We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissappointing experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Caribbean Coral Inn
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Tela
Seefeld, Deutschland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dissappointing experience”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We went to this place only because other hotels in Tela area were fully occupied. When we decided to pay 70USD which normally would be enough for 3-5 nights for us, we expected something special.
We had a very bad first impression made by an older American-looking manager. I understand that in Central America there is little trust among people and you have to pay when checking-in and not when checking-out. We have only little money in our daily pocket, so we needed to take it from another purse hidden in our luggage. The manager did not want to let us into the cabin so we could intimately unpack our luggage and hand over money. This was really strange and not welcoming.
The cabin itself is nice and the atmosphere is very relaxing within the hotel. However, if you can afford staying in this place you will not appreciate rundown village surroundings. If you are a backpacker - you probaly will enjoy it.
I hated the dog which belongs to the hotel manager and runs around the property unleashed. He barkled during the night waking us up around 5:00. I was too sleepy to find and kill the noise source.
Breakfast is very basic - just coffee, some fruit and yoghut with cerals. I come from a country where breakfast is a very important meal and is not just a croissant like in France. We ate everything we found and were still hungry.

Please, read other reviews. The place has a great potential and maybe we just had bad luck coming during manager's bad day.

if you still decide to go there and want to use your GPS device, go to N 15,81407 W 87,40960 - the location written at their website is incorrect.

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Choose the cabana you like most.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mochon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    13
    2
    3
    4
See reviews for
9
16
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Caledon, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

After being told our reservation was not really a reservation we were directed my a local man to this place. Upon entering we felt a warm welcome by Emillo. He stated that he may have a room but I am pretty sure he felt our exhausted (after traveling for over 5 hours we were). His family quickly changed over a room and we were able to throw on our suits. We used paypal to pay which worked very well because they have wifi.
There was a large family staying at there due to Easter weekend but we never felt unwelcome.
There were large roaches!! However, your in the tropics and on the beach... we survived. The room we were in was very musty so we slept with the door opne and the fan on... we had no concerns during our sleep.
There was a male staff member that was the sweetest kid...you can tell he really wanted to try to make things perfect. Same with their eldest daughter.. she asked if there was anything we needed and she was cuet and cheery :)
The only thing we found odd was in the morning... we had to be in La Ceiba for 10am..and Emillo said he would call us a cab to take us to the highway around 730. By 8, he wasn't out of the house.. even when it came to paying our tab we had to use paypal again so we needed him to sent us an invoice...again he never came out to discuss anything with us or wish us off.. we ened up walking a bit to the highway until a guy with his horse and carriage told us we were loco and motioned for us to get on. Very nice guy!
Overall our evening, dinner, and sleep were good but the morning was odd.
The beach was really nice! Great swimming... just LOTS of garbage... not sure if it was because it was Easter or what.. but it could be an amazing beach but when trying to doge garbage while walking was gross and annoying.
They had tourism police on the beach.. if they invested in some garbage cans and eduction..and some walkways ect it could be a great tourist spot!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess9863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We were here for two nights and had a wonderful experience. The lush greenery of a beautiful garden was such a welcome sight. Emilio and his family were gracious hosts. The place was clean, quiet, and we were able to relax. The food was awesome and the sopa de caracol was absolutely delicious. Carolina is a wonderful cook! We enjoy the tortillas, beans, eggs and everyone else that was served. We also enjoyed the inner-action with their wonderful children.
We hope to go back in the near future and would love to take the entire family.

Room Tip: We had room no. 6, I believe. The sound of the waves were such a welcome sound to us. It was aweso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Harms1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

This beautiful but troubled village is in a state underdeveloped even by Honduran standards. There are more buildings unfinished... ruins of good intentions... than habitable ones. Drunkards feel free to approach you and expect hugs and a drink. We had some villagers warning us against the friendliness of other villagers. Even so, it would be well worth the time to visit this authentic Garifuna village. The fisherman, the older women cooking, the amazingly beautiful young people, the wonderful beach that has soft sand, peaceful feel, delightful swimming... all good reasons to visit Triufino de la cruz. But we can not recommend staying at the Caribbean Coral Inn. The food was extremely over priced (four times what you will find a block away), The woman who does the work for the Inn is pleasant enough, but the owner was hot and cold, acted very superior, and in the end was at least very suspicious, confused, and treated us as if we did not intend to pay them for our stay... even after payment was made in the manner indicated in the web site. At worst Emilio Vargas was trying to procure a double payment. Be mindful that in part of the web site they put themselves forward as a married couple but when it comes to payment she uses her maiden name. We can say unequivocally that her four children are delightful, intelligent, and make the stay almost worth putting up with mattresses that are more like hammocks, dogs barking all hours of the night, and the very poor treatment we received at the hands of the owner.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed at CCI for 2 nights with my 11 year old daughter as a side trip from our base in Tela. From the moment you enter through the gates of the property, you are met with the most lush greenery of a beautiful garden oasis. Emilio and his wife Carolina are two of the most gracious hosts we could have ever met. From the onset of our arrival we felt extremely welcomed.

Traveling with a youngster and not wanting to deal with the 'What are we going to eat tonight,' we opted for the American Plan consisting of a lovely Continental spread for breakfast, and (2) very solid and exquisitely prepared 3-course meals for both lunch and dinner. Carolina is a wonderful cook and her food is some of the best I have eaten both on the home front as well as abroad.

For anyone who wants to know, indeed, the cabins are rustic, but not uncomfortable. The wi-fi throughout the property kept my daughter and I quite at ease during those nights when the sound of the crashing waves were too much for our ears. All in all we enjoyed our stay wholeheartedly. My daughter wants to go back. I would definitely stay at CCI in the future when I am in the Atlantida Dept of Honduras.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a71602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrace, BC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed our time. Before I forget...wear bug spay in Tela!!! I have never gotten so many bug bits in my life and I basically didn{t sleep for two nights after leaving Tela. Ok...on to the review...The highlight was our cabin and the food. The cabins were fun and spacious and the food was delicous. There is very little in the way of food in the surounding town so you are kind of stuck eating at the Inn...but it was super tasty so no big deal. 2 nights was a good length for us there. Also the town in a Garifuna village which was great to experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Great place, very friendly owners with home cooked meals and a chill vibe. Also quite solid for the price.

We prefer this kind of small spot to a large or built up hotel. It is in a fairly isolated location - *not* in or adjacent to Tela itself, so keep that in mind depending on your plans.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Just_Browsing12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tela
2.7 mi away
Telamar Resort
Telamar Resort
#7 of 15 in Tela
468 reviews
3.4 mi away
Grissy's Hotel
Grissy's Hotel
#14 of 15 in Tela
39 reviews
7.4 mi away
Indura Beach & Golf Resort, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Boutique Posada Las Iguanas
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa de Espana
Hotel Casa de Espana
#11 of 22 in La Ceiba
58 reviews
1.8 mi away
Coco Cabanas
Coco Cabanas
#1 of 7 in Tela
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caribbean Coral Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribbean Coral Inn

Property: Caribbean Coral Inn
Address: Beach Front Street | Triunfo de la Cruz, Tela AT2200, Honduras
Region: Honduras > Atlantida Department > Tela
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Tela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Caribbean Coral Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Caribbean Coral Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Coral Hotel Tela

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing