We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad service and unclean rooms”

The Grand Central Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grand Central Hotel
Ranked #47 of 70 Hotels in Visakhapatnam
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bad service and unclean rooms”
Reviewed 2 June 2011

The overall quality of the hotel was very bad. The management of this hotel had changed when we went there, but it did not improve the quality. The staff promised us a 15% discount during check in, but when checking out, they told us that the discount could not be applied due to "system" problems. I was also told that the manager was not around to resolve the issue. The rooms were also very bad and unclean.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cs_giri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    4
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
4
3
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2010

I stayed here for a day only. As suggested by my relative, I went to Grand central located near Jagadamda Junction. Location and the ambience are good. Prices are pretty affordable. But the Rooms does not impress me much as compared to other hotels in Vizag. Interiors are not too great and hosppitality is not much recognizable.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunilsunkari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2010

I had taken a Maharaja suit room. The floor was dirty . The bath tub had disgusting stains. The fittings were unclean. The sofa's hand rest was broken. Fridge was removed which was placed back only on demand. The food was lousy and exorbitantly priced. Service was one of the worst. Nothing is worth the price they charge. It is almost cheating the customers. I would never recommend this Hotel to any one.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbrkamsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Visakhapatnam hotels

India
Level Contributor
84 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Stayed here while on travel with a bunch of senior folks. Hotel needs to buck up on a lot of fronts. House-keeping sent towels and soaps to the rooms only after we checked in and called them asking for the same.

As we got back to the hotel well past midnight post our show, found that they switched off the elevators..!!! so we had to haul over 35 kgs of equipment upto the 3rd floor.. We called room service to ask for a few bottles of water and they said they had shut shop for the nite, so no water..!! we ended sharing one 750 ml. bottle between 3 rooms and 6 people...Since we were slated to check out early the next morning, again we had to haul down all our gear by the stairs as the elevators were still switched off.!!! asked for coffee at 6 in the morning, which also they said they couldn't do as the kitchens were closed and there are no coffee maker machines in the room...

am sure there are better places in town for the same price...avoid this one at all costs..!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quarryking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2010

the grandcentral hotel was very nice hotel and its cost also most reasonable any time i went to vizag im stay in that hotel only iots verey comfortable for everyone dharma from hyderabad.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dharma008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangalore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

the hotel is good to stay and in reach to bustand in 10 min railway station in 15 min and 13km away airport. the room are clean and maintained well.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tong143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2010

I stayed there for a night & paid Rs. 1795 plus taxes. The rooms do not deserve even one fourth of this rate. Some of the so called guest houses are far better. The cistern in the bathroom won't work, the TV remote won't work, the shower won't work, the credit card swipe machine won't work, the main lift won't work (since our room was on 3rd floor, we had to use a filthy staff list every time), no hot water in bathroom, no curtains on the window. They gave only one towel for two persons. They won't invest in placing room service menus in the rooms, and their f&b staff won't understand anything except Telugu. This is probably the worst hotel I ever stayed in 43 years of my life. In short, if you intend to die of irritation, please go & stay there.

Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Maharaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Visakhapatnam hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Morya
Hotel Morya
#52 of 70 in Visakhapatnam
30 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Winsar Park
Hotel Winsar Park
#3 of 70 in Visakhapatnam
896 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Vishakhapatnam Varun Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Park Visakhapatnam
The Park Visakhapatnam
#6 of 70 in Visakhapatnam
820 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kinnera Comforts
Hotel Kinnera Comforts
#34 of 168 in Visakhapatnam
86 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Akshaya
Hotel Akshaya
#12 of 70 in Visakhapatnam
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Central Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Central Hotel

Property: The Grand Central Hotel
Address: Jagadamba Junction, Visakhapatnam, India
Region: India > Andhra Pradesh > Visakhapatnam
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 70 Hotels in Visakhapatnam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Grand Central Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Grand Central Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing