We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good; Given Batumi's Limited Choices”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gulnasi's Guesthouse
Ranked #17 of 192 Speciality Lodging in Batumi
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
438 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 560 helpful votes
“Good; Given Batumi's Limited Choices”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed at Gulnasi with my wife for 3 nights in July, 2014. We were walk-ins as booking on-line is not possible and the guesthouse did not reply to our original e-mail query. Arrived at Gulnasi on 18 July at 3 PM. Followed location directions on their FaceBook page and had no issues finding the place. We met with Sofya. Great gal who speaks excellent English. She told us that we could get a bed in the dorm that night and move to a double room the next day. Sofya's English is excellent. She is very hospitable and a great source of info re: Batumi and transport in the area. Her little boy; George, is a trip! Location of Gulnasi is close to Black Sea and Seaquarium. Neighborhood is tattered as the investment money pouring into the east part of Batumi hasn't reached the Gulnasi precincts yet. Food markets and ticket agencies nearby. Gulnasi is VERY clean.

We paid 20 Gel each for the dorm. 6-bed room (301) with bath. Beds are close together and uncomfortable. No storage for clothing or gear so we just shoved stuff under our beds. Stayed with 3 Belorus kids who only spoke Russian. As we are limited to English, German, Spanish and Italian we mimed our intros. Nice kids. The guests at Gulnasi are primarily Eastern Euros and Russian. Some backpackers but most visitors are families on a tight budget taking advantage of the kitchen at Gulnasi to prepare meals. The place feels like a family reunion with people coming and going and lots of small kids about. Tables on stair landings have tables and at night they can become social centers as people kibitz till late.

Moved to triple room the next day (205) for 25 Gel each. Beds OK. Storage for clothes. Shared bath. You are advised to shower in the evening as the line to get into the bathroom in the morning can become daunting. Looks like the queue on a trans-Atlantic flight after breakfast. Dorm rooms have private baths. Private rooms use single bath in hall on each floor. WIFI is available but can become spotty. I lost connections on a number of occasions while in the middle of transactions so do what you need to do quickly. Early morning is best before everybody else wakes up and the bandwidth evaporates.

Sofya got us a ride to the train station for 12 Gel. Taxis in Batumi are fairly inexpensive and the drivers very honest so use them. Our only problem with Gulnasi was when we returned for one night on July 24th after a train from Tbilisi. We had been assured that we would have a bed but when we walked in at mid-night it was obvious that somebody had dropped the ball as Gulnasi was full. Sofya scrambled and got us a bed at a lesser place next door for 50 Gel total. We left at 8 AM the next day.

Batumi has very little to offer in the way of good, cheap lodgings. This puts Gulnasi at the top of the area heap but it's not a perfect situation. As such I am giving them a rating of 4 but in the real world they would receive a 3 from me at best.

Room Tip: Get a room in the back and away from the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    10
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
113 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Gulnasi's guesthouse, nice clean 3 bedroom 20TL per night per person(I normally put the price I paid on here because one of the big reason I look on to Tripadvisor is to compare the price with other accomodations, hotel owners who are not confident with their hotel will not be happy with this but I believe the owners who are proud of their hotels have to have a chance to show off their cheap price with good quality of hotel as well as the travelers have a right to know the price before they get to the place, and revealing the price makes the better conditions for the travelers. Sorry for making it too long)

Pros:
Friendly and English speaking staff (Sophia, she is such a nice lady, helped us giving informations about Batumi as well as whole Georgia, making a reservation for our next destination, offering teas)
Cheap price (20TL is unbeatable in Batumi)
Shared refrigerator (We bought a big watermelon and ate for 3 days)
Kitchen (We cooked dinner here)
1-2 shared bathroom at every floor
5 mins walking from beach and 7 mins from city center
Airconditioner in the room
Wifi working in the room but signal is weak (we stayed in 5th floor, if you stay 2~3rd floor you will have strong connection)
Clean room (Sophia was changing linen in front of us, it made us feel much nicer, because you don't know how long the linen was lying down on the bed)

Cons:
Little bit hard to find at first time, no English sign, you need to ask many people on the street

I don't really give 5 stars but this place is Strongly recommened! We loved staying here! Thanks Sophia
-3 Korean people-

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ddoodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We arrived at Gulnasi's after a very long day travelling from Armenia, I had been really sick and we were exhausted. Imagine our delight when we walked to the door and were met by a lovely family. We had barely said hello before they were leading us to a room we assumed was the office, but no, it was simply our room. They showed us in, encouraged us to relax for a bit and left us alone to chill out. It was the easiest check in of anywhere I have ever been. The room was simple but clean, the family were friendly but not overbearing, they offered great eating and sightseeing options and other advice on things we needed to know. This is definitely for the budget traveller, but it was perfect for us and I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: We think there is a school on one of the floors, we were on the ground floor so weren't bothered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elizabeth177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Nice, reasonably clean and well-kept hostel in the very heart of the city. Helpful staff, free tea, coffee and wi-fi (not on all floors), good price. English spoken. But even if you arrive with a taxi, it's very hard to find: the hostel is not signposted outside, so ask around or start your discovery alone well deep in the courtyard to the left of the small grocery store. Note: this is the hostel LP's 2012 edition simply calls "homestay".

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nammarci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sint-Oedenrode, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We've stayed at Gulnasi's guesthouse in a private room for a couple of nights. The rooms are great, clean and the beds are decent. The shared bathroom is also very clean and spacious. The family running the guesthouse is very friendly. Overall, great place to stay and certainly worth it's price!

The guesthouse is only a few minutes walk from the beach. It takes about 20 minutes to walk to the city centre. A walk which you will enjoy because of the great atmosphere on the Batumi boulevard.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martijn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boracay Island, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2011

I arrıved ın Batumi by marshrutka ( mını-bus )coming from Zugdidi, originally leavıng Mestia Svaneti, high in the Caucasus Mountains at 5AM. Since İ had a Lonely Planet Guidebook I checked the nearest family owned budget hotel but thought it was a bit over my budget and did not feel any family atmosphere so decided to walk to the next choice, Gulnazì Homestay or Guest House also listed my Lonely Planet guidebook. Guess İ was tıred as it was mentioned ın the book how easy it was to catch a marshrutka ( mını-bus ) #s 15, 25 & 45 from the main bus and marshrutka drop off point straight down Chavchavadze Road and get off at bus stop at corner of Lermontovi St, then walk 2 mınutes down to 24A written on their gate. Though their rates are 20 Lari ( 12 plus dollars ) per person they had enough available rooms to allow me a prıvate room wıth the understandıng that ıf they had many more guests arrıve then I would be wıllıng to share ıt wıth 2 other persons. İ had only planned to stay one of two days then maybe head for a smaller beach vıllage about 10 km down the road toward the Turkısh border town of Sarpi but after going for a day trıp to the 1900 year old Roman Fortress at Gonio. After havıng a swım ın the Black Sea after exploriıng the area I decıded to stay ın Batumi as there was not any real beach life scene and the sea sıde Batumi Buvari or Boulevard and park ıs pıcture perfect and the sea just as clean, only an 8 mınute walk from the Gulnazı guest house passing the Dolpinarium Aquarium and seaside Lake on the way.

So as each day passed each of the family members were ıncredıbly hospitable helpıng me to plan day trips , informing me of upcomıng events and things to do and offering me tea, coffee and snacks free of charge. There are 2 shared bathrooms wıth hot showers and an open balcony on each of the 3 floors where it is pleasant to look at the garden of grape vines amidst new high rise buildıngs. They have 2 fully equipped common kıtchens which guests are more than welcome to use and one kitchenette should the other two be busy beıng used by others. Both Gulnazı and her daughter encourage guests to make themselves at home and welcome large group parties and dinners shared by their guests. Friendly daughter, Sofo speaks fluent English and Russian and Mother, Gulnasi speaks Fluent Russian and some Turkish, both very friendly and helpful to answer questions and give directions to guests. I ended up extendıng my stay to 8 nights, the longest of any place I stayed durıng my 5 weeks travelıng ın Georgia!! So have fun and hope you enjoy your stay as much as I dıd.

Here are some dırectıons from various points of entry:
Guest House located off the left ( south ) side of the Lermontovi street, entrance inside through Gate 24A, up the driveway to the third house / building on the right.

From main bus / marshrutka ( mini-bus ) drop off take mini-bus #s 15, 25, 45, get out at Chavchavadze road corner of Lermontovi St.

From Marshrutka Station across from Tbilisi Moedani landmark where mini-buses from the airport and Turkish border drop off passengers a 15 minute walk, a bit over 1 km to Lermontovi street.

From Train Station, take Bus #101, Mini-bus #20 get out same as above.

From Airport exit go straight ahead to main highway ( to Turkey ) take bus # 101 or mini-bus #s 110,138, 142 about 20 minutes, get off at same place as above.

From Turkish border, Sarpi, marshrutka stop take same Bus 101 or any mini-bus going up Chavchavadze road to corner of Lermontovi St.

Room Tip: All the rooms are clean and vary little ın sıze so it ıs really a matter of climbing steps to 2nd 3r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AsiaBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Batumi hotels
1.0 mi away
Divan Suites Batumi
Divan Suites Batumi
#5 of 41 in Batumi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hostel Calypso
Hostel Calypso
#1 of 192 in Batumi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
0.9 mi away
Silk Road Sea Towers Batumi Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rock Hostel First Line
Rock Hostel First Line
#8 of 192 in Batumi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dzveli Batumi Guesthouse
Dzveli Batumi Guesthouse
#4 of 169 in Batumi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.9 mi away
Piazza Inn
Piazza Inn
#8 of 169 in Batumi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gulnasi's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulnasi's Guesthouse

Property: Gulnasi's Guesthouse
Address: Lermontovi St., 24a, Batumi 6010, Georgia
Region: Georgia > Adjara Region > Batumi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 192 Speciality Lodging in Batumi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Gulnasi's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing