We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“dont book this hotel direct, they always overbook”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bamboo Garden Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Kololi B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“dont book this hotel direct, they always overbook”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

we arrived on the 2nd of feb 2014 to find we had no room after i booked it on the 7th of jan and got confirmation my room was available and booked, we was sent to another hotel called the paradise suites, which was filthy dirty, the room hadnt been cleaned, we went to see the manager at the bamboo garden hes was the most unhelpful person u could ever wish to meet, in the end we walked out as he was being very rude and aggresive, so please be advised its not the best of starts anyone needs for there 2 weeks holiday, wouldnt recommed this hotel, due to bad management skills

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank catsndogs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    41
    15
    7
    4
See reviews for
12
43
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

The management of this hotel is terrible and they don’t appear to understand the term ‘customer service’.

Having booked two rooms and received email confirmation in early January 2014, on arrival four weeks later they informed us that there were no available rooms and that we could either stay in an apartment some distance from Kololi or alternatively in the Paradise Suites. Given it was late evening we opted for a night in the Paradise Suites with a view to returning to speak to the manager the following morning. On arriving at the Paradise Suites we were shown to rooms where the beds hadn’t been changed or the rooms cleaned; on refusing these rooms we were eventually given clean rooms.

The following day we visited Bamboo Gardens, initially speaking to the person who had confirmed the bookings; she explained they had double-booked but there was nothing they could do. We waited around until late morning to see the Manager; he wasn’t at all apologetic about the situation and confirmed that the tour operator had taken more rooms than expected and they had to take priority which was why we couldn’t be allocated rooms. After much discussion he eventually agreed to try and find alternative accommodation and asked us to return mid-afternoon to see him.

On returning later he confirmed the Mansea Beach had available rooms and arranged for us to go and view them which we did. Whilst the rooms were acceptable when subsequently speaking to the manager at the Bamboo Gardens he became extremely rude and quite aggressive before storming off. As a result the cost of our accommodation increased and we lost a day of our holiday.

This is not the first time we have experienced incompetence at this hotel. Having stayed here three months previously this booking too was incorrect and as a result had to spend the first two days of the holiday at the sister hotel, Seaview Gardens. Twelve months prior to this when staying at the Seaview Gardens they tried moving us to alternative accommodation but having made a stand they eventually managed to find rooms for us.

With all this in mind I would suggest you carefully consider whether it’s worth booking with this hotel bearing in mind you are not guaranteed accommodation on arrival and could well be treated appallingly by the management.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hedgerows11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laugharne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We were put in this hotel as the sister hotel Seaview Gardens had been over booked. we were delighted with the Bamboo Hotel, the staff were great and couldn't do enough to make us comfortable, in fact we all agreed the breakfast was better in the Bamboo, although it was busy during breakfast and seating was a limited it was not a problem, the facilities were very good, it was clean in all areas and the grounds looked lovely. would stay here again. Margaret A

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Just back from a brilliant week with my best friend. Great value for money hotel, our room was very plainly decorated which didn't bother us at all there are chairs outside to sit on and chat to 'check check' (security guard) if you want to. Because it was cooler at night we thought our room was a perfect temperature.

We are more pool side people as we found the beach (although lovely for a walk) a bit hectic with bumsters and vendors stopping you to do the hard sell, although we were two girls on our own and we saw lots of couples who were not being bothered as much at all. The staff were lovely and we have made some lovely friends. Babou the pool attendant made sure we were looked after and had all the sun we needed and 'yus' behind the bar kept us entertained! Although all staff really lovely. The breakfast was plain and simple but fine and everything you need was in easy reach. We were out a lot at night do it didn't bother us but you could hear the music from the bars and clubs in our room well into the early hours.
All in all, we loved this holiday, great value for money, we are hoping to organise a return trip for next year!
Thanks for looking after us xxx

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

Nice hotel, but our room was very hot - even in January. It was as good as could be expected for the price in the Gambia.

The staff were friendly and helpful, though. I enjoyed the location and was generally satisfied with the hotel it so nice as my kids were all over the place.

The swimming pool was also a one of a million not that big but it was very clean, comfortable to relax on the sun bed.

This hotel is good value for money (in terms of an Africa Hotels), realitively modern and a 10 min walk to the beach side.

Room Tip: Nice rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Islak K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Our first night in this hotel was one of our best holiday night ever myself and my wife have even had since we have been traveling.

The decor,location,size of the room and service was just wonderful, the neighborhood was very enjoyable to stroll through, the decor of the rooms and size created a very warm atmosphere in which you could have been happy to just relax there.

The service was exceptionally caring and the waiters and staffs were all good to us....I trully enjoyed everything about the hotel.

We will be coming soon again as we have to see some of the school around for some charities..The management should keep it up... Thanks from Vanba and wife

Room Tip: Excellent staffs and beautiful hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanba S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

A great location, friendly staff, and an incredible view sea side with a lots of restaurant around, where breakfast is served with a smile from the faces of the staffs, Excellent breakfast on the pool side restaurant.

The breakfast staff was especially nice and the gentleman who manned the bar just at the pool side in the afternoons absolutely saved us one day, when we came back a bit hungry but not quite ready for dinner.

He whipped up a cheese plate and some small sandwiches that kept us going until we were ready to head out to Banjul to see the arch there in the small capital city. the room were very clean and nice with the real typical African made bed.. was also nice to sleep on it.

We really liked it here on our stay and Nothing more we just had a wonderful stay and a brilliant holiday at the bamboo garden hotel!

Room Tip: Nice bed rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kololi
0.4 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seaview Gardens Hotel
0.7 mi away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Kololi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
1.2 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#4 of 6 in Kotu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bamboo Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Garden Hotel

Property: Bamboo Garden Hotel
Address: | Off Bertil Harding’s Highway Duplex Complex Center, Kololi, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Kololi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kololi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bamboo Garden Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Jovago.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bamboo Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Garden Hotel Gambia/Kololi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing