We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central beach front location in senagambia.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Beach Club Hotel
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Kololi
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Central beach front location in senagambia.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

A cheap and cheerful hotel in a central location on the main senagambia strip. Just yards away from numerous cafés, restaurants and other shops. Additionally the Kololi market is less than a 5 minute walk away and the Bijalo forest 10 minutes, where you can wander around on well marked pathways and watch the monkeys and birds etc (no guide needed despite what the local bumsters will tell you!). Outside the market you can get cheap local transport to other destinations (Banjul, the larger senagambia market and further afield including to the Senegal border). The hotel itself was satisfactory. Gambian star ratings do not equate to UK ones, nonetheless, for a cheap place to lay your head the facilities are fine and the rooms not bad - basic but spotlessly clean. The hotel has security and bumsters are kept out of the hotel grounds themselves but do lurk at the front gate and steps down to the beach. The hotel has a restaurant, bar and snack facilities. Breakfasts were ok - nothing exciting (eggs, cereal, bread and jam). The pool and surrounding area were cleaned daily and there were plenty of sun loungers available. Alternatively, loungers were available on the beach in front of the hotel if you can face the hassle from bumsters (they do leave you alone after a few days!). A walk along the beach is nice and it's worth going out early one morning to watch the fisherman hauling in their catch. Horse riding is available at various sights along the beach (some horses better cared for than others) and juice stands are dotted all over the place. From my sons point of view the most appealing aspect to staying at the holiday beach club was the numerous monkeys within the hotel grounds (do not leave anything out on your balcony or else they will run off with it! Also, be careful when walking through the grounds with food - one large monkey ran up behind me, leapt on my shoulder and reached over prising open my fingers one by one to take a snack I was eating. My son thought it was hilarious but it was a little scarey - they have really sharp teeth, some are aggressive and rabies is present in the monkey population in Gambia). Overall, we thought the location and price were the best aspects of this hotel. If you prefer somewhere more comfortable and up market I'd recommend the Senegambia hotel which is literally a 2 minute walk away from the holiday beach club (although if it's price and a place to lay your head I'd opt for holiday beach club again as you can use the Senegambia hotel facilities anyway! Either way, if you have children, we'd recommend that you go to one of the daily vulture feeding sessions at the Senegambia hotel! Fun - but boy are those birds ugly!! My son loved feeding the vultures.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    227
    104
    47
    36
See reviews for
76
289
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

After reading some of the poor reviews we were a bit concerned, but thought each to there own opinions and went with an open mind. Thank goodness we did. We arrived late at night to be met by friendly reception staff who were very helpful. On finding our room near the pool we entered to find a spotlessly clean large bedroom with two large beds, wardrobes and drawers to easily unpack and store all your things away. The pool bar was open and they very kindly made the four of us travelling plates of chips and bread and butter before we went to bed. It was so peaceful of an evening. You are situated close enough to the strip but far enough away to not hear it. All the staff were helpful, friendly, informative about the area and full of interesting facts about Gambia. The gardens are beautifully maintained, and the pool was spotless and cleaned every day. The cleaning ladies are worth their weight in gold to. We ate everyday either at the pool or at the beach bar and the food was of a high standard. Yes the beach has shrunk in size at the hotel but that is down to weather conditions which have eroded it away. And as we now know in this country there is nothing anybody can do to change the weather and the damage it can cause, so not the hotels fault. We tried a different restaurant every night over two weeks and found all to be good, not a single bad meal. Would recommend Ali Babas for fussy eaters as there is a lot of variety on the menu. If you would like to go on any excursions whilst in Gambia, go just outside the main gates of The Holiday Beach Club and ask for LAMIN SANKAREH. He is a licensed tourist taxi driver and a great guy who will sort things for you at a fraction of the cost. Also if you enjoy fishing find Alex Fatty on the beach just up from the hotel on the right. He will take you out and make sure you catch something.

Room Tip: Make sure you keep your doors closed after 630pm or the pesky mosquitos will pay a visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aliNotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

We stayed one week in the hotel during New Year. The room was very basic and worn, but still okay. Terrace in front of the room was nice. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. On New Year Eve's dinner there was a mistake with our bill in the hotel restaurant. I don't know if they tried to cheat us or was it just a honest miscalculation. Except that one incident I don't have anything to complain about the service.

The location is perfect. The best thing (in my boyfriend's opinion) was that there is A SURFBREAK right in the front of the hotel. And there were nice waves and the possibility to surf everyday! But you need to bring your own board as there is no surf shops in Gambia. At least we didn't see any.

Breakfast was really simple but it was okay. I actually started to like it after the first day's disappointment.

We only tried hotel's restaurant on New Year's evening dinner. For me as a half vegetarian it was nothing special, but everyboby else said it was really tasty.

We didn't like any of the "tourist restaurants" in Kololi. The best food we got in Rellax Bar on the main road.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ami V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Just returned from a wonderful 2 weeks in the Gambia. Staying at the Holiday beach Club Hotel. An excellent location for the beach and the strip. This hotel deserves more than its 2 star rating. Yes the rooms and breakfast are basic. But everything is wonderfully clean and tidy and the grounds and pool area are beautifully kept. We stayed in A block, and, yes you can hear some noise from the strip but it was never enough to keep us awake! We hired a fridge so we could keep drinks cold and loved to sit on the veranda and watch the monkeys! Just a word of warning we think our maid was pilfering small items from our room, nothing major or expensive but i lost several items of make up and toiletries during our stay.Having said that all the other staff were wonderful and couldn't do enough for you.We used Bushwacker tours for our trips who were excellent and we would recommend this area to anyone looking for an economic wintersun holiday.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rachaelandwayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Location excellent for the beach and main strip, excellent restaurants, 65dalasis to the uk pound, pool area very quite for a relaxing holiday, the monkeys arriving everyday are a joy to see, the veritably of birds you can see in the hotel grounds are amazing, the breakfast is very basic. I will be booking for next February, only 6hours from the uk, same time zone, to eat out is very cheap.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank 123travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

was at holiday beach for quick week there 1st feb alough wee had prob wa hot water they went oot way sort it staff all brill have new menu and the cheff some cook clean as any 5 star av been in an grounds kept beautifull recomend it to anybody old or young 2 min fa strip but still very quiet at ngt security great alll in all get over there enjoy the african xperiance

Room Tip: superior rooms are brill
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonnybravo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Really enjoyed my time here but didn't enjoy the room in B Block, it was dark and dingy and it annoyed me that the bungalows were much nicer for the same amount. I wanted to move or upgrade but hubby couldn't be bothered after we unpacked so I got used to it, but I did enjoy sitting on the balcony watching the sun go down and seeing the monkeys swing from tree to tree. The bed was fine and the toilet seat was replaced quickly after it had broken.
The electrics are a bit iffy we had sparks popping out when we changed plugs.

Our neighbours in the next room brought an ice maker with them which the management charged them for as they said it was a fridge....ummm don't think so! If it was me I wouldn't have paid it as they wouldn't supply

The showers and hot water were fine, though it could run out if you were late in.

The staff were friendly but did try to give us less money on the exchange rate on the first day which they tried to do again after it was pointed out, we went elsewhere on the strip after that and it was a better rate.
ice at the bar!

Both of us had 2 massages and really enjoyed them although I was suppose to have two types and there were basically the same, but still enjoyable.
Whilst I knew it would be basic as I had read the review, I have spent the same amount of money going both to Sri Lanka and Thailand at Christmas and staying in much nicer accommodation.

There is no shortage of restaurants here and our favourites were Green Mamba and Scala and went to both twice, the Grilled Lady fish was to die for. We pretty much went to all the restaurants and could not complain about the food anywhere, though the service at the Lebanese restaurant one night was a bit slow, we weren’t bothered too much but we saw 3 tables get up and leave.

We went out later for New Years Eve and unfortunately my husbands wallet was stolen out of a buttoned down pocket which put a sore taste in my mouth. We did see a couple of times police running after bumsters so security is good, just need to be a bit more vigilant and keep an eye on your belongings. After we enquired on what was going on, it was denied by all that anything was happening.

I didn't find we had too much hassle and a strong polite "no thanks" and keep walking deterred them

Yes I would definitely return to the Gambia but possibly another hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raunchesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kololi
0.1 mi away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Kololi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.2 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
1.5 mi away
Seaview Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Palm Beach
Hotel Palm Beach
#4 of 6 in Kotu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Serekunda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Beach Club Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Beach Club Hotel

Property: Holiday Beach Club Hotel
Address: Kololi Beach, Kololi, Gambia
Region: Gambia > Banjul Division > Kololi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Kololi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Beach Club Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Beach Club Hotel is a simple traditional African hospitality facility of a Two (2) Star rating, situated on the Golden Kololi Beach. The Holiday Beach Club Hotel Complex features 81 rooms consisting of Superior, Pool view, Sea view, Single storey and Garden View rooms. It also has a swimming pool, Main Bar, Beach Bar and Restaurant. Its mission is to provide a simple but modest Gambian hospitality service of excellence, while aiming to make the Gambia a tourist haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Jovago.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Beach Club Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Beach Hotel
Holiday Beach Kololi
Holiday Beach Club Hotel Gambia/Kololi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing