We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They cheated me...”
Review of Hotel Gargee Grand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Gargee Grand
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Patna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I went to this hotel to meet someone and was introduced to the then General Manager; who was a wonderful person. My company had a plan to host an event in Feb 2012 for which needed 12 rooms. They booked the rooms and confirmed, but later declined. We had to put some guests in other hotel; which so problematic in the last moment. We learnt that the GM had left the hotel; hence the problems. Then they overcharged some bills during the final settlement and we paid the same by mistake. When this was pointed out they accepted the mistake in writing (email communication); agreed to refund the money; which is yet to happen even after several reminders. Very very unprofessional and disappointing!!! BE CAREFUL FOLKS while you settle the bills

Room Tip: Stay away from the hotel; their are few better options in the town
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kushal N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2013

Stayed only for a night on business trip. Had tried Chanakya earlier, but was not satisfied. This one was all good... new, nice decor, clean, cordial staff... Helped me very efficiently with outstation travel arrangement too. Quite professional - which is not the general way in that city. Can't comment much on the food since I had a simple meal, which was good, but cannot be the basis for a general comment. Complaints, - not very major ones, but the room was a bit small, and the mattress was not quite as deep as it could be.. but that it just for the benefit of people for whom this would matter a lot. It doesn't for me. So, would be very happy to check in again!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SidC44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

The hotel is modern and of a good standard. Its location is halfway down a busy main street lined with shops that sells car parts so very few restaurants near by. A park and the Ganges is a 10min walk away. The room was quiet, clean and air-conditioned, the bed comfortable, and the bathroom had a with shower with constant hot water. A big bonus was free wifi in the rooms. There is a small swimming pool on the roof where you can relax and get a panoramic view over Patna. The service was excellent, helpful and friendly. The hotel arranged an air-conditoned car at a very reasonable cost to take us to the train station. The buffet breakfast was very good with European and Indian choices. One small problem occurred when we ate dinner in the hotel restaurant. A soup I ordered never arrived, and my main course came with the wrong vegetables and the chicken was tough and overcooked. My friend's meal was good, though. Apart from that, the good value overall.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikekd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

i was stayed on 20th mar night for -02 nights and the room ambiance + amenities was very good live they are providing 5* services @ low price . there is a value of money.

i would suggest to every 01 when u go to Patna u must stay at Gargee Grand...

Room Tip: every room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aryan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I stayed at this place for a day on 13/3/13 as I visited Patna for official work. In my earlier visit, I stayed at Maurya and this time I was told that this was a new hotel and better. The reservation was done under corporate rate and therefore, well within affordable range.

This is not a star hotel or anything like that. This is just one recent, modern and a new hotel. The rooms are really small and the carpets are swelling due to continuous spillage of water on the carpets. In some places, it is very crisp and I think, it would crumble under your feet! It also gives you a musty smell but I guess, nothing can be done about it as it involves removing and relaying the entire carpet! The services was pathetic and my room service order ( a simple order of one whisky with soda water ) never showed up even after 45 minutes and 3 follow up calls. When I walked to the bar and enquired the status of the order, no one was showing any interest to answer me. Looks like bunch of disgruntled employees or simple lack of training! This kind of attitude can be experienced in many smaller town hotels in India which do reasonable business due to either location or simply lack of decent hotels in the town. They feel that the services stop at some point, beyond which the customer can go to hell! This hotel is classic example of this attitude! The check out process was very cumbersome and took a while!

Overall, very pathetic service in spite of having a decent property, but there are no choices for a traveller to choose in Patna and he is forced to settle with this type of mediocre hotels!

Room Tip: all rooms are same and no big choice to select
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Qwelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

i visit gargee grand in january 2013 on my official tour to patna booking done by my company, my stay was comfertable nice service food was very good, nice place to stay for official trips. i suggest my company peoples to always go with gargee grand if any trip to patna, i am going again in april.

Room Tip: second floor rooms are gud
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pawa_995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I have been to many hotels since 2010 in Patna and since inauguration of this hotel in July / August 2011, I never stayed in any other hotel. Quality of staff and house keeping is very good. Staff attitude is also excellent. They have two restaurants, food quality is good. However it is difficult to choose from the menu if you are alone or you have to waste the food, as it is not possible for one person have that alone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KPSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Patna hotels
0.2 mi away
The Panache
The Panache
#2 of 32 in Patna
206 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maurya Patna
Hotel Maurya Patna
#1 of 32 in Patna
278 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Patliputra Continental
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Patliputra Exotica
Patliputra Exotica
#12 of 32 in Patna
137 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Aalcajars-Inn
Hotel Aalcajars-Inn
#7 of 32 in Patna
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Republic Hotel
Republic Hotel
#10 of 32 in Patna
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gargee Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gargee Grand

Address: Plot No 825,Exhibition Road, Patna 800001, India
Region: India > Bihar > Patna District > Patna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Patna
Price Range: £51 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Gargee Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation: 31 well appointed rooms with Premium Suite,Club Suite, Premium Deluxe, Club Deluxe andDeluxe Standard (for single traveler only). Food Service outlets:Gandhali: The vibrant Multi-cuisine Restaurant.Galangal: The celebrated Oriental Restaurant, which isfamous for the Pan-Asian cuisine in the region. Room Dinning: The Menu is selected from best of our items ofevery cuisine are available 24x7.Gagan: The pool side Bar be cue Restaurant.Galverch: The Exclusive Bar.Banquet Halls: For The Conference or private function we have 4 Halls and a Board Room.a. Ganga : (1400 sq.ft) - Can accommodate 175 People with ease.b Galaxy: (1600 sq.ft) - Party Hall for 200 guests.c. Gautam: (1400 Sq.ft) - Another hall for 175 peopled. Gaur (950 sq.ft) - For smaller get-together around 100 guestse. Gosthi : (300 sq.ft) - The warm Board Room for 20 people.f.Geet:(5000 Sq.Fr)-Banquet Hall for 650 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Gargee Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing