We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVERAGE”
Review of Anugama Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anugama Resort
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Port Blair
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AVERAGE”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

rooms do not any entertaining facility.rooms have poor illumination.There is no food variety.Hospitality is very good.peaceful and quiet place.recently it seems generator is procured. pictures shown on website are not actuals

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BIPIN2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anugama, Owner at Anugama Resort, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
We thank Mr. Bipin for his review. Our rooms do not have TVs or radios as this would not be in keeping with our philosophy of ensuring peace and quiet in the natural surroundings of the property. He is right in saying that we now have a generator to power the property in case of electricity failures. The photos of our property are actual photos and only photos of real birds/fishes that are to be found in these islands were used in other pages of our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    19
    8
    4
    6
See reviews for
23
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We visited Andaman in Nov 2013. We stayed at a hotel in Port blair for the first couple of days. This hotel was a muIti storeyed building facing the main road. There was lot of traffic and the usual city buzz. This was way to ordinary..little did we know what awaited us next!! We then moved to Anugama Resort for 4 days. Wow!! It is truly a nature's paradise!!. If you want a simple, quiet and peaceful place where time stands still; then this is the resort to visit. They have clean and well maintained cottages in exquisite surroundings. Lush greenery and pretty lakes on both sides of the resort. The owners must be true nature lovers to have created such a splendid resort!

My three kids (9 year old daughter and 5 year old twin boys) seemed to have no problem without TV. They relaxed on the hammocks, played cricket and even burst crackers on Diwali night. They loved hanging out at the Wandoor beach for the entire day as the water is a beautiful turqoise green and the beach is very clean. There wasn't too much crowd at the beach. The manger Mr Deepak was very kind and friendly and gave us many tips. He even picked and dropped us back from the beach to the resort( It is about 2 kms distance) The cook made great phulkas and side dishes exactly the way my kids wanted it.

Overall, it was a very wonderful trip and I wish to thank the kind staff for making our stay memorable. We will definitely stay here on future trips.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deeps_v2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thane, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Nice, peaceful and quiet place about half & hour drive from Airport. Rooms are clean, room service is also good. Food options are limited and costly. It is a good option those want to visit Jolly Bouy Island.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JA_S_RE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Spent a couple of blissful days early this month at this little gem of a resort. It is set among lush greenery at Wandoor, just a couple of kilometres from Mahatma Gandhi Marine park (the departure point for snorkelling at Jolly Buoy island). The cottages are extremely well maintained and the staff is very friendly and helpful. They were happy to customize meals exactly as per our requirements. Apart from relaxing on the hammocks and playing carrom, we enjoyed listening to the fabulous collection of music cd's and reading some of the interesting books that are thoughtfully kept here. Happy to note that there were no tv's, which helps one enjoy the serenity of the area.
Our experience at Jolly Buoy island was also excellent, and we saw a good variety of fishes and corals in a glass bottom boat ride, as well as by snorkelling.
Would highly recommend a stay at this resort.

Room Tip: Rooms are well ventilated. We did not feel the need for an ac room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gaurav M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
138 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Grounds: simple nice layout in quiet surroundings with waters and greenery. Mosquitoes available - spray needed.
Service: nice staff. Deepak (reception and everything man) is most helpful. Was overcharged for a trip and Deepak rectified the situation.
Food: good.
Rooms: change 3 times. Electricity problem on all 3 nights. Lizards left their droppings in the rooms.
There are big windows on all the walls. All the windows are provided with thin strips of bamboo blinds only. This allows light into the rooms making them bright. However the sun rises at 5am making sleeping impossible. Also in the night with the lights on in the rooms, everything is seen clearly through the thin bamboo blinds from the outside even a distance away, offering NO privacy at all. For women, this is a problem.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KIM C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anugama, Owner at Anugama Resort, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
We thank Mr. Kim for having stayed with us. We now have a new diesel generator, so the power problem has been solved by reluctantly enlarging our carbon footprint. At the Andaman islands, the buzzword is "ecology". For some time, we offered only fans in the rooms and no airconditioning, living up to our ideals of "clean air for mother earth". Under pressure from nature loving eco tourists who can't live without airconditioning, we relented and now run A/Cs on clean and healthy diesel. We now have changed all our bamboo blinds so that there is no see-through effect. Thank you Mr. Kim!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Nice, peaceful and quiet place. No TV (this can be a bliss) and No AC (this can be a pain given the scorching heat of Andaman's). But the service and food is excellent. Sleep quality is okay, you can hear the lizards crooning :) , most part of the night. The roof is (bamboo supported) tin and slate. Rooms can get very warm if not properly ventilated. Beds/linens and bath rooms are spotless clean :) ...

As a solo traveller this is great but for families (with little kids) without AC and limited food options, I would not recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vikram R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anugama, Owner at Anugama Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Thank you Mr. Vikram for your kind review. We have now Air Conditioners in several of our cottages and they are cool and comfortable during the hotter months like April or May.
We hope Mr. Vikram will come back again and also enjoy the improved food menu. We also have a barbecue now and offer a more interesting range of dishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Just amazing! This resort lies 22 kms south of Port Blair and takes about 45 minutes by a cab. Youre in the middle of the countryside and the nearest beach is 1.5 kms away at the Mahatma Gandhi Marine National Park. I stayed here while I took on my scuba diving OWD course from Lacadives (their outfit is 2.5 kms away from the resort).
The staff is spearheaded by an enterprising chap called Narain, who is like a Man Friday. He can do anything! You want to eat crabs for dinner? No problem - he will catch them fresh, show them to you and then cook it!
The rooms are just perfectly sized with basic furniture and thats all one requires. I was told that plans are on to put aircons in the rooms in future, but in my opinion the fan is more than adequate. I stayed at A-111 where 2 rooms are joined together for a family or for 3-4 friends. The bathrooms are large, clean and airy! They have 24 hrs hot water, not that you will really need it. They have a bed, chair and a table.
Their food is excellent and you will be asked what you would like to eat for your next meal! The drinking water is safe and tastes like heaven! The place is run by a staff of 4-5 folks. The resort was thankfully not fully occupied and sometimes it felt like we were the only ones in the resort. It is so pretty, surrounded by lakes the tsunami created. Lots of birds chirping around all the time!
They also have 3-4 cycles, so one can easily go to the M.G. Marine National Park or to the dive outfit.
This was just what the doctor ordered for my break from my corporate life!

Room Tip: If youre solo or a couple, ask for the single cottages. For a family, it makes sense to take the sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pakhibagai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Blair hotels
9.1 mi away
Hotel Haywizz
Hotel Haywizz
#8 of 32 in Port Blair
143 reviews
9.7 mi away
SeaShell, Port Blair
SeaShell, Port Blair
#1 of 32 in Port Blair
409 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea Princess Beach Resort
Sea Princess Beach Resort
#13 of 32 in Port Blair
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Sinclairs Bay View
Sinclairs Bay View
#2 of 32 in Port Blair
585 reviews
9.7 mi away
J Hotel
J Hotel
#4 of 32 in Port Blair
302 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel Shompen by (Singhotel Hospitality)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anugama Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anugama Resort

Property: Anugama Resort
Address: 127 Wandoor Village, Port Blair, South Andaman Island 744103, India
Region: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > South Andaman Island > Port Blair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 32 Hotels in Port Blair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Anugama Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very peaceful jungle resort surrounded by water and greenery minutes by car or bus from Port Blair airport in the Andamans . Anugama Resort is a stone's throw away from the famous Wandoor Beach. Snorkeling, diving, fishing or just taking in the uber natural surroundings. If you don't want crowds and want to have privacy with your loved ones, one does not need to look further. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Cancelon so you can book your Anugama Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing