We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Meghalaya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Meghalaya Hotel
Ranked #41 of 70 Hotels in Visakhapatnam
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good value for Money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

I have stayed at this hotel couple of times. I got 20% discount on Deluxe Twin Room (Once you become a regular here, you can easily bargain for discounts & room up-gradation here).
Rooms are slightly old but comfortable. Service is satisfactory and I did not face any issues both times. Rooms are similarly sized to Fortune Sri Kanya but are available at a discount.

Going for a 4/5 overall rating due to value for money proposition and not absolute level of luxury or service !

Room Tip: Wi-Fi is extremely slow !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rahul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    31
    21
    14
    9
See reviews for
22
10
8
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

After this I wont recommend this hotel, nor recommend to book any hotels through Travel Guru though it offers less price, have to call to call center and then i get line after 10-15 mins and once i called Travel Guru to confirm a reservation and I was kept waiting for 33 mins.

1)Rooms are Shabby
2) AC Smells bad, the air coming through the AC was as if it is coming out from an wet rotten wood
3) Bathrooms are not properly floored, water does not flow to the outlet, instead it flow away. The Washbasin is located at 4-5 feet above the ground with an 1 feet horizontal extension, could not use it at all, it was there just for name sake 4)Room did not get Confirmed from Hotel until night before i have to check-in, any query i had, people from Reception answered like - "we dont know, you paid to Travel Guru, Travel Guru did not pay to us yet, so check with them only because you paid to Travel Guru not to us" - I had two reservations for the same hotel through Travel Guru, second one is like an extension of first one, I had to check out a day before and my dad had to continue to stay, When i called the Reception in the morning, someone answered its all fine, but while i was moving out in the evening, I went to clear the foodbill and remind them about confirming the room extension, they are like we dont have any confirmation from Travel Guru, you have to check with them, you paid to them not to us. I had to call Travel Guru again on May 2nd evening for May 3rd reservation for confirming.
5)Had to call at least 3 to 4 times for room service, whenever i called, they say 5 mins and then again they say we are coming and after couple more calls, people come to attend
6) Hot Water is not 24 hrs. as they said, we had to wake up early and start to temple at 2 in the morning, there was no hot water
7) Food's ok.
8) I wont recommend this hotel, neither will visit this again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lbhyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Visakhapatnam hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

First of all I just loved the name of this hotel.
Reminded me of my north east visit.
Reception was quite friendly.
Quite far from the airport though.
Room that I got was quite small but cozy. Bathroom was really small.
Breakfast was very healthy.
Food was good but very spicy. I loved it, acidity or stomach ulcer patients beware.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank gcnayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

I stayed there for a day from morning to evening on 14 th feb. Rooms were quite spacy and comfortable. Even though this hotel for a long time still maintained well and food quality was excellent.
Wifi was giving some problems which was attended swiftly by the staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nbsm2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

The hotel is a three star one with adequate luxury.
The food at the restaurants is very good. EMBERS the bar cum restaurant serves some mouth watering kebabs and tikkas with drinks. Although the bar doesnt boast of the best of Wines the rums and whiskies flow out of very different bottles.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m00sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nasik (Nashik), Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

Hotel Meghalaya is one of the good hotel to stay in the port city. It is situated near central bus stand and has excellent connectivity to tourists attractions throughout the city. The rooms are good and clean but are quite noisy due to the construction work adjacent to the hotel. The food quality is average. And the few of the hotel staff is arrogant. So i rate this hotel an average hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PawarKalpeshK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Good things first: Clean rooms with functional central air conditioning, TV with a wide range of channels, Did not attempt the hotel wifi as signal is available only in some rooms. My reliance dongle wored very well. Room service was quick and efficient. English worked ok, best if you know Telugu or Hindi. Reception staff were OK. An extremely modern "Schindler" touch pad lift. Complimentary vegetarian breakfast had a reasonable spread. It has a bar serving most local favourites.

Not so good things: I could not make the hot water work in my room and the Health Faucet (referred to as bum shower in india) was leaking at source. This is a budget hotel so no swimming pool or gym.

Though I stayed only overnight I liked this hotel.

Room Tip: Maybe if you need Wifi you can ask which room has the best signal strength
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Visakhapatnam hotels
0.4 mi away
Daspalla Executive Court
Daspalla Executive Court
#28 of 70 in Visakhapatnam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
1.1 mi away
Landmark Hotel
Landmark Hotel
#15 of 70 in Visakhapatnam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ritz Comfort
Ritz Comfort
#20 of 70 in Visakhapatnam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Fort Hotel
Royal Fort Hotel
#61 of 70 in Visakhapatnam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.7 mi away
Encore Inn
Encore Inn
#5 of 70 in Visakhapatnam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Akshaya
Hotel Akshaya
#12 of 70 in Visakhapatnam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meghalaya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meghalaya Hotel

Property: Meghalaya Hotel
Address: Dr. No. : 10-4-15, Ramnagar, Visakhapatnam 530003, India
Region: India > Andhra Pradesh > Visakhapatnam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 70 Hotels in Visakhapatnam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Meghalaya Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Meghalaya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meghalaya Hotel Visakhapatnam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing