We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food at very reasonable price”

Light House Resturant
Ranked #13 of 45 Restaurants in Port Blair
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Food at very reasonable price”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

It is located just beside the Rajiv Gandhi Sports complex and the Fisheries Museum at Port Blair. Though the restaurant is a open air type, they serve very good Chinese as well a Indian Dishes at very reasonable price.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank bougeotte2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    44
    30
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“better options close by”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

this place is strategically located next to the fisheries museum besides the swimming pool and close to the water sports complex. the shack like decor should be fine during cooler winter months but during the rest of year is quite a pain. while they do offer fresh catch of the day, our experience with the fresh bit wasn't nice. and the prices asked for were way above the going rates. so in terms of value for money it is a poor deal. there are many better options within walking distance, including their other 1st floor, air-conditioned outlet on the other side of the road.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gypsy23097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Never seen a filthier restaurant in my life (and it is 'voted' one of the best eateries in Port Blair”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Poorly lit with fires flaring from the kitchen and fish being fried/ basted to death. They made a mockery of our fish fry that turned chewier than a Naan, the Tandoori chicken tikka was nice and round and as hard as a bullet. The crab was beyond recognition. We spent something like 1200 rupees for this and were 'basted' beyond belief into outer space. This is not a restaurant, it is a a shanty masquerading as a restaurant. This was the only shabby place i came across on my entire trip to the Andamans. Please do not go!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greatadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Live grilled Fish”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This one restaurant is best sea food I had, They show you live fish, crabs, large tiger prawns. You can opt for barbeque or gravy. I had tested Big Black Crab and Red Snapper. Those are really good. Price is not too much. Crab was big one around 750 gram. It cost me 450. Red Snapper 700gm cost 400. It was awesome.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jayprakash S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Overcharged us”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Be careful when you order things that are market price because we were definitely overcharged, Rs 300 PER tiny prawn. Delicious, but overpriced...

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ss2764
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Light House Resturant also viewed

Port Blair, South Andaman Island
Port Blair, South Andaman Island
 
Port Blair, South Andaman Island
Port Blair, South Andaman Island
 

Been to Light House Resturant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing