We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Vishakhapatnam Varun Beach
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Visakhapatnam
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel on the beach”
Reviewed 28 November 2012 via mobile

Nice clean hotel on the Beach Road. Spacious well appointed rooms Great restaurants including a rooftop with outdoor dining. Can be a bit noisy with the street traffic below. Gray views of the sea. Will be my place to stay when visiting the area. Macintosh Computers in the lobby are free to use.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MomoADV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohammed_Shoeb, General Manager at Novotel Vishakhapatnam Varun Beach, responded to this review, 1 December 2012
Dear MomoADV,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback and comments.

We are delighted to hear that you were happy with the hotel and its surroundings. Once again, thank you for your kind observations and recommendations.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you soon at Novotel Visakhapatnam Varun Beach.

Warm Regards,

Mohammed Shoeb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    288
    68
    9
    22
See reviews for
300
114
43
390
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2012

i want to take exception to many of the reviews of the novotel visag. i have not stayed at this hotel but i have just finished my third breakfast at the square and found the staff was as welcoming,helpful and friendly as the food was delicious.and that goes for the security staff at front gate and door. thanks to all.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blakee88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohammed_Shoeb, General Manager at Novotel Vishakhapatnam Varun Beach, responded to this review, 1 December 2012
Dear Blakee,

Thank you for posting your valuable feedback in Trip Advisor with regards to your dining experience at our hotel.

I am also glad that you liked food and service at The Square. Your remarks about buffet breakfast are very encouraging as it is also our constant endeavor to provide best in class breakfast as first meal of the day.

I will share your comments with our Security team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you at Novotel Visakhapatnam Varun Beach and give us an opportunity to serve you.

Warm Regards,

Mohammed Shoeb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bhilai, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

its a chain by le accor group around the world by french companies . but they are not like the indian professional 5 star hotels operating in the world. le accor gets too professional and dosen't allow you to freely enjoy your stay and are not accoustomed to indian guests i suppose.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salilmahendru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohammed_Shoeb, General Manager at Novotel Vishakhapatnam Varun Beach, responded to this review, 1 December 2012
Dear Salil,

Thanking you for choosing Novotel Visakhapatnam Varun Beach for your recent Stay.

It is disheartening that you left our hotel with a not so great experience. However, let me assure you that we believe in following the standards of Accor and the brand promise that Novotel around the world prides on. It is unfortunate that these standards were not reflective at our hotel.

Kindly do give us an opportunity to serve you and showcase the true value of Novotel Service.

Warm Regards,

Mohammed Shoeb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Stayed here on a family vacation for 4 nights recently and had an excellent time. The property is located bang across the beach with beautiful views from the room. The restaurants, gym, spa and pool are a notch above the competition for sure. A unique feature is the rooftop jogging track of 250 m.

The staff - right from the front desk, to housekeeping to restaurant services are all extremely polite and willing to help.

The only small issue(s) that we had was the non working of many items in the room. 2 light bulbs were not working, the safe was not working, the bathroom door did not close properly - very surprising for a brand new property. The good part is that the issues were resolved ASAP and we did not need to call repeatedly, but they should not have been there in the first place!

Most hotels get the hard infrastructure correct and struggle to get the soft infrastructure such as service levels and customer relationship right. Novotel here has achieved the more difficult part, needs to just take care of the easier challenge!

Room Tip: Level 5 and 6 have better rooms and access to the lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohammed_Shoeb, General Manager at Novotel Vishakhapatnam Varun Beach, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your thoughtful and a detailed review. It is our utmost focus to provide our guests with personalized service that meets high standards of hospitality. It further encourages our zeal to give our best.

We are grateful for your appreciation of the services provided by the team. Your words of appreciation shall go a long way for the team to continue to deliver a high level of service to our guests. However, even though you did have a pleasant hotel experience, we want to apologize for the inconveniences you had encountered. We appreciate your recognition of our sincere efforts and the response level to address the issues.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit to Novotel Visakhapatnam Varun Beach.

Warm Regards,

Mohammed Shoeb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

i used to live in vizag for more than 25 years but there is no best hotel in vizag in these 25 year when they hap started up novotel its awesome and the best in vizag so neat and tidy and the food is exellent and the roms are like a 10 star hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RajuSrinivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohammed_Shoeb, General Manager at Novotel Vishakhapatnam Varun Beach, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear Raju Srinivas,

Thank you for choosing Novotel for your recent stay in Visakhapatnam. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took time to express your views.

We are pleased to know that you liked our food & services and your stay was very comfortable. We would also like to thank you for grading us best hotel in Vizag.

The team here looks forward to welcoming you and your family soon at Novotel Visakhapatnam Varun Beach.

Warm Regards,

Mohammed Shoeb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Excellent location, well maintained comfortable rooms, good service standards, nice restaurants - on the whole a good package in Vizag.
My family enjoyed hotel stay. We liked the food served in their main restaurant - The Square.

Stay would have been even better had Staff been more courteous and honest in their actions and intent. Though talking sweetly but hardly cooperative - for every thing they throw their policy/rule book on your face. Be it upgrading the room as committed, timings of the restaurant (10mns before itself they will refuse entry or warn you at the time of entering that time is almost over so you will have to rush through your breakfast etc.) or attending to the requirements of small kids - (have a 28 months old kid). I feel, it flows from the top. They surely must look into this attitude.

Probably Im comparing my experience last year at The Leela, Goa hence found staff's courtesy wanting.

Ignoring above everything in the hotel during our stay was excellent. So, would still recommend to experience it if you visit Vizag.

Cheers!

Room Tip: Go for rooms on the 5th floor and above. Otherwise all rooms are sea facing so no issues on that fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajeev0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohammed_Shoeb, General Manager at Novotel Vishakhapatnam Varun Beach, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Dear Sir,

I would like first to sincerely thank you for taking the time to write your comment on your recent stay. I am delighted to know that you liked our product, surroundings, food & services. It is particularly rewarding hearing from returning guests and from travelers such as your goodself.

Your observation with regards to attitude of our staff has been noted.. I have personally briefed the respective departmental Heads and have appraised them of your comments. Since we consider service and attitude of our staff’s to be of utmost importance in showcasing the Novotel experience, it is disheartening for me to hear that we did not live upto your expectations. However, I would like to personally thank you for bringing up to our notice.

We will take take appropriate corrective measures to ensure, incidents such as these do not reoccur. We look forward for a chance to showcase the level of improvement and hopefully earn back your trust in us.

Thank you for recommending our hotel and we would be delighted to welcome you back to Novotel with your family and friends.

Warm Regards,

Mohammed Shoeb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

If you ever wanted to have a great view of the sea without stepping out on to the beach, this is the property you must look for in Vizag. I happened to stay in this property as part of a business conference.

All the rooms are sea facing with some excellent views from the large glass windows, making you feel as if you are watching a giant sized television. You could possibly spend the whole day just soaking in the feel from your bed or from the lounge chair available in all rooms. Rooms especially 501 - 509 have a better view also of the Dolphins nose which is an attraction in Vizag.
All this comes with a Caveat, that the beach opposite this property by itself is not very clean and well maintained. In fact there is not much of a beach sand you could find on this side.
If you are the one who expects to get some tan lotion on your self and lie around the beach side, then this property is not for you. There are no beach side shacks, a la Goa, which is disappointing.
The Hotel being new is swank with great rooms and good food spread. The only thing going minus with this property is the attitude of the staff. No one sports a smile, no greeting, no cheer and quite lethargic. Maybe its the effect of the city.
The pool though small is wonderful as when you are in it, you almost feel like you are touching the sea. They have a great spa and an excellent gym for all those fitness freaks who just can't do without their daily workouts.
By far a very good property if you ever visit Vizag, though I could have given them a 5 star if the staff was courteous and responsive. Compared to their property in Hyderabad, this is way below the mark in terms of service and responsiveness.
If you plan to write a book and want some solituted with some great views, this is the property to stay.

Room Tip: Consider rooms 501 - 509 if you are looking for a great view of the sea as well as the harbor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sree_Equinox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohammed_Shoeb, General Manager at Novotel Vishakhapatnam Varun Beach, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear Rajeev,

Thank you for choosing Novotel Visakhapatnam Varun Beach as your preferred accommodation in Vizag. We appreciate the time taken in sharing your experience with us.

I am glad that your experience at our hotel has been comfortable, however it does concern me that our staff who we consider as our most important asset have not lived upto your expectations. And I sincerely apologies for the shortcomings, but we remain grateful for allowing us to check ourselves for progress and improvement.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Mohammed Shoeb
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Visakhapatnam hotels
1.5 mi away
The Park Visakhapatnam
The Park Visakhapatnam
#6 of 71 in Visakhapatnam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 835 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Visakhapatnam
0.1 mi away
The Gateway Hotel Beach Road
The Gateway Hotel Beach Road
#7 of 71 in Visakhapatnam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Winsar Park
Hotel Winsar Park
#2 of 71 in Visakhapatnam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
1.4 mi away
Green Park - Visakhapatnam
Green Park - Visakhapatnam
#3 of 71 in Visakhapatnam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Bheemili Resort Managed by AccorHotels
The Bheemili Resort Managed by A...
#17 of 71 in Visakhapatnam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Vishakhapatnam Varun Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Vishakhapatnam Varun Beach

Property: Novotel Vishakhapatnam Varun Beach
Address: Beach Road, Visakhapatnam 530003, India
Region: India > Andhra Pradesh > Visakhapatnam District > Visakhapatnam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 71 Hotels in Visakhapatnam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Novotel Vishakhapatnam Varun Beach 5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Placed right on the beach stands a model of architectural brilliance and an epitome of hospitality, Novotel Visakhapatnam Varun Beach, the first and only 5-star deluxe hotel of the city and the entire state of Andhra Pradesh. With major accolades of the hospitality world added to its name like the "Best New Hotel of the Year 2011", "Best Hotel Design in Project Stage -PAN India 2011", "Best Business Hotel in Visakhapatnam" etc., Novotel Visakhapatnam Varun Beach is the golden pendant on the diamond necklace, i.E., The VUDA marine drive. Be it a wedding/conference/exhibition, our banquet halls spread over 56000 sft, are crafted beautifully to give you the best of facilities and ambience. NVVB holds the credential of having the largest pillar-less banquet hall by any hotel in the state, called the V-Convention, which can accommodate up to 1250 guests. The whole banquet area of the hotel can be adjusted into 12 banquet halls, each to its own speciality. The Gen-Next Eureka room with customized modular furniture for power meetings has become the most sought after meeting venue in and around the city. With a dedicated entry to these banquets, they are spaced out to hold gatherings as much as 4000 there by making them one of, in the entire state. Our dining solutions have left our guests drooling from day one. The signature Square restaurant is an all Day Dining/Contemporary Interactive Buffet restaurant. Over-looking the Land-scaped pool gardens and the Bay of Bengal, the Square has the largest buffet spread in the city. Cantilevered design, live stations and cooking counters, and elegant wine display will make you want to come back for more. Zaffran, the Specialty Indian restaurant set by the pool and landscaped lawns overlooking the ocean, prides itself on serving the best and most authentic Indian food in the city. The restaurant also includes 2 private dining rooms each accommodating 10 guests. The roof-top Infinity bar and kitchen placed 150ft above the sea level serves delicious multi-cuisine food. A panoramic aerial-like view of the Bay of Bengal is its USP apart from the scrumptious delicacies. The in-house guests are lodged in a vast abode of 225 rooms, all with a breathtaking sea-facing view. Superior Rooms and Premier Rooms are at your service for short leisure and business trips. Our Extended Stay Rooms have been home for many people including leading MNC personnel. The Executive Suites will pad you with all the comforts you can think of and for those who want nothing less than king-size, make the Presidential Suite your dwelling. We also hold the unique asset of an accessible room for differently-enabled people which is customized beautifully to help them feel at home. All our guests, be it in-house or otherwise, have an access to a variety of fitness and leisure options. The State-of-the-art 24 hours fitness centre, In Balance also offers access to a unique landscaped terrace jogging track and 24 hours outdoor infinity pool which are also the first in the state. The Dew, beauty salon and spa offers the most relaxing and rejuvenating solution in the city. The happening parties of the town are hosted at our Vue Bar and Infinity Lounge, which are known to be home for all the party animals of the city. Altogether, the hotel is reputed in delivering the fantastic 5-star deluxe experience time and again and is not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Vishakhapatnam Varun Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing