We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Anugama Resort
Nearby Hotels
Sinclairs Bay View(Port Blair)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
J Hotel(Port Blair)
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$107
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sentinel(Port Blair)
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Haywizz(Port Blair)
US$59
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SeaShell, Port Blair(Port Blair)
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The North Reef(Port Blair)
US$87
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveller rating
24
21
10
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
21
10
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjolly buoy islandwandoor beachthe cottagesnearest beachandaman tripcity areavalue for moneynon acawesome experiencea great staymain citydeepakkmjettybudgetmosquitoes
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 65 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Nice, peaceful and quiet place about half & hour drive from Airport. Rooms are clean, room service is also good. Food options are limited and costly. It is a good option those want to visit Jolly Bouy Island.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JA_S_RE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Spent a couple of blissful days early this month at this little gem of a resort. It is set among lush greenery at Wandoor, just a couple of kilometres from Mahatma Gandhi Marine park (the departure point for snorkelling at Jolly Buoy island). The cottages are extremely well maintained and the staff is very friendly and helpful. They were happy to customize meals exactly as per our requirements. Apart from relaxing on the hammocks and playing carrom, we enjoyed listening to the fabulous collection of music cd's and reading some of the interesting books that are thoughtfully kept here. Happy to note that there were no tv's, which helps one enjoy the serenity of the area.
Our experience at Jolly Buoy island was also excellent, and we saw a good variety of fishes and corals in a glass bottom boat ride, as well as by snorkelling.
Would highly recommend a stay at this resort.

Room Tip: Rooms are well ventilated. We did not feel the need for an ac room.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gaurav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Grounds: simple nice layout in quiet surroundings with waters and greenery. Mosquitoes available - spray needed.
Service: nice staff. Deepak (reception and everything man) is most helpful. Was overcharged for a trip and Deepak rectified the situation.
Food: good.
Rooms: change 3 times. Electricity problem on all 3 nights. Lizards left their droppings in the rooms.
There are big windows on all the walls. All the windows are provided with thin strips of bamboo blinds only. This allows light into the rooms making them bright. However the sun rises at 5am making sleeping impossible. Also in the night with the lights on in the rooms, everything is seen clearly through the thin bamboo blinds from the outside even a distance away, offering NO privacy at all. For women, this is a problem.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KIM C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anugama, Owner at Anugama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

We thank Mr. Kim for having stayed with us. We now have a new diesel generator, so the power problem has been solved by reluctantly enlarging our carbon footprint. At the Andaman islands, the buzzword is "ecology". For some time, we offered only fans in the rooms and no airconditioning, living up to our ideals of "clean air for mother earth". Under pressure from nature loving eco tourists who can't live without airconditioning, we relented and now run A/Cs on clean and healthy diesel. We now have changed all our bamboo blinds so that there is no see-through effect. Thank you Mr. Kim!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Nice, peaceful and quiet place. No TV (this can be a bliss) and No AC (this can be a pain given the scorching heat of Andaman's). But the service and food is excellent. Sleep quality is okay, you can hear the lizards crooning :) , most part of the night. The roof is (bamboo supported) tin and slate. Rooms can get very warm if not properly ventilated. Beds/linens and bath rooms are spotless clean :) ...

As a solo traveller this is great but for families (with little kids) without AC and limited food options, I would not recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vikram R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anugama, Owner at Anugama Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Thank you Mr. Vikram for your kind review. We have now Air Conditioners in several of our cottages and they are cool and comfortable during the hotter months like April or May.
We hope Mr. Vikram will come back again and also enjoy the improved food menu. We also have a barbecue now and offer a more interesting range of dishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Just amazing! This resort lies 22 kms south of Port Blair and takes about 45 minutes by a cab. Youre in the middle of the countryside and the nearest beach is 1.5 kms away at the Mahatma Gandhi Marine National Park. I stayed here while I took on my scuba diving OWD course from Lacadives (their outfit is 2.5 kms away from the resort).
The staff is spearheaded by an enterprising chap called Narain, who is like a Man Friday. He can do anything! You want to eat crabs for dinner? No problem - he will catch them fresh, show them to you and then cook it!
The rooms are just perfectly sized with basic furniture and thats all one requires. I was told that plans are on to put aircons in the rooms in future, but in my opinion the fan is more than adequate. I stayed at A-111 where 2 rooms are joined together for a family or for 3-4 friends. The bathrooms are large, clean and airy! They have 24 hrs hot water, not that you will really need it. They have a bed, chair and a table.
Their food is excellent and you will be asked what you would like to eat for your next meal! The drinking water is safe and tastes like heaven! The place is run by a staff of 4-5 folks. The resort was thankfully not fully occupied and sometimes it felt like we were the only ones in the resort. It is so pretty, surrounded by lakes the tsunami created. Lots of birds chirping around all the time!
They also have 3-4 cycles, so one can easily go to the M.G. Marine National Park or to the dive outfit.
This was just what the doctor ordered for my break from my corporate life!

Room Tip: If youre solo or a couple, ask for the single cottages. For a family, it makes sense to take the side by side cottages. Try not to make noise if youre with a family as the place is really peaceful!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pakhibagai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews