We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply stunning. Defies description.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Falaknuma Palace
Ranked #2 of 318 Hotels in Hyderabad
Certificate of Excellence
Pune
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Simply stunning. Defies description.”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

From the moment you enter the palace main gates you transported back in time. The fabulous palace with its beautiful grounds and the usual impeccable service from Taj make for a most memorable stay. A horse drawn carriage takes you from the main gate to the palace(for those not inclined for the horses can take the golf cart). We had gone there for a family weekend holiday and the staff made sure that it turns out to be magical.
The palace has been lovingly restored by Taj at a enormous cost, hats off to Taj. Be sure to take the historical tour as soon as you reach (you cannot really appreciate the place without it) and then go over the palace peacefully over the next few days.
The service is impeccable. The food is great, both at Aada, the indian restaurant and at the Italian place. A word of caution here, if you want food in time and at one time make sure you order at one time, any extra orders/new orders will be ridiculously delayed.
The rooms are absolutely fabulous and big. The palace rooms with queen size beds is the best option. There is a passage/verandah in front of the room facing the central courtyard and it is the most wonderful experience to sit here in the morning with a cup of tea, hearing the strains of flute being played somewhere in the background with the pigeons fluttering and bathing in the fountains.
Hope to return soon.......

Room Tip: The palace rooms with queen size beds with a passage/verandah in front of the room facing the centra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGPNQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

881 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    103
    32
    14
    14
See reviews for
230
309
34
148
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I visited Taj Falaknuma with some work mates for dinner and a tour of the palace. Overall the experience from the moment you arrive is outstanding. The palace itself is amazing, reminiscent of Versailles in places with grand rooms, amazing decor and some of the best views of Hyderabad you could hope to see. Also the food we had was top class, as was the service. Finally price wise the meal was within European norms but of the highest standard so I felt it was certainly value for money

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidPMDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

After years this was a family holiday with my parents. The three days experience was absolutely spectacular. Right from the moment you enter you are treated like royalty. Horse drawn carriages, flower petals shower, and a personal welcome by the General Manager makes you feel really special. The hotel was a palace, is a palace and in the hands of The Taj Group, shall remain a place. The rooms, spa, hotel lawns, the two restaurants, the evening qawwali (local folk songs) were all perfect. The tour of the historical wing of the hotel is a must do. You get to experience the lifestyle of The Nawabs.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harsh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attard, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

I felt like stepping in a fairy tale from the moment I stepped inside the 35 acres of land surrounding this magnificent palace! It lies on top of a hill in Hyderabad with breathtaking views of the city. A total contrast to the shanty houses and dusty roads in the surrounding area. The service is outstanding, the staff are very professional. The selection of food and wine was perfect. I had the opportunity to join an organised tour of the palace before sitting down for dinner... What an experience!

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Doreen13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

This has reference to my stay at the historical Taj Falaknuma Palace, with my wife, in February 2012.

Our first anniversary was much more than we had expected, all thanks to the team at the majestic Taj Falaknuma Palace in Hyderabad !

We had heard so much about the Taj property but it only had to be experienced to feel the magic. Right from the moment we arrived at the hotel entrance, we were made feel special, and it was an honour to be welcomed by the general manager - Mr. Ranjit Phillipose.

This palace is just too beautiful & unbelievable ! It is a befitting residence of a once-upon-a-time riches man in the world - the Nizam of Hyderabad ! It has such marvellous beauties & artefacts all over the palace, that it seems unreal ! The Taj Hotels & the heirs of the Nizam's family have painfully rebuilt & restored this palace over 13-14 long years to let commoners experience the magic of 'The Mirror of the Sky - The Falaknuma Palace !!!

Although the GM & the guest services manager - Mr. Reekshit Siddhanta, took special care in making us feel like a royalty at the Taj Falaknuma Palace, there were a score of other staff members who made the stay even more delightful in the way they served us. Ms. Sheetal at the Celeste restaurant was the one who took special care of all our taste & dietary requirements, and we are very thankful to her & others at the restaurants for their courteous services.

The anniversary dinner at the mesmerising Gol Bungalow will always remain special & will stand out in our memories of our first stay at the palace. Mr. Reekshit made sure we had fabulous arrangements there, which were complemented by most-delicious food & beverages by the chefs and with the exceptional service by Mr. Raj Kishore & others. The view from & setting of this place is like no other.

It is also worthy to mention that our breakfasts at the Jade Terrace were fabulous, served in most luxurious manner, by the highly capable & courteous staff. The croissants we had here were certainly the best in India, much better than any other hotel's patisserie, including other Taj hotels ! Here, Mr. Jithin was most helpful among others.

The in-room dining was also made special by Mr. Ashwin & his team. Mr. Gautam at the Hookah Bar was also very courteous & we can't forget the amazing pitted Olives we had there, in a very special setting.

We were made aware of the details, stories, & myths surrounding the grandeur of the Taj Falaknuma Palace & the royal family by the palace guide, Mr. Prabhakar. He took us through the various parts of the majestic palace & made us kind of relive the great times of the bygone era. His story-telling was also exceptional & we love the palace tour, which we've also taken at another Taj palace - the Umaid Bhawan Palace, Jodhpur.

These names above are only a few that we could remember, but everyone in the team was exceptionally courteous & caring. We loved that.

The Jiva Spa at the palace was fabulous, with exceptional massage treatments given to us by the therapists there. We were also delighted by the superb Indian & Hyderabadi traditional food at the Adaa restaurant. The biryaanis & Mirch Saalan were fabulous !

We were also delighted by some of the aspects that Taj Hotels & the GM had taken care of, in order to make the stay very luxurious. Main among them were: (i) the absence of buffet concept anywhere at the hotel, specially during breakfast, (ii) absence of tea kettles & coffee presses in rooms - but serving tea/coffee at any desired time.

The GM & the staff also gifted us with souvenirs at the time of departure, which was difficult to undertake ! We also wrote in the guest-book there that it would be difficult to get back to reality after spending 3 days at the magical palace, which was very true ! The hotel staff at the airport also made sure that we had effortless entry & check-in, even though we got a bit late !

The staff at Taj Hotels' reservation & Taj Innercircle had been extremely kind in helping us on this special trip.

Our stay at the Taj Falaknuma Palace was made so memorable & wonderful, with all the specially-caring services & the upgrade to a historical suite. Before staying here, we maintained that the grand Umaid Bhawan Palace by Taj was the finest palace hotel in India, with exceptional service. But after this stay, we were forced to change that the Taj Falaknuma Palace is India's best palace hotel !!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagicCarp8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

what can i say. a truly amazing hotel and on both my visits i have had a wonderful time,

Basically 100% worth a visit

Amazing place, brilliant staff and lovely food, the champagne breakfast is the best!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GWP13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I really wanted to rate this hotel 5 stars. The property is wonderful, one of the nicest I have ever stayed at. The staff tried to pay attention to every small want of our family ranging from inviting our young daughter to cookie baking classes to an associate sending me a hot toddy when she heard me coughing on the phone while ordering from room service. The quality of food at the restaurants , particularly Adaa the Indian restaurant was excellent. The sufi singers in the evening and the personalized dining experiences they organize at scenic points overlooking the city below seemed amazing ( though we didn't try them as they were fully booked).
However there were 2 glitches I don't expect from a Taj hotel
1. My bill while checking out was inflated by 25 k INR. This was due to the amount on some tax charges being off by two decimal places. The room chrges were incorrect too but to a lesser amount. While this was just a mistake, if the difference was not this significant, I wouldn't have checked and would just have signed off.
2. This relates to a service provider to the Taj and not the Taj itself. While using the airport drop off I requested if we could the a route through the city to have a look around and that I would pay the difference. The reception agreed and helpfully set it up. They asked me to pay the driver directly at an agreed rate per kilometer over the 40 it normally takes. At the airport the driver got his manager on the phone who told me that I needed to pay 5000 INR extra. When I asked for details ( ie the extra kilometers above 40 kms).. he promptly dropped it to 1100 INR.
I have never had something like this happen to me at the Taj before and I have been staying with them for many years...
Last small irritant.. luxury palace hotels should not charge extra for wifi. It is a small charge but at that price range it should be included. Seeing it on the bill is an irritant and most luxury hotels have long since stopped this practice.
Having said this .. the property is wonderful and the staff are great.. hopefully it was just a one off glitch

Room Tip: The Kohitoor suite we stayed at was large and great for a family. However it did not have great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doitwhileyoucan71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hyderabad hotels
Taj Krishna Hyderabad
#17 of 318 in Hyderabad
1,307 reviews
Taj Deccan
#21 of 318 in Hyderabad
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trident Hyderabad
#3 of 318 in Hyderabad
935 reviews
Banjara Hills
Taj Banjara Hyderabad
Taj Banjara Hyderabad
#29 of 318 in Hyderabad
828 reviews
Novotel Hyderabad Airport
#5 of 318 in Hyderabad
2,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Falaknuma Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Falaknuma Palace

Property: Taj Falaknuma Palace
Address: Engine Bowli, Hyderabad 500053, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Telangana > Hyderabad District > Hyderabad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Hyderabad
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hyderabad
#1 Business Hotel in Hyderabad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Hyderabad
#6 Family Hotel in Hyderabad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Falaknuma Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Taj Falaknuma Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Falaknuma Palace Hotel Hyderabad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing