We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Taj Falaknuma Palace
Nearby Hotels
US$184
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$97
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Vivanta by Taj Begumpet(Hyderabad)
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Golkonda Hyderabad(Hyderabad)
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Deccan(Hyderabad)
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,006)
Filter reviews
1,006 results
Traveller rating
820
115
35
18
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
820
115
35
18
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrose petalshorse drawn carriagehigh tearoyal experiencesufi musicjiva spagol bungalowjade roomvenetian chandeliersdining tableindian restaurantentire citymoment you arriveguided tourevery eveningmain gatehyderabadi cuisine
Filter
Updating list...
885 - 890 of 1,006 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2012

I stayed at Falaknuma palace recently and enjoyed the beautifully restored interiors, the superlative Hyderabadi cuisine and the very obliging service of the staff. A few minor wrinkles were caused by operators garbling messages but that was quickly dealt with by senior staff. This is a great place to relax and unwind, with yoga and meditation classes and other leisure activities including excellent cooking demos. The property is atop a hill and the twinkling lights of the city below and the stars in the open skies above are quite magical, especially when combined with the mystical Sufi singing that takes place on the terrace every evening. One drawback for people wanting to visit downtown is the 40 minute car ride from the hotel. A shuttle service from the hotel to downtown locations would be helpful. Also the electric switches in the rooms are a little quirky and some of the lights seem to work in tandem (eg. bathroom lights and some bedroom lights don't have separate switches which can be inconvenient). Overall, though, a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monica88_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

The palace is in the midst of the old city , so to get ther is in itself a process. It crowded and far. Be prepared. But worth all the wait.
Feels like a real palace , private road leads into the cobbled driveway which leads to the palace steps.
Built in a European style (I felt very similar to the Austrian palace)its a delight to the eyes. Heavily ornate rooms are seethed in history and the stories of the by gone eras will mesmerize you. The visual illusion paintings , the antique furniture , the venetian chandeliers, the restored artifacts-The palace tour is very informative, a must do. I loved the game room , with the paintings of tiger kills and a huge snooker table. Although its a pity you can't photograph anything.
The view is breathtaking from the palace as its perched on a hill, in the night it feels like a thousand candles are lit when you look down at the city lights. The lounge area is the best area to chill with a breathtaking view and amazing sufi music every evening. I tried the white wine sangria - refreshing. Restaurants are small but well serviced and food is good. We celebrated my husbands bday so they gave a very nice complimentary cake.We missed doing the palace photographs in the hyderabadi attire.
All in all , fabulous palace , real royal feel!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank prachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TajFalaknuma, General Manager at Taj Falaknuma Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Falaknuma Palace!

I would like to extend my gratitude for the wonderful review post your recent stay with us at our Palace. We were delighted to read that your stay with us was a pleasant and memorable one, and the Palace was able to help you relive the bygone era. We appreciate your warm feedback on our Palace and the services. I have shared your generous compliments with all our team members, I'm sure this would inspire them to aim for higher standards of excellence.

New Year Extravaganza at Taj Falaknuma Palace _ A Toast that Echoes the Romance of Princely India

As another eventful year comes to an end, we take this opportunity to celebrate the year gone by and bring in the New Year 2013, making it a most memorable night for our guests.

Taj Falaknuma Palace offers the following option to celebrate New Year’s Eve at this iconic property which was once the home of the ‘Richest Man in the World – the Nizam of Hyderabad’

Palace Facade

The Palace facade, a picturesque venue, recreates the beauty of the bygone era in the heart of the Palace. At this exquisite venue, we offer an elaborate multi-cuisine buffet with live interactive counters featuring food from around the world and regional delicacies, complimented by unlimited imported liquor and wines.

The evening entertainment comprises of symphony of fusion music, performed by various acclaimed artists from Sufi Qawals, and international Jazz singer. The pulsating dance floor opens for those wanting to stretch the revelry into the night, set alive by the magical Jazz music by the international artiste Kelly Johnson from Great Britain, and to the upbeat music of DJ Roli.

With this location of 2000 feet about the rest of the city, sensational music, delicious food, selected international liquor and wines, and spectacular fireworks at mid night, the Palace is set to be transformed into a beacon of revelry, radiating glitz and glamour which will surely make this evening and the experience - unforgettable.
Please find the attached flyer for more information.

We would like to once again thank you for your wonderful review and look forward to having you with us to celebrate the magical memories of a year gone by and to welcome 2013 with high energy and entertainment.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,
Girish Sehgal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2012

From the main gate, we rode to the palace in a horse and beautifully restored carriage. what a start to a memorable two nights in a beautiful spot. After a refreshing welcome drink, our host gave a running commentary about the property while escorting us to our room, a large, light space with a sofa and easy chair as well as the usual desk, tv and very comfortable beds. When we returned from dinner, our soaking tub floated rose petals on a warm water bath. We very much enjoyed eating in the beautiful open terrace between the two restaurants. One evening, after a tour of the main palace with the art historian responsible for the authenticity of the restoration, we enjoyed a performance in that same terrace by the Sufi singers. In the morning after breakfast we were serenaded by a flautist sitting just outside the terrace. Lovely. The staff is friendly and helpful when needed, but unobtrusive when not. A most relaxing and luxurioius atmosphere.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarinTraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TajFalaknuma, General Manager at Taj Falaknuma Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Falaknuma Palace!

I would like to extend my gratitude for the wonderful review post your recent stay with us at our Palace. We were delighted to read that your stay with us was a pleasant and memorable one, and the Palace was able to help you relive the bygone era. We appreciate your warm feedback on our Palace and the services. I have shared your generous compliments with all our team members, I'm sure this would inspire them to aim for higher standards of excellence.

We would like to introduce you to an uber-luxury experience – The Hookah Lounge, which is set amidst history of 116 years with windows dressed in heavy gold and red drapes, patterned leather walls and timbered ceiling, accented in rich mahogany. The ambience is accented by the internationally acclaimed Jazz artist Kelly Johnson, who alludes you to the aura of sophistication that makes this bar a legend and an experience- unforgettable.

I’m also delighted to share exciting news with you. In the recent Conde Nast Traveller’s Reader’s Travel Awards - 2012 Taj Falaknuma Palace has been voted as the Asia’s Number 1 Hotel; in addition Taj Falaknuma Palace has also been recognized among the ‘Best of Best’ Top 5 Hotels across the World.

We would like to once again thank you for your wonderful review and look forward to welcoming you back to the Taj Falaknuma Palace for another memorable holiday

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,
Girish Sehgal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

My husband surprised me with a weekend at Falaknuma, and what a pleasurable surprise it was!
We rode into the hotel on a vintage Victoria, the original assembled from 4 similar vehicles. Refreshing, Khus and ginger lemon drinks and warm, smiling staff greeted upon arrival. Rose petals were showered onto our path aswe were led to our room, where a scented, rose petal strewn warm bath awaited our arrival, with subtly scented plush towels and deliciously fragrant scrubs and lotions.
Our room, The Palace Room,was spacious, well lit and extremely comfortable.
Breakfast, to be ordered a la carte was delicious,ensuring a great start to the day. The melodious voices of the Sufi singers, at the Sufi evening, transported us to another world. The Palace Walk, is a must do.
Dinner, at both the restaurants, Indian and Italian, had us prolonging our meals so we could savour each flavourful mouthful.
The wonderful experience of Falaknuma would be incomplete without the staff who are always alert to your needs, very accommodating (the DVD player in our room wasnt working well and within 5 mins of calling them up, we has someone in our room, at 1 in the morning) and go about their tasks cheerfully, and very well groomed.
The Falaknuma holiday has been one of our best holidays, so far. What are you waiting for, come experience infor yourselves!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SriMayuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TajFalaknuma, General Manager at Taj Falaknuma Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Falaknuma Palace!

I would like to extend my gratitude for the wonderful review post your recent stay with us at our Palace. We were delighted to read that your stay with us was a pleasant and memorable one, and the Palace was able to help you relive the bygone era. We appreciate your warm feedback on our Palace and the services. I have shared your generous compliments with all our team members, especially with Food and Beverages team, Musicians team I'm sure this would inspire them to aim for higher standards of excellence.

We would like to introduce you to an uber-luxury experience – The Hookah Lounge, which is set amidst history of 116 years with windows dressed in heavy gold and red drapes, patterned leather walls and timbered ceiling, accented in rich mahogany. The ambience is accented by the internationally acclaimed Jazz artist Kelly Johnson, who alludes you to the aura of sophistication that makes this bar a legend and an experience- unforgettable.

I’m also delighted to share exciting news with you. In the recent Conde Nast Traveller’s Reader’s Travel Awards - 2012 Taj Falaknuma Palace has been voted as the Asia’s Number 1 Hotel; in addition Taj Falaknuma Palace has also been recognized among the ‘Best of Best’ Top 5 Hotels across the World.

We would like to once again thank you for your wonderful review and look forward to welcoming you back to the Taj Falaknuma Palace for another memorable holiday.

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,
Girish Sehgal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We are at the tail end of our culinary tour of south india and sri lanka.
Started the tour with this magnificently restored palace.
Impeccable service and well appointed rooms. Running us a rose petal bath with dessert served in the room added an elegant touch to a fine regal place.
Food --- awesome! The corporate chef presented a cooking class for our group ( vikkram vij's culinary tour ) -- hyderabadi biriyani and de-mystified the elaborate process of making a great biryani. The friendliness of him and his staff were much appreciated. The sufi outdoor concert in the evening was enjoyed by all.
The only negative in a perfect place was " nickel and diming" us by having a charge for internet access!!! Really!! -- after paying a handsome sum to stay here, we are expected to pay a paltry sum for wi-fi?? one star off for this very poor corporate dictum.
We are in sri lanka now --- every hotel we have stayed in provides free wi-fi. What is the deal with 5 star indian hotels?. Hope saner minds will prevail on this practice. Most hotels in the far east provide free access. The money is not the issue , it exhibits an inappropriate " cheapness" to a fine institution.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pilipili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TajFalaknuma, General Manager at Taj Falaknuma Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Taj Falaknuma Palace!

I would like to extend my gratitude for the wonderful review post your recent stay with us at our Palace. We were delighted to read that your stay with us was a pleasant and memorable one, and the Palace was able to help you relive the bygone era. We appreciate your warm feedback on our Palace and the services. I have shared your generous compliments with all our team members especially with Our Chef Arun Sundararaj and the team, I'm sure this would inspire them to aim for higher standards of excellence.

We would like to thank you for your suggestion to make the internet in the Palace free of charge. The WIFI connection at the Palace, is currently a third party service, we’ll however definitely raise your feedback to our Corporate Office. Taj Falaknuma Palace being a part of a chain hotel, this decision will be implemented companywide to ensure consistency across all Taj hotels, Palaces across the world.

We would like to introduce you to an uber-luxury experience – The Hookah Lounge, which is set amidst history of 116 years with windows dressed in heavy gold and red drapes, patterned leather walls and timbered ceiling, accented in rich mahogany. The ambience is accented by the internationally acclaimed Jazz artist Kelly Johnson, who alludes you to the aura of sophistication that makes this bar a legend and an experience- unforgettable.

I’m also delighted to share exciting news with you. In the recent Conde Nast Traveller’s Reader’s Travel Awards - 2012 Taj Falaknuma Palace has been voted as the Asia’s Number 1 Hotel; in addition Taj Falaknuma Palace has also been recognized among the ‘Best of Best’ Top 5 Hotels across the World.

We would like to once again thank you for your wonderful review and look forward to welcoming you back to the Taj Falaknuma Palace for another memorable holiday

If I can be of any assistance in the meanwhile please do let me know.

Warm regards,
Girish Sehgal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews