We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Beach Club Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Sarges Hotel(Kololi)
US$84
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$69
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$51
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (600)
Filter reviews
600 results
Traveller rating
145
259
112
48
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
259
112
48
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstwo double bedsbeach barrooms are basichamblock bhot waterarch toursbasic breadtravel kettlecooked breakfastnew managementper weekafrican queenbars and restaurantsmelonfruit sellersclean towels every day
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
263 - 268 of 600 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

I guess its a third world country and I knew what to expect. The rooms were in a poor state but they were kept very clean, the gardens were kept in very good condition. My main complaint on arrival there was no one to greet you or take your bags to the room just a grunt from reception with a hand point in the general direction. The sun beds were in a poor condition lots were broke or had not mattress and there was not enough to go around. Food was fine and the hotel staff in General were very good. I would go back as the hotel in General is great just a few areas that let it down. It could do with room safes as well as the general reception safe area.



Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Burbig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed in Block B, the room was dated and very basic. Towels were changed every day but had an awful musty damp smell. Sheets were very grubby. A fan is an absolute must, we got up at 3am the first night to go and get one from reception. Patio doors were very difficult to lock and every day when we came back the door had been left unlocked, presumably by the maid. Nothing went missing but it wasnt very safe.

The breakfast was very good, very nice bread, butter, jam, cheese, ham, fruit, cereals, juice and tea or coffee, certainly no reason to leave there hungry.

The pool guys, Lamin and David were very friendly and helpful and always rushed around getting our sunbeds ready.

Every day the board outside reception had details of the days activities on it, but we didnt see any of these actually happen, so not too sure what that was for.

The beach was awful, nothing like the pictures we saw before we arrived! Sandbags and concrete barriers outside the hotel.

The Gambians were lovely friendly people, always chatty and happy, and staff were always polite and helpful.

All in all, we had a lovely holiday with our friends, but I'm not too sure we will return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janeyh1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

HBC was just okay. We went with Thomas Cook and was put in block B these room are very basic, we have been to Goa 8 times and these were the most basic we have ever stayed in. The problem is they have no option of air conditioning which is a must, we went with two other couples and we all thought the same. The bedding looks grubby and the towels always had a musty smell. We ended up with a fan which helped push the warm air around the room to help us sleep.
The pool area is nice but the pool filtration doesn't seem to work. Staff were friendly and polite and always smiling.
The beach is very eroded and has only space for about 8 sunbeds. Overall we won't be rushing back to HBC.....The Gambia however is nice and one day we may go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We loved our stay in holiday beach club. The hotel was immaculately clean. The gardens were beautiful. It's a perfect setting, walk up the path into the main street where you can find great eating places. We tried pizza's and pasta's from the main strip which were delicious. The hotel food was pretty basic, but it was made with so much love care and attention it didn't matter. The monkey's come and visit you all the time they're hilarious. I got a pic of one picking another's bum ha ha!! The staff in this hotel were the best people I've met in a service environment. It's a smiling coast for sure. We spent NYE in the green mamba restaurant, they gave us a party pack to enjoy too. We got up and chose our own raw food, raw veg, our carbs and then they cooked it all in the sauce you want. This holiday was one of our favourite holidays ever. The sea's quite rough, which was very entertaining too! We met some lovely people in Gambia. The only negative we'd say is that it was hard when we turned up with pinky white skin and people knew we were new! We were asked so many times to go into bars and restaurants but as the days went on, we realised the secret phrase... "Sorry we are meeting our friends up the road. We'll come back later" Enjoy every minute of this hotel, and this place.
Ps. What ever you do, make sure you go and book as many trips as possible. Really insightful, and if you've got children of an age where they can understand, meeting the families living in shanty area's will really get them thinking about how lucky they are to be in the 1st world.

Room Tip: We asked to stay in the self catering area the opposite side of the beach, nearer to the main gates. Thats where the monkeys come and play on your porch! xx
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynds2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This was our 20th visit to the HBC. Why? It is ideally situated for the beach and restaurants/shops. This is a basic 2* hotel and it shows in many ways. The rooms vary a lot - don't assume the picture shown in the Thomas Cook brochure is what you will get. However the rooms are cleaned every day, clean towels every day and clean sheets every three days.
The gardens are picturesque and there is a great pool. The staff are very friendly and keen to please although the reception/management side can be less so.
There are various reviews regarding breakfast which the hotel describes as continental. We think it's pretty atrocious. If you want something cooked a boiled egg will cost £1.05 and scrambled egg £3.00. Don't bother with the bacon unless you like it very streaky and cooked to a crisp. The GTS restaurant (turn right out of the gate) do egg,bacon,tomatoes,toast and a mug of tea for £2.00.
The weather of course is virtually guaranteed sunshine but we did have some cloudy days and rain - almost unheard of in November.
Book your sun bed early as they can run out of beds/mattresses. Change your money at one of the many money exchange shops. Eat out at the many restaurants ranging from 2* - 4* and buy your drinks at the supermarket. If you smoke cigarettes are 50p, yes 50p a packet !!
You'll love it or you'll hate it - hope you have a good holiday.

Room Tip: As already said the rooms vary a lot - unless you opt for a superior room. You may be lucky you may not.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul_L271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews