropical fruit cocktails on the terrace watching the slowly sanchaba life. Lamin Sar gives you the right tips, what to do and where to go. Apartments shining, room clean and cosy, kitchen appliances in perfect condition, water and hot shower always there, only once we were cut out of electricity but the generator was there. Lamin told us the property wants to install solar power...
well done again yellow apartments. this time you score 100%,
Unfortunately I'll not make again before 2013,
bye for now!

Room Tip: bottom one easier to access the garden but definitly the top ones with terrace to enjoy sanchaba str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank malamerenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kololi
0.0 mi away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Kololi
151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
1,214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Seaview Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Holiday Beach Club Hotel
0.0 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#4 of 6 in Kotu
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanchaba Yellow Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanchaba Yellow Apartments

Property: Sanchaba Yellow Apartments
Address: Sanchaba Sulay Jobe, Kololi 20100, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Kololi
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kololi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
YELLOW APARTMENTS is a totally new, beautiful twin storey building with 4 self contained apartments for rent.The house is situated in Sanchaba, 1.5 km from Senegambia in a heaven of peace and tranquility, being only a few minutes walk to shops, restaurants and all other amenities, and a short stroll to the sandy beach.There is 700 metrE square garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sanchaba Yellow Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sanchaba Yellow Apartments Gambia/Kololi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing