We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediocre” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mango

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tela
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Mango
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Tela
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for luxury you certainly won't find it here. Everything about the hotel is meant to be simple and nothing exceptional. It's in a location that's closer to what I'll best describe as commercial area. So you get quite a cacophony of noises. the noise dies down as the sunset comes around but picks right back up around 7 am with an assortment of loud music close by contributed with the hustle and bustle environment don't make for a good mix if you're looking for a relaxed night of sleep. Although the plus side is that it's relatively on the cheap side and is one of the better cheap budget ones in tela from walking around and checking out the other hotels. Be sure to call ahead and make a reservation if not you might get an unkept room at walk in.also the hotel describes itself as a Spanish school but you just might have to learn in a very informal setting surrounded by the blaring music and interrupting honking now and then

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dustyfoottraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    5
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
11
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arequipa, Peru
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

This place was just perfectly sufficient. It had AC, comfy beds, was very clean and basically comfortable. Tela itself isn't anything all that interesting, but they offer information on what you can do and how to do it, which is always nice. I wouldn't recommend going out of your way to go to Tela, but if you do, Hotel Mango is centrally located, secure, and comfortable. Nothing special, but includes everything you could want.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MapleHoja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Pedro Sula
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

Although certainly not the fanciest place, this hotel was more than sufficient for a short stay in Tela. The room was clean with AC and the bathroom was alright. The shower did not produce any hot water the second day, despite hot water being listed as a given by the hotel. Was certainly looking forward to it after being salty and sandy from the beach.

The location is great, literally in the center of town about a block from the central park. Then again, who goes to Tela for the downtown? Everything is an incredibly easy walk from Mango - supermarket, restaurants, bars, tour companies, the nice beaches, etc.

Overall, the hotel is more than sufficient and comfortable for a short stay. If you are coming for the nice beaches, they re only a short trek away.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank esp160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

We shopped around the nearby area and hotel Mango had the better deal. Although there was no hot water we had AC and that's all I really needed. The room was clean and there were 2 beds, a full and a twin. The TV worked okay which is good since our night there got rained out.

The hotel is a few blocks from the beach and very close to some good cheap local food and drinks. We didn't go out at night due to the rain so can't really say much about that.

Room Tip: We had room 9 I believe. Most of the rooms looked identical so make sure you get one with AC!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WelingtonNZ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

The decor in the rooms is a liitle boring, needs a lick of paint or some cheering up somehow in the rooms, but it is centrally located a block from the central park three to the beach. Perhaps.a little expensive but for $17 you get private room with hot shower, two double beds, television with loads of channels. Reasonably cleaned I was asked if I wanted My room cleaned on the second day and it wasn't necesary so I asked if they could just empty the wastepaper basket but it wasnt done, but then I could have been misunderstood and I could have asked them again. Receptionists are nice, feels secure & it was reasonably quiet and i could sleep in a bit although this is prob because room faced on to s brick wall and there wasn't a local rooster!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curlyrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

Simple, nice receptionist and very clean. We ended up staying a few more nights cuz from Mango they recomended us a Tour company "Garifuna Tours" and we had a blast, we did three national parks in three days with a very comfortable room for a very reasonable price! Thanks Mango !

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

My first impressions of hotel mango were ok. It's simple, centrally-located, and one of the cheaper options in Tela. It has a nice second floor communal balcony space that looks out onto the busy street corner. It has a small book exchange and what looks like bicycle rentals in the lobby.

However the room itself was on the dingy side. We stayed on the side of the building that is not next to the street. One window looked out onto an adjacent brick wall so there was no daylight. When we returned from dinner and opened the light there was a cockroach on the bed. After that I simply could not relax! Also, the bedsheets in this particular room seemed to have dusty/pebbly particles in certain areas that accumulated during the night. They seemed to be falling from the ceiling or the ceiling fan - I couldn't tell, but it made for a very poor sleep waking up and feeling this unknown substance on the sheets.

Perhaps the other rooms in the hotel are better than this particularly one. I had two friends staying in a different room the same night with no complaints. However, based on my experience I wouldn't recommend the place - Tela has a wealth of charming accommodation options for an extra 10 bucks or so that I will be exploring if I return.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missintheocean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tela hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tela hotels
0.1 mi away
Ejecutivos Apart-Hotel
0.2 mi away
Cesar Mariscos
Cesar Mariscos
#2 of 16 in Tela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.9 mi away
Telamar Resort
Telamar Resort
#6 of 16 in Tela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Boutique Posada Las Iguanas
1.0 mi away
Hotel Playa Bonita
Hotel Playa Bonita
#5 of 16 in Tela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
2.0 mi away
Caribbean Coral Inn
Caribbean Coral Inn
#9 of 16 in Tela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mango

Property: Hotel Mango
Address: Avenida Panama | Barrio El Centro, Tela AT2200, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > Tela
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Tela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1 block from Central Park, Tela and 2 blocks from the beach, Hotel Mango offers clean comfortable rooms for budget travelers. Every rooms have a private bath with hot water, 1 double + 1 single bed, Cable TV and fan. Also available 9 rooms with a/c. Free Wi-Fi available in public areas. 10% Discount offered for restaurant Peter Pan and El Bambino ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing