We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good for Homely stay in Andaman”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Andaman castle

Andaman castle
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Andaman castle
Front view of the destination
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
42 reviews
Andaman castle
Front view of the destination
Beautifull sea view from room
Private parking area
Sunset view from the balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Port Blair, South Andaman Island, Andaman and Nicobar Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

pmondal21
Howrah District, India
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good for Homely stay in Andaman”
Reviewed 30 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We stayed here for 4 nights and that was a good and comfortable stay there. Food was good enough. However, 1st floor rooms are the best option to stay here. Opt for sea view room if you are passionate about the Sunrise.

Date of stay: March 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2018
Thank you... for your valuable reviews... Visit Again!!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarique S
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,814 helpful votes
“BEST IN ANDAMAN”
Reviewed 10 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
2
people found this review helpful

Andaman Castle has been blessed with a perfect location. Situated right in front of beach on a steep slope which gives a beautiful view of Beach. Amir, the owner of the property is such a humble and able person. His complete team is perfectly co ordinated. Andaman Castle is a home away from home. Its a home turned into a holiday home so don't expect 5 Star facilities here. But you can surely expect silence, serenity, beauty and comfort. Amir planned our complete tour and executed it nicely. He was nice enough to provide room of my own choice. The driver Mustafa was also proactive to make our trip a comfortable one with loads of fun. Infact Amir has brought up a very able team.

Thanks Mr Amir

Date of stay: March 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2018
Thank you...visit Again!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RohitS315...
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simply superb!”
Reviewed 16 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
3
people found this review helpful

I do travel a lot and quite often do I come across some genuine and wholehearted hosts but Aamir turned out to be a revelation! Our stay at Andaman Castle was short, but we wish it wasn't. Located conveniently on a slightly elevated ground near the coastline, the property is a prime one for sure. Do not expect 5-star facilities here cause it's more of a homestay turned hotel but do expect warmth, and loads of it. Aamir, the host, was cheerful, informative and very helpful, going out of his way to help us plan our complete trip. He also called regularly to ensure we were not facing any problems! His father was also a delight to talk to, with stories of how things have changed in the Andamans over the years! Then there was Guru, our driver and tour guide who was not only a lively chap but gave us very good suggestions and always made sure we were on time and did not miss out flight or ferry. There are two other guys whose names I now forget but the smiles on their faces while serving us yummy food, I still remember. Food is awesome and tastes like home-cooked(cause it is!) and quantity is huge. Two of us managed to somehow finish 1 plate, that too by stuffing ourselves! Whew! Coming to the rooms, they are spacious and the washrooms are clean. Bedsheets, towels, etc. were spotless! The ac works very efficiently. The layout is basically a 3bhk apartment turned into 3 double-bed rooms. Hence you share a common dining/living space(which is huge) along with a verandah which overlooks the ocean! Go for the sea-view rooms. It's worth it. Else you can always laze around on the verandah or on the small lawn they have infront. There is some construction going on and a new building is coming up right beside the existing one, so it might be a little noisy at times but then again it's only a temporary thing and once the building is complete, there'll be more rooms to choose from! Looking forward to staying at Aamir's again and definitely recommending it to everyone. Keep up the good work guys and lots of love to you all!

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakshmi N...
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Homestay, Warm Caretakers”
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Our trip to Andamans was made complete by the hospitality and the warmth of this place. Mr. A R Khan and his son Mr. Aamir runs the place. It's their house which has been converted to a home stay.

Situated atop a small hill near Sinclair Resort, the hotel overlooks the sea and you can have your morning Tea/Coffee standing atop a small hill overlooking the sea, basking in the breezy air. Lakshman, who is the caretaker of the place, is quite friendly and also doubles up as their cook.

The management genuinely cares for the guests and goes the extra mile to make you feel comfortable. The rooms are quite spacious and clean. They also help you make transport arrangements for local sightseeing and activity booking if required. If you're staying at Andaman Castle, ask for Guru (our go-to person who drives the cab for the hotel management or brings his own Auto depending on the guests' preference and budget).

Overall, Lakshman, Guru, and Aamir together made our stay extremely pleasant and comfortable during the first 3 days that when our last day at Andamans was messed up and we ended up in a bad hotel after returning from Havelock, we immediately came back to Andaman Castle instead of going elsewhere and our mood lifted again.

Date of stay: June 2017
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashish151...
Mumbai, India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 19 May 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Place is small but very neat and clean, specially thanks Mr.Amir he is owner of the property, awesome man, thanks amir u have made our trip wonderful

Date of stay: March 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
azkit
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful, lovely people, beautiful”
Reviewed 25 February 2017 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Andaman Castle is located on a hill where one can see the water right from the patio. It is very peaceful, and away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The staff are lovely, friendly and helpful.
Aamir is such a wonderful person, he helped plan my trip, provide advice on good places to see and is extremely organized and professional when it comes to running the hotel and tourism services he provides.

Date of stay: November 2016
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrajeshK9...
1 review
“Andman Castle-Home away from home with excellent people around to take care of your needs”
Reviewed 30 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

I stayed with my family and took 2 rooms. First of all I would like to thank Mr. Aamir and their staffs (Laxman-Cook & Suraj-Driver) for their excellent hospitality. I have been to different hotels & resorts in India and outside but have not seen the services & hospitality which Mr. Aamir offers. We stayed there for 2 nights.

Andman Castle is a very wonderful place to stay in Portblair with very neat and clean rooms offering beautiful view of the sea from the hills. Food prepared by Laxman is excellent and Suraj can take you through all the important places of Portblair who is very well versed with all the locations (he can be driver as well as a good guide). Aamir helped us with all the bookings etc. for Havelock, North Bay, Ross etc. and ensured that we just go there and relaxed without any hassles.

Overall it was an amazing experience and I would definitely recommend everyone to try this home stay at least ones when you are in Portblair.

I wish Aamir and Andman Castle all the very best!!

Date of stay: November 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was of best quality. Can not identify a single one.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.