We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gambia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Kololi
Reviewed 24 February 2013

What you have to remember when travelling to the Gambia you are going to a third world contry so our standers do not apply. Have stayed at this hotel 5 times and will be returning again next year after staying at another hotel this year. Where we have cigerettes and food items taken never happened here, I always take a kettle and never had any problems, walk in to hotel with bottles of water no problem, staff always good and willing to help where they can explain about flowers etc. Love this Hotel.

Room Tip: will not tell best room in case I can not get it when I return
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank suzanne717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (578)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 578 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2013

We have just returned from 3 week stay at HBC. I had read the reviews before going and was worried that we had made a huge mistake, however we were pleasantly surprised as we had a nice room near the pool and beach. The room was clean and although basic had everything we needed. The towels were changed every day, we had hot water and our cleaner Bilo was really kind and helpful. I must admit that I was relieved not to have been given A or b blocks as lots of people asked to be moved, they also seemed to be mostly occupied by students. The first week we had sunbeds by the beach as people appeared to be up at the crack of dawn reserving sunbeds by the pool, a lot of the time they could be left unoccupied for hours before use, which i feel should be stopped. The beach is being eroded but there are plenty of sunbeds just inside the fenced area which over looks the sea.
The beech bar is in a lovely spot and was nice to sit and look out to sea etc.
breakfast is very basic and we mostly took a short walk on to the strip for coffee and breakfast.
There are lots of rules about what you can't do but to be honest it did not really make much difference to our stay. There is daytime entertainment which was ok. The staff are all really friendly.
I was impressed about the hotel, the grounds are lovely and we could not fault it as it was good value for money. I am surprised that this hotel gets so many negative comments tbh.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms by the pool area and avoid A and B. need to go with an open mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank red_gilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

just returned from 2 weeks in holiday beach club, hotel was basic but clean, staff very friendly. Lamin the beach boy was great would set your towels out every morning for you. worth while upgrading to a larger room if you can. Breakfast was very basic but you can order cooked or just go to one of the bars/ resturants outside for a good breakfast.
would definately go again.

Room Tip: up grade if possible, try to avoid A or B block as you get a lot of noise from the bars {even though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anne186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

This was our fourth stay at the HBC and as usual it was amazing.
The hotel is in an excellent location on the beach and on the main strip so that everything you need is on the doorstep.
The hotel grounds are as always well maintained( the gardeners do a great job ) The rooms are basic but cleaned daily, the only minor issue is the slippery floor in the bathroom ( my wife fell over ).
All the hotel and reception staff are friendly and will do anything to help.
A brilliant hotel to stay at for all your holiday needs.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gibletts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

lovely hotel.only rated 2 star,but service is 5 star.hotel is kept immaculate.nice big rooms,beautiful gardens,big pool,nice private beach area,and most importantly,the best staff in the world.massive praise to our cleaning lady Fatou.she is brilliant.she has now become our friend.our first time in Gambia,and we loved it.we are going back next year and every year after to HBC.its magic.
The people of Gambia are lovely people.we have made so many friends.
Reccomend this hotel highly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gillian9721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We stayed here 29th Jan - 12 th Feb 2013 and were a bit worried about the mixed reviews - however, we were not disappointed. We stayed in a "deluxe" room as that is what popped up when paying on line - room 208 just near reception. The room was basic with a kitchen type area, a sitting area and a lovely comfortable double bed - best nights sleep for years !! The staff are mostly lovely - a special mention for Ensa, Sarah and Dembo (waiters/bar staff) and Etria (pool) and the entertainment guy and Adema who cleaned our room daily to a very high standard.and Malik the security guy.Breakfast is basic but certainly edible - fruit juice, cereal, bread, cheese and ham and fruit - but you can order a cooked breakfast but these are probably better on the strip.The pool is big and very clean and the communal areas are very clean. We ate snacks at the hotel a couple of times and the food was really nice and freshly cooked to order although more expensive than restaurants on the strip. Julbrew is 50 Dalasis. The spirit measures are a bit stingy so did not bother after one. We did not have a problem with taking our own drinks into our room. The beach at the back of the hotel is diminishing fast but a short walk leads to more beach - sunset beach bar is about 30 minutes walk from the hotel and is reasonable. All in all a good hotel - would go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kevandalBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Jan 5th-25th 2013

We had an excellent holiday at HBCH for the 3rd time.
Knowing what to expect in the laid back style it provides we had the quietness and easy going activitywe recalled from previous visits. Just right for a couple of active OAP,s
The staff were once again friendly and attentive and eager to please. The gardens,pool,bars and restaurants clean and tidy. The rooms were kept clean and towels/bed linen changed as required. We had a problem room and after speaking quietly to Mr.Gaye the owner he said as soon as another came available they would move us.A few days later we did move and the rest of our stay was enjoyable. During our 3 week stay we used the restaurant 7 times and found the new chef had greatly improved the menu available.
There are too many staff to name personally so we say thankyou to them all. They helped make our holiday so relaxing.
We have booked for next January so heres to meeting old friends and staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lyndian123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kololi
0.1 mi away
Kololi Beach Resort
Kololi Beach Resort
#2 of 10 in Kololi
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#2 of 17 in Serekunda
1,318 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#4 of 6 in Kotu
790 reviews
1.2 mi away
smartline Palma Rima
smartline Palma Rima
#6 of 10 in Kololi
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 17 in Serekunda
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Beach Club Hotel

Address: Kololi Beach, Kololi, Serekunda, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Serekunda > Kololi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Kololi
Price Range: £43 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Beach Club Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Beach Club Hotel is a simple traditional African hospitality facility of a Two (2) Star rating, situated on the Golden Kololi Beach. The Holiday Beach Club Hotel Complex features 81 rooms consisting of Superior, Pool view, Sea view, Single storey and Garden View rooms. It also has a swimming pool, Main Bar, Beach Bar and Restaurant. Its mission is to provide a simple but modest Gambian hospitality service of excellence, while aiming to make the Gambia a tourist haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Beach Hotel
Holiday Beach Kololi
Holiday Beach Club Hotel Gambia/Kololi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing