We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Gem”
Review of Hotel Playa Bonita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Playa Bonita
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Tela
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Located one block from Tela's pristine beaches, with excellent accommodations and seafood all at a reasonable price, Hotel Playa Bonita was a highlight on our recent trip to Honduras. The cook is a Garifuna and she prepares seafood as if she has been doing it her whole life (which she probably has been doing). The rooms were clean, with freshly laundered sheets and towels, a hot water shower, A/C, and cable tv for those who need to keep in touch with the rest of the world. For those who speak Spanish, you might just strike up a conversation with other guests, visiting biologists, in my case. There was a crew studying Jaguar habitat in the nearby jungle, and they had great success, including several photos of the big cats taken that very day with automatic motion sensor cameras.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank usdiver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2011

We arrived in Tela and needed a first floor wheel chair access room and a pool for therapy. We drove around in a taxi and after looking at 6 or 7 hotels selected Playa Bonita for several reasons besides the above. It was the cleanest, most quiet and reasonably priced. That was the beginning of it. The staff proved to be very attentive and the service was impeccable. A few days later when at a road block we discovered my driver's licence had expired , the owner or manager went out of his way to expedite a new one at the local transito saving us a huge hassle. The entire operation was very professional and we always felt comfortable and secure.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachinTeacapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2011

Hotel Playa Bonita is a half-block from the best beach in Tela. The hotel is well built and extremely clean. The owners live on-site but the young women who work there run the show and the service was exceptional. The owners and staff were able to fulfill our every request. We were picked up and dropped off at the airport, they exchanged money for us, scheduled tours, called us taxi's, even acted as our guide at a national park on their day off with no request for payment, prepared a romantic candle-lit dinner alone on the garden balcony roof, We were traveling with a 2 year old and because the hotel was so clean and safe we were able to truly relax. We felt like we were at home the whole time. This hotel is a DEAL $65/night including VERY GOOD breakfast AND dinner. Don't even waste your time with the overpriced big resort next door. This family-owned and run hotel is as inclusive as it gets!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DaytonTraveler110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2010

We wanted to stay at a safe an reasonably priced place and found this place to be a wonderful find. It was peaceful and extremely clean.
The owners were friendly and the cook Hilda was charming...

We had delicious meals for brreakfast and dinner,native dishes which were quite tasty and included in the price. The natural juices made the day.
The hotel is a half a block from the beach , we walked there everyday in the early mornings to enjoy the tranquility of the town... would stay at this place again.

VALENTINES

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heartsofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

We had stayed in a big hotel in Tela, but this time we wanted to try a small one as Playa Bonita, even though they had good comments and criticism.
The rooms are cozy and comfortable. The common areas are decorated with original paintings and colorful tropical plants. The atmosphere is the best, quiet, no noise.
The food is excellent and the complimentary breakfast offered four options to choose from.
If you have problems the owners are available to help, but need not reach them because the staff is alert and empowered to make decisions and solve. They have done a great job selecting and training of staff!
Another great advantage is the short distance to the beach and that you can walk downtown.

We had a wonderful week!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jbrown12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Writing this review of the hotel knowing someone will just write a response stating how great the hotel is. This is my experience posting on Trip Advisor so far. People like us who are true travelers write with real experiences then someone who is associated with the hotel write with a glorious review..

Honestly I did not expect much of the hotel since it was something like $65-70 a night. We wanted to spend our last two nights in Honduras in Tela and just wanted to focus on touring the national park or exploring the bionetwork of canals/ lagoons by kayak.
We arrived early evening and went to bed 9pm expecting to get up early. Our room was on the ground floor. We were woken up 2am by fowl stench-specifically feces mixed with urine. The toilet or something was over flowing due to power outage or flooding. It had been raining/ thundering very hard for the past few hours...We immed. opened the windows but this did not help as all the rooms on the ground floor was suffering from the same fate and had the windows open emitting fowl gas from within.
After packing frantically thinking it might be a hurricane, we went outside to the hallway where some of the guests were being moved to the 2nd floor. We saw a man who seemed to be the owner so we asked if we could move up as well. He asked how many we were and we told him including our two young kids, four. He wanted to check on the availability and get back to us. After what it seemed like 15-20 minutes, he said there were no more rooms on the 2nd floor and that he was cleaning and getting one of the ground floor room for us. I told him this was not acceptable as the stench and sewage gas was everywhere on the 1st floor. After another 10-15 minutes, (all the while our kids were sleeping in the room, breathing in the stench) he said he had a guest room in his own suite that we could move the kids into. In the end our two kids and my husband ended up sharing the two twin beds and I got on a cot. It was around 3am and though the room was incredibly noisy due to the ceiling fan and the back up generator we fail asleep.

Morning came we decided to leave b'cos we just did not think the hotel was sanitary. The hotel staff did clean with disinfectant but we could still smell the feces in the hallway.

We could have gone on the 8am tour but since it was not over until 3pm we did not have time to pack our belonging properly and get our very exhausted kids ready. We decided to go back to San Pedro Sula to spend the day there for our flight the next day.

Basically our 5 hr drive from Copan Ruinas to Tela was a complete waste.

Maybe it was weather factor but when we asked the owner why the hotel did not put us
in a 2nd floor room (obviously open since he was moving people @ 2am) he said b'cos the rooms were not ready. Huh?l We checked in a 6:30pm. This did not make sense. It would of saved all of us a lot of aggravation. Also the owner did not introduce himself and offer us the best/ quickest solution but waited around until we approached him with our problem. We do not believe better hotels such as Telamar had this problem. Bonita maybe a budget smart hotel but this situation should not be acceptable by the owner.

I was very appalled to find out,bk on the road, that my good natured husband paid full price for the night. The owner 'generously' took off what we ordered for dinner ($5 tortilla snack) and extras @ breakfast ($4). I would not of paid at all since we did not get much sleep nor did we sleep in a double room.

To be fair this hotel is located in a quiet part of Tela and a nice beach is only one block away. (though when we walked over the night of our arrival, it was littered with garbage).

We travel all over, have an open mind when we travel but this had to be our worst travel experience.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sebbynearNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caragon, Manager at Hotel Playa Bonita, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2010

Our apologies for a situation beyond our control.

Early morning of friday July 23, 2010 recorded one of the strongest storms of recent times in Tela. Electric power was interrupted for five hours and the sewer system in the neighborhood collapsed, causing odors in the entire sector.

Some guests traveling alone, asked to be located on the second floor where we had available only rooms with one bed. Since we had no rooms with two beds, we provided a room in our own apartment to the complaining family .

We set a grievance to responsible for the sewer system and have also taken our own steps to ensure that the problem does not recur in the hotel.

The tropic is not always predictable.

We strive to satisfy our guests and deeply regret the inconvenience caused by an act of nature.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2010

my husband and I stayed at playa bonita for over a week was very relaxing for us.
the food is amazing it has a unique carribean taste that I had no experience before.
The rooms were clean every day and the placed decorated with a unique taste also.
I read some of the others reviews and let me tell you one of them is very wrong to me because the place is very clean and the service is very good too at least with us they were very nice and the downtown of tela is not that far and is nice to be a little away from the noise and so close to the beach.
another plus is internet they have wireless so thats a big plus on this days.
the pool is little but big enough to have a fresh and relaxing moment.
About the key that I also read on one of the reviews to us was a plus to leave the key at reception because we don't have to worry about it when we went to places such as the beach and other ones around.
to us was a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AH2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tela hotels
5.4 mi away
Indura Beach & Golf Resort, Curio Collection by Hilton
0.3 mi away
Hotel Boutique Posada Las Iguanas
0.8 mi away
Cesar Mariscos
Cesar Mariscos
#2 of 15 in Tela
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Telamar Resort
Telamar Resort
#6 of 15 in Tela
477 reviews
1.1 mi away
Caribbean Coral Inn
Caribbean Coral Inn
#9 of 15 in Tela
47 reviews
0 mi away
Grissy's Hotel
Grissy's Hotel
#14 of 15 in Tela
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Bonita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Bonita

Address: | West Side of Telamar, Tela AT2200, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > Tela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Tela
Price Range: £34 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Playa Bonita 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Playa Bonita offers ample & well ventilated rooms with double beds, hot water, a / c, cable TV and Wi-Fi. We also have laundry service. We are located in a residential area, walking distance to the beach, with private parking and easy vehicular access. For your relaxation we have restaurant, bar, small pool and tours coordination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Playa Bonita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing