We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel at center of the city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Shompen by (Singhotel Hospitality)

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Shompen by (Singhotel Hospitality)
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Port Blair
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel at center of the city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed for a day in somphen. rooms are comfortable, interiors are good.
easily accesible to all important places of portblair,
its around 1km to phoenix bay where u can get tickets and board jettys to other islands.
Walkable to anthropology musm. Has roof top restaurant but did not tasted there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sreekanthMamidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singhotelreservation, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shompen by (Singhotel Hospitality), responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,


Greetings from Singhotel-Hospitality By Nature!!!!


Thank you very much for your generous feedback.


Singhotel Hospitality is at a constant endeavour to ensure warm hospitality to our respected travellers.


Looking forward once again to extend our warm hospitality. ..



Regards


Saira


For Hotel Shompen


Mo:-09609507000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    118
    69
    17
    25
See reviews for
128
162
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

booked shompen goin by the reviews of trip advisor.rooms are good.corridor leading to the room is ok.staffs are friendly and helpful.restaurant at the top is nice.food here is nice.not much variety in breakfast.was there in 1st of august.off season.so managed in very low rates in this hotel.local transport is very cheap.
book ferry in advance to havelock via paradise.com.they also book govt ferry.
if u looking for great comfort and enjoy stayin at hotel this is not meant for u.
u can then luk for other hotels.this is a very budgeted hotel.cellular jail cost 30 in auto.rajiv gandhi water from where u can go to north bay or ross is also 30 in auto.would say not waste ur time in ross island.people here are just so helpful and friendly.autowallas are just so good people.wifi only at lobby.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktraveler321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singhotelreservation, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shompen by (Singhotel Hospitality), responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,


Greetings from Singhotel-Hospitality By Nature!!!!



Thank you very much for your generous feedback.



Singhotel Hospitality is at a constant endeavour to ensure warm hospitality to our respected travellers.


Looking forward once again to extend our warm hospitality. ..



Regards


Saira


For Hotel Shompen


Mo:-09609507000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franconia, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

hotel shompen we choose because it was centrally located, and one of the best ways to see around port blair. all attractions in the city are located nearby the hotel. Like the anthropological museum, sagarika emporium were just next door to us. also marina park and waterspouts complex were a rs.20 auto ride. we also discovered many eating options around the hotel, either walk to your left or right, there are tons of restaurants. The hotel rooms are luxurious, and i was amazed to see that they have smart tvs installed in the rooms. a BIG thanks to Mr. Dilip who is the manager, he allowed us a late check out as our flight was delayed. overall staff is hospitable, dnt miss the morning buffet at the Andaman Kitchen, which is also the only restaurant in town serving local cuisine.

Room Tip: get the room no. 206, great sea view. called the executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tara f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singhotelreservation, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shompen by (Singhotel Hospitality), responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,


Greetings from Singhotel-Hospitality By Nature!!!!


We are thankful to you for your feedback on Trip Advisor.. I was most pleased to hear that you found our accommodations & food up to your expectation, and especially that you found the hotel location convenient and suitable to your requirements.


We do hope you visit us again and looking forward once again to extend our warm hospitality. ..



Regards


Saira


For Hotel Shompen


Mo:-09609507000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

my title for the review fits this hotel because this hotel is right in the heart of portblair from museums to the main market everything is walking distance plus it has a sea view amazing restaurant named the andaman kitchen probably in portblair i found this hotel the best .this hotel is really cosy welcoming nice food good people i would highly recommend this place for a minimum of 3 night stay in portblair

Room Tip: deluxe rooms or the family rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rishi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singhotelreservation, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shompen by (Singhotel Hospitality), responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,


Greetings from Singhotel-Hospitality By Nature!!!


Thank you for taking time and posting a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are glad to hear that you consider us the most suitable option for your visit to Port Blair and that you enjoyed your stay with us.Your comments have given us immense satisfaction.We do hope you visit us again and look forward to welcoming you back.



Regards


Saira


For Hotel Shompen


Mo:-09609507000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

This was a vacation that was not planned but it turned out to be one of those times when i didnt know exactly what gave me happiness but eventually i enjoyed every moment of it. The food was exetremely memorable and specially the rooftop restaurant

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nazir2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singhotelreservation, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shompen by (Singhotel Hospitality), responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Singhotel-Hospitality By Nature!!!!


Thank you very much for your generous feedback.


We are delighted to know that your stay went off well and look forward to many more visits.


Looking forward once again to extend our warm hospitality. ..


Regards


Saira


For Hotel Shompen


Mo:-09609507000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

A very well maintained and beautiful hotel. A very helpful, friendly staff. Linens fresh and pressed, ample fluffy towels. The restaurant had local specialties which were unusual for us including the amazing seafood that they have to offer, service a bit slow on the Saturday night we were there, better the next night. In case you are international traveller, you can compare this to quality of service in Vegas hotels. :P
Cheers !

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Purbitaa123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singhotelreservation, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shompen by (Singhotel Hospitality), responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,


Greetings from Singhotel-Hospitality By Nature!!!!!!


Thank you very much for your generous feedback.


Singhotel Hospitality is at a constant endeavour to ensure warm hospitality to our respected travellers.


Looking forward once again to extend our warm hospitality. ..



Regards


Saira


For Hotel Shompen


Mo:-09609507000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

this hotel is a cute boutique hotel very neat and tidy ,the staff here is very hospitable they take care of each and everything,the roof top restaurant is really good here the view is amazing ,i had the sea view from my room as well ,we had taken the family room it had 2 rooms with 1 bathroom in it which was very economical and comfortable for me ,i honestly dont have a single complain from this hotel because they treat their guests so well with all the love and respect,i have highly recommended this hotel to my colleague ,relatives and family friends

Room Tip: family rooms or deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacky l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singhotelreservation, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Shompen by (Singhotel Hospitality), responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,


Greetings from Singhotel-Hospitality By Nature!!!!!!


We thank you for your feedback and for sharing your views through the TripAdvisor.


We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the overall services of our hotel.


Hope to see you again on your next trip to Andaman.




Regards


Saira


For Hotel Shompen


Mo:-09609507000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Blair
0.4 mi away
J Hotel
J Hotel
#3 of 30 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.8 mi away
SeaShell, Port Blair
SeaShell, Port Blair
#1 of 30 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
22.4 mi away
Pearl Park Beach Resort
Pearl Park Beach Resort
#2 of 6 in Neil Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Haywizz
Hotel Haywizz
#6 of 30 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sinclairs Bay View
Sinclairs Bay View
#2 of 30 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sentinel
Hotel Sentinel
#9 of 30 in Port Blair
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shompen by (Singhotel Hospitality)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shompen by (Singhotel Hospitality)

Property: Hotel Shompen by (Singhotel Hospitality)
Address: 2 Middle Point, Port Blair, South Andaman Island 744101, India
Region: India > Andaman and Nicobar Islands > South Andaman Island > Port Blair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Port Blair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Shompen by (Singhotel Hospitality) 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel ShompenHotel Shompen - named after a local Tribe of Andaman and Nicobar Islands. is situated in the heart of the Port Blair city at Middle Point. The Hotel is a Luxury Hotel and is very centrally located and provides the best of the leisure and amenities to the Tourists, Business Personnel, Professionals on Official Trip to Andaman and Nicobar Island...The Hotel is presently offering 30 Rooms with many different layouts, modern amenities, the friendliness and personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Shompen by (Singhotel Hospitality) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing