We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Chinese food in India” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mainland China

Mainland China
Ranked #199 of 5,636 Restaurants in Hyderabad
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Banjara Hills
sydney
Level Contributor
418 reviews
239 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese food in India”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

I would be guessing that this place might be considered expensive by Indian standards. The food however was excellent and the service top notch. Having enjoyed this restaurant in Kolkata I was interested to see how it wold stack up. It was great. Flavours ome food in a great atmosphere. Gladly go back again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ozrick33Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    44
    14
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not good”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Visited Diwali night with friends. First impression, empty, not terribly clean, old fashion decor. This place came highly recommended so i was very excited to get started. Firstly, there is no alcoholic beverages of any kind, bummer. We started with dumplings and soup. The lamb dumplings were very good but the pan fried spinach and bokchoy was ordinary but I couldn't wait for the main course. Meanwhile a couple came in left after just the appetizer which was strange but a sign of things to come. We ordered the chicken fried rice, General Tao chicken and lamb something. In anticipation i dug in and with one taste i had to fight back my gag reflexes. I was very disappointed and couldn't believe how gross the food tasted. My friends were ok with theirs - one had never ate this type of food before but liked the generals chicken, go figure. In my opinion, there was too much seasoning in the fried rice. The chicken had a weird texture almost slippery instead of crunchy. I waited a few minutes and tried again but just couldn't bring myself to eat any of it much to my embarrassment. The rank smell of eggs in the fried rice just put me off. So, try this place at your own risk. While I will NEVER dine here again the 2 people I dined there with both liked their food so there. Reasonably priced and friendly staff but no way am i going there again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cissinora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“If it is chinese food it has to be Mainland China”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

A part of speciality restaurant chain, Mainland China always stands out for excellent food. I have been to their multiple branches in Bangalore, Mumbai, Kolkata and Begumpet in Hyderabad, but the one in Madhapur near Cyber Towers stands out among the lot for their stupendous service and attention to detail. Sometimes in a restaurant when the food is sumptuous every time personalized service is what makes it stand out. It happens here.

Now for the food my personal preference is a-la-carte as I feel that food prepared in small quantities tastes best. I have tried every thing that crawls and grows in their menu and I can vouch that they all taste great. However I have tried their buffet once or twice it is also great way better that their peers.

I would like to thank the CHEFS, Ganesh, Janu and all the other staffs for their service and for the wonderful food each time I visit. Mind you I have visited the place for about 20-25 times.

They do also deliver dial them to check the details.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank INomad80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Food ....Excellent Ambiance .”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

"THE BEST" Chinese food in Hyderabad . Apart from the authentic excellent Chinese food what I also love is the ambiance . If you can manage a Table by the window you will get an excellent quite a nice view . The ambiance is superb and the service is really nice and friendly .

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kalyankb2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese cuisine in Hyderabad.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

The best chinese food available in Hyderabad. Authentic taste with proper chinese feel. Good value for money.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Prajay1372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mainland China also viewed

Hyderabad, Telangana
 
Hyderabad, Telangana
Hyderabad, Telangana
 

Been to Mainland China? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing