We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for Long Stay Vacations for the Retired”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tela
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Honduras Shores Plantation
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Tela
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for Long Stay Vacations for the Retired”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

This is our 9th winter vacation here in a 2 bedroom Cabana. We have spent 6 weeks the last 2 years but some are here 10 weeks. We love the location, the friendliness of all the staff, the cabana with kitchen and living area, the porch, the 2 pools, the restaurant where the food has improved immensely, and of course the long sand beach. The price is good for along stay vacation and we hope to return next year.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyce F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antalborcsok, Events Manager at Honduras Shores Plantation, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
Thanks for your kind words, its been a pleasure to have you as our guests. We are looking forward to see you next year, remember when the snow starts falling you´ll always have a home in Sunny Honduras.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    39
    11
    3
    8
See reviews for
59
15
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Pedro Sula, Cortes, Honduras
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My wife and I have stayed here over a dozen times--both the cabanas and the beach hotel--and we really like it, but there is one thing that I find infuriating. When we stay in the cabanas, we like to bring steaks or chicken to barbecue on the grills in the common area. The last time we did this, we were told by the cleaning staff that we were responsible for cleaning the barbecue--emptying the ashes and wiping down the grate. I have never been to place where guests are expected to engage in such tasks, especially since we had no utensils or materials to clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, Indiana
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed in the 16-room hotel. The quality of the room was much above other places we have stayed in Honduras. It only lacked a few amenities that U.S. travelers might expect. (We asked about an in-room coffee maker and then knew we had to bring our own.)

The restaurant seems to only have outdoor or room service. We opted for room service for our evening meal to avoid mosquitos. Turned out it was raining about then but that was not a problem with the room service.

The restaurant has a three meal plan (one each of breakfast, lunch and dinner) for L500. That is a good deal for many as several meals are priced at about L250. Look over the menu before deciding if it is a good deal for you.

The pool was nice but a separate wading/sprinkler pool did not seem to be operating and did not look like it had been maintained.

The beach is the main attraction. The water was very clear. (Much better than the more frequented beach a mile or so to the east.) We had one day with a moderately rough surf, good for a little body surfing, and one day that was quite calm.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RR_Mville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honduras
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I loved almost everything about this hotel! It's located in big piece of land, very Clean, the accomodations are good for the price. They have at least 3 different pools and the beach it's perfect! White sand and clear water! It's amazing. The food from The restaurant it's good as well. My only problem it's the distance from town ... You have to drive 20 minutes con dirt road from town to get there, meaning you need to have your own entretaiment.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LilyPad85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Delicious food, excellent and safe environment, very nice peole and an friendly service.
Thanks God for these days in a clean beach full of natural views and healthy food... I'd love to come back with my family again asap!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asunción, Central, Paraguay
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Things not working: Refrigerator, windows, credit card payment, cleaning service, beds.
Terribleservice when going with friends and family... the club is very simple, no amusements and very expensive for the quality of food and service. Far away from tela, no signals easy to get lost, not very safe road. Not good information and very very expensive especially on special dates such as new years

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bruno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antalborcsok, Manager at Honduras Shores Plantation, responded to this review, 10 January 2013
Bruno, the Management of HSP is very concerned about your experience in our Hotel, we would like to find out more about how we failed to meet your expectations, it would be of great help for HSP, and our future visitors if you could give us more feedback via this email: info@gttela.com and if possible we would like to have the opportunity to contact you via phone in order to receive your much appreciated input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This is a nice, moderate development near the town of Tela on the Atlantic coast of Honduras. There are homes, condos and a hotel (on the ocean side) in this mixed development. On the other side there is a beautiful brackish lagoon with lots of acuatic birds and other wildlife. There are monkeys nearby, Everything was just fine although the water pressure in our room was a trickle (only in the shower) and it seemed that there was a piece of furniture mssing under the TV. The horrible music that blasts from the pool area is a real turn-off, especially since the place has an "eco" vibe. However, the staff is very friendly and they turned it off on numerous occasions. I would definitely recommend this hotel, especially if you don't want to be in the middle of Tela, where I would recommend the Sherwood or the Cesar's Marisco hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel rooms are all similar but there are 4 rooms that have larger terraces and look out right o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peregringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tela hotels
3.3 mi away
Telamar Resort
Telamar Resort
#6 of 16 in Tela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
2.2 mi away
Indura Beach & Golf Resort, Curio Collection by Hilton
4.0 mi away
Cesar Mariscos
Cesar Mariscos
#3 of 16 in Tela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Playa Bonita
Hotel Playa Bonita
#5 of 16 in Tela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ejecutivos Apart-Hotel
2.6 mi away
Grissy's Hotel
Grissy's Hotel
#10 of 16 in Tela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Honduras Shores Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honduras Shores Plantation

Property: Honduras Shores Plantation
Address: Aldea San Juan, Tela, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > Tela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Tela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel in Tela. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Honduras Shores Plantation Hotel Tela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing