We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY ATMOSPHERE”
Review of Al Basha - CLOSED

Al Basha
Cuisines: Lebanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
bournemouth
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“LOVELY ATMOSPHERE”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The food was fantastic,not the cheapest restaurant in the area,good air con. Have been many times,there used to be a live belly dancer but last time i went this was not happening sadly. Service is excellent and very clean premises.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank crazyjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    3
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Al basha restaurant - buffet”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

After looking at reviews I decided to try the Friday night buffet last night. I got there about 8.15pm, when the buffet was just starting.

Already the chicken had finished - had to wait around 15 minutes for more, as it had been used by people getting take-aways. The selection of hot dishes was poor - rice with lamb (minimal meat), lasagne and 2 chicken dishes. By the time the chicken came the rice was cold.

I was disappointed - it was a total waste of the 450D each. I would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank margaret1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a hidden gem!! its a must”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

What a meal!! This was my first time trying lebanese food, and what a pleasent suprise!!
With a great variety of choice ranging from grilled meat to fresh fish to very tasty vegatian dishes!!
As a vegitarian I found it very hard to eat at the other resturant as their menus where mostly 'fast food'.
Albasha resturant is a step above the rest, you can taste the freshness of the food.. i highly recommend trying the 'meze for two' which consisit of eight different dishes
its excellent value for money and so tasty!! also make sure to ask your waiter for the special offers of the week as my husband and I had 2 glasses of free wine with our meal..
i will definately be going back on my next trip to the gambia!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banjul
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Affordable / Friendly /& spoiled for choices”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

The Al Basha Restaurant at Senegambia road Strip it title Lebanese Cuisine But Does offer most International Food , The Grills are Fabulous , Lebanese Kafta, marinated chicken or fish skewers, Lot of Variety for vegetarian as well, Don't Miss the Friday Night Buffet, £10 you eat till you can't stand on your feet you will be spoiled for choices the waiters are professional and well Trained, Many Restaurants in the Gambia waiters are Hired seasonal for a short period and most do different jobs, at Al Basha they been there for Years and are Friendly with many Repeaters who visit the Restaurant on their next trip. Also I Like the Air-conditioning cool Atmosphere in door But you have the Choice of a nice outside terrace where you can sit have your Meal and watch the Pedestrians strolling up and down The strip...

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Buffet night is a good bet if you are not vegetarian”
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This is a lebanese restaurant, while we where in Kololi they were doing a friday buffet night and a sunday bbq night.
We went here as a group of 8 for the buffet, a quick negotiation got us half price for the kids, the food was very good, a large range of started, approx 5 mains and a couple of not too great desserts.
The drinks are quite expensive, but the bottle of wine we had for £12 was nice.
The only let down for us was that although we had asked about vegetarian choices (for 1 of our party) and had been reassured that there was plenty of choice we found a reasonable selection of starters, but only plain rice for the main.
So summing up, good value if you are not a veggie

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lI0ve2h0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Basha also viewed

Kololi, Banjul Division
 
Kololi, Banjul Division
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing