We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bamboo Garden Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$61
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Boboi Beach Lodge(Kololi)(Great Value!)
US$32
Jumia Travel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Jumia Travel
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (132)
Filter reviews
132 results
Traveller rating
30
56
21
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
56
21
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall bathroombuffet breakfasthotel locationbeansten minute walkair conditioningthe wi fihot dog sausageslovely hotelhot waterpoco lococleaned dailymain stripweek stayfresh towelssmiling coastfruit juice
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 132 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Arrived at hotel all seemed ok room was comfy very basic on new block. After a couple days getting to know our way around started to notice how the management of the hotel was not good wet room always flooded as out let pipe to small for run away of water, curtains in room not dark enough as there is light that stays on outside towels taken away everyday washed in BUCKETS left hanging over hotel wall to dry so never got them back until late afternoon also I did see some bed sheets washed in this way hygiene not good. Breakfast was the same everyday if you want eggs ask 2 small toaster one was always broke cups chipped glaze cracked. tables chairs sunbeds very uncomfortable nowhere comfy or relaxing to sit very over staffed seemed to be doing nothing no entertainment offered from what they call A Team no pool towels pool boy hard to find in mornings bar staff dreaming away while you wait to be served also watch what they charge you for pay as you go they do not have till system, power does go off everyday sometimes can take along time to come on as we where told by staff they have to call manager for money to get oil when power is off no water runs so can be very inconvenient pool to cold to swim, also staff use pool to teach friend to swim. Comment from one of the staff who worked in hotel never worked in hotel managed like this before. This hotel is run on a very tight budget. Area was all ok close to everything.

Room Tip: New block room 40 very basic it has wet room water does not run away quick enough that's due to small outlet pipe only one small mirror no hair dryer sockets not all work, bed comfy pillows terrible, bed cover not clean, tv works on just 2 stations. Could here night club but was not that bad, the casino is not there any more, really was quiet at night.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 879carole49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Some of the latest reviews look to be from the same person and are a bit over the top, I will give in mo an honest review, the situation of hotel is good although it does get very loud on Thursday Friday and Saturday nights , the local nightclub and casino are just up the road and the music doesn't stop until 6/7 am.the staff or most of them I found very nice and helpful, the pool bar is nice and it's nice to have a late drink there after returning to the hotel from your meal. The only food we ate there was breakfast which was ok but to try and serve a lot of people with one two slice toaster was a joke, the table clothe didn't look like they had been changed in the two week we were there,the rooms need some makeover and our cleaner was no good at all the floors and wash basin never looked clean and at least twice she never made the bed, we stayed in room 17,I know it's the Bamboo hotel but there's just to much of the stuff, sun beds and chairs are not very nice to sit on for any length of time but the worst bit is the Bamboo round the beds, you a about 8/10 inches of Bamboo all round the bed and a bit dirty and awkward to get in and out of without scratching yourself ,would I return ? I don't think so but a lot depends on price, but a little cleaning will help, they have got it right in the gardens and pool area but not in the bedrooms

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank shaz1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Just back from a splendid holiday from The Gambia which was a very nice holiday for me and my whole families.

The hotels location is a 5 minute walk to the beach and its location is perfect for all of your sightseeing needs or if your feeling fit its not too far to the Elite fitness center which is just 3 minutes walk from the hotel!!

The room we booked was perfect, kept immaculately clean by the staff, it was warm comfortable, spacious and quiet. All we could really want for the families.

The only thing I have a minor gripe with is the Wi-fi it is a little temperamental especially at night but mind you its free! but as i said its me just trying to find something.

Now onto the highlight of the our stay here. Its simple. THE STAFF. They are nothing short of exceptional. from the receptionists to the bar tenders to the breakfast staff even the General manager who was kind enough to talk to us with a lots of smile on is face.. what a beautiful place to stay for an holiday.

staff like this would make me want to come back to this hotel in a heartbeat we were made feel very special.. Thanks to all.

Room Tip: perfect rooms and pool
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Went to this hotel on 5th February for 11 nights.stayed in room 45 which was one of the rooms in the new block at the back. Its clean, well maintained and i was delighted with the room in the new block. You pay extra for air con or a fridge, but i used neither. Safety deposit boxes in the rooms but security in and around the hotel and all the staff including cleaning and security guys are very helpful and friendly. The location is about half way between kotu and senegambia strip so you can walk to both and is near the beach. Great comfortable beds too. Only drawback, its close to 2 / 3 nightclubs and the sound carries on until 5am, but only one or 2 nights at weekends. Would i stay there again, absolutely yes next time i go, i will definitely stay there.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank nigel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

we arrived on the 2nd of feb 2014 to find we had no room after i booked it on the 7th of jan and got confirmation my room was available and booked, we was sent to another hotel called the paradise suites, which was filthy dirty, the room hadnt been cleaned, we went to see the manager at the bamboo garden hes was the most unhelpful person u could ever wish to meet, in the end we walked out as he was being very rude and aggresive, so please be advised its not the best of starts anyone needs for there 2 weeks holiday, wouldnt recommed this hotel, due to bad management skills

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank catsndogs123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews